Author Topic: Problems installing freenas  (Read 737 times)

phoenixgg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Problems installing freenas
« on: May 27, 2012, 07:24:19 pm »
Hi guys.

I have been setting up my freenas 8.0.4 on my new pc. The freenas installation is not picking up my thumb drive to install the operating system on. Can someone offer any advice? I am running the installation by booting from the cd installation disk. The insaller is picking up the hard drives. The BIOS does show the USB flash drive in the boot selection.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2012, 03:09:42 pm by phoenixgg »

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Problems installing freenas
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 05:13:04 pm »
Hi,

Try the FreeNAS  forums.

Cheers

klanmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: Problems installing freenas
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2012, 12:07:21 am »
I did a freenas install a while back and it worked, quick questions:

Did you try wipping the first few sectors on your flash drive using dd, before doing the install, that had worked for me?

What is the brand, I have tried a kingston and a lexar, only the kingston worked?

Do you see the flash drive in the bios, can you choose it as a boot device?

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Problems installing freenas
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2012, 12:30:57 am »
Where's Zaerc when you need him?

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Problems installing freenas
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2012, 03:34:20 am »
I have used a lexar 2gig thumb drive with freenas before. I tried a 4 gig HP drive and was having the same problem you are. If you have another drive try that.   The throughput on my raid5 was very slow,couldn't get much more then 25 megs per second transfer speeds.  I ensed up using Ubuntu server with raid5. 

phoenixgg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Problems installing freenas
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2012, 09:10:16 pm »
I managed to get it working thanks guys. Seems the usb3 ports don't work well with booting. Tried a USB2 port and it's going well