Author Topic: Sound problems  (Read 1541 times)

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Sound problems
« on: May 07, 2012, 12:44:36 am »
I have no sound when playing audio or video through Linuxmce. When I play music throuh xine from KDE everything works just fine. My hardware is a Zotac zbox, using HDMI. Alsa is 1.0.24. Asound and sound.conf has been modified. Everything works fine when playing through KDE, but trying to play through Linuxmce I get no sound. In the xine player log there is the following error.


5   05/06/12 13:29:04.361      Xine_Stream_Factory::GetStream streamID is 0 <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.454      I'm unable to initialize m_pXine's 'alsa' audio driver. <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.479      Stream audio/video initialization failed <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.479      Cannot create new stream with ID=1012 <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.479      Xine_Player::CMD_Play_Media() stream is NULL, aborting - init failure? <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.481      Xine_Player::CMD_Stop_Media() with corresponding stream id 1012 (nil). <0xb6d2bb70>
05   05/06/12 13:29:04.482      Xine_Player::CMD_Stop_Media() stream is NULL, aborting - init failure? <0xb6d2bb70>

Anyone have any ideas?


Thanks Kevin

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 02:24:07 am »
Can you list your specific zotac hw please?
I never quit... I just ping out.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 03:38:49 am »
Zotac ZBOX HD-ID11-U Intel Atom D510 NM10 Chipset 1 x 200Pin Next-Gen NVIDIA ION GPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Anything else?

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2012, 07:20:32 am »
I never quit... I just ping out.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2012, 04:00:28 am »
ok loaded nvidia- current. Now have music that i can hear. But no audio in mplayer and get a failure audio device busy or not available  when i try to play a movie. Tried to rerun avwizard. But it wont start.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 04:12:29 am by kyfalcon »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3012
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2012, 06:39:00 am »
Ignore mplayer for a moment, and check if the other stuff is working, i.e. MythTV, Audio, and regular video using Xine.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2012, 03:06:06 pm »
no sound in myth or regular video in xine. I assume when you say xine you are talking about when ran through linuxmce, not from KDE.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3012
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2012, 03:19:21 pm »
correct.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2012, 03:34:46 pm »
In that case I have no sound in any of those, just when playing music. I figured running AVWizard again would fix things after installing the new drivers but I can't get it to run :(

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2012, 04:44:14 pm »
kyfalcon, atm these chipsets are not supported. This is because they are not supported in 1004 LTS. I don't have any in my grubby little hands, so, when people are available, I try and get them rolling over ssh... but it is a time consuming process that I am writing blind on... and a tentative one as most of these are peoples production machines... so I have to work around people using the system, etc. If m3freaks modifications did not get you going, you are a bit SOL atm. I promise I am working as best I can to try and provide support for these chipsets that does not break natively supported ones.
If you start looking around at other projects trying to accomplish the same thing with some of these cards, you will see options I am running into problems automagically writing.
Code: [Select]
G210 Point of View GF G210 enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2 plughw:X,7 (only stereo confirmed)
G210 MSI N210 MD512H enable_msi=0 plughw:X,7 (only stereo confirmed)
G210 Asus EN210 no options needed with a current alsa snapshot plughw:X,7 (PCM, multichannel PCM, bitsteam (DD/DD-EX/DTS/DTS-ES)
G210 Club 3D CGNX-212LI enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 plughw:X,7 (only stereo confirmed)
G210 Galaxy G210 PCI-E 512M enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 hw:X,3 (6 channels)
G210 EVGA 512-P3-1213-LR probe_mask=2 plughw:X,3 (confirmed 2ch PCM, 6ch AC3 bitstream)
GT220 Asus BRAVO 220 SILENT/DI/1GD2(LP) no options needed with a current alsa snapshot plughw:X,7 (PCM, multichannel PCM, bitsteam (DD/DD-EX/DTS/DTS-ES)
GT220 Zontac ZT-20201-10L GT220 enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 plughw:X,3 (6 channels)
GT220 ASUS ENGT220/DI/1GD2(LP) enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 hw:X,3 (only stereo confirmed)
GT220 ASUS ENGT220/G/DI/1GD3(LP)/A enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 hw:X,3 (PCM, multichannel PCM, bitstream (DD/DD-EX/DTS/DTS-ES)
GT220 HP Pavilion Elite HPE-141F enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2 hw:X,3 (only stereo confirmed)
GT210/GT220/GT240 Any GT210/GT220/GT240 enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2 plughw:X,3 (PCM, multichannel PCM, bitsteam (DD/DD-EX/DTS/DTS-ES))
GT240 MSI N240GT-MD1G enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2 hw:X,3 (only stereo confirmed)
GT240 ASUS ENGT240/DI/512MD5/A enable_msi=0 plughw:X,7 (only stereo confirmed)
GT240 Zotac ZEGT240/DI/1024 enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2 plughw:X,3
ION-2 Asus AT5IONT-I enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2 plughw:X,3
ION-2 Jetway Mini-Top enable_msi=0 plughw:X,7

And of course, I don't care what your cards name is... we just use pciids... now you move into the 4xx 5xx 6xx series, it becomes a bit of a nightmare. I need to write a matrix to set these options... so... it might be a while before things are plug n play. So to sum up... these cards are not supported. If you manage to get one running, please post how in the m3freaks how to thread, or make a wiki entry.
I never quit... I just ping out.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2012, 04:49:13 pm »
The funny thing is, I had them working a while back and for the life of me forgot how ? I guess the big question is why can't I get to AVWizard anymore?

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2012, 05:44:14 pm »
The funny thing is, I had them working a while back and for the life of me forgot how ? I guess the big question is why can't I get to AVWizard anymore?

The AvWizard  problem might be related to the problem i had.
L3mce posted a fix for it, in one of the other threads. Cant remember which one,
But once Im at home, I can have a look and let you know.

Karel

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2012, 11:45:50 pm »
In /usr/pluto/bin/Utils.sh in the CheckVideoDriver function there is an exit 0. Deleting that should do it, though I think it should become a return 0.

Or you can just delete your xorg.conf



Of course... if your sound is hosed, avwizard has a tendency to crash before you see it.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 11:52:28 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Sound problems
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2012, 04:10:15 pm »
Ok lets revisit my first post. At that point in time I had loaded alsa 1.0.24, nvidia 260 and had edited my asound.conf to pass hdmi to the NVidia chipset. At that point I could get sound through mythtv only when playing through linuxmce. If I went to the KDE desktop and started xine I could open a movie and an audio mp3 and I would have sound just fine.  After I installed nvidia-current, I get no sound from any videos, whether through linuxmce or through KDE and now I have no sound in mythtv either.

So the question I have is this, before I loaded nvidia-current why could I get sound ok in KDE Xine but get nothing through Xine in Linuxmce? What is differnet besides the xine.conf that is used in each instance?