Author Topic: kstartupconfig4 xmessage  (Read 1784 times)

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« on: April 27, 2012, 11:57:42 am »
Hi,

560324550be22c71bc8a4b8cb845cd21  LMCE-1004-20120425171925932.iso

NAS with 2 HDD detected OK.

No desktop.  Get the following message...

kstartupconfig4 does not exist or fails.  The error code is 3.  Check your installation.

Can anyone else confirm this?

Thanks.

p.s. dcerouter version is 2.0.0.45.12042525932
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 12:21:07 pm by pigdog »

dh

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 03:18:39 pm »
L3 fixed this for me in IRC last night.  Short version is that you need to chown the .kde directory to your current user.

something like:  chown -R <username>.<username> /home/<username>/.kde

L3 can correct if I'm off?

PS:  L3 mentions we should 'stop using the desktop' =)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2997
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2012, 06:00:16 pm »
KDE desktop works just fine for me on my MDs

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 10:55:26 pm »
Hi,

Sorry for reply being late...

MD works fine but Core/Hybrid desktop reported error.

Cheers

p.s.  dh - Thanks for the tip - Core/Hybrid now has Desktop Folder with LMCE Penguin in chair.

MD have standard KDE Desktop view.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2012, 11:06:36 pm by pigdog »

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2012, 02:32:04 am »
DHs post is known to work. This only occurs on desktop on DVD install because the desktop isn't fully in place while I still control the process. I will have to add something on the backend to handle it at some point. For now this is the workaround.

sudo chmod -R $USER: ~/.kde

This should work as well, exactly as it sits. I would appreciate it if you tried that one first and confirm it works.
I never quit... I just ping out.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2012, 02:28:54 pm »
Hi,

Will download latest snapshot and try.

Thanks l3mce.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2012, 02:57:20 am »
Hi,

Might be a while...

Lots of weird networking issues at the moment with the 20120506204225945 snap.

Cheers.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2012, 08:18:54 am »
Mine's allmost done downloading. What Networking Issues do you have?

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2012, 12:58:09 pm »
Hi,

DragonK - I'm not getting any inet, Bcast or Mask address for eth0.

eth1 and lo are normal.

Other networked PC's are having internet/mail services blocked.

I'm trying swapping ethernet cables in case I've fallen into that problem - would be a first ever for my system.

Odd thing happened - did original install, did a boot, did another boot after swapping ethernet and received video chipset change detected.

The system then loaded the proper Nvidia driver.  (Screen settings were a little off.)

The AVWizard was rerun.  Selected my normal settings with overlay.  Now getting Orbiter failed to setup the transparency message.

Will have to look at this later.

Cheers.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2012, 01:43:03 pm by pigdog »

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2012, 12:36:17 pm »
Hi,

My system is totally pooched.

I'm going to reload 20120506204225945 from scratch.

Cheers.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2012, 12:45:04 pm »
Depending on the speed of your net connection, you may get up to 15 min of orbiter failed messages the first time you load the core.

That does not mean your install is hosed.

I will look at networking, which has not been an issue and I haven't really made any changes to since I got it right the first time... but... people seem to be having problems with the initial driver installs for proprietary drivers, then after a reboot it picks up and downloads the driver etc etc.


Long and short, it is not as ideal as I would have hoped... but shouldn't be as bad as you think. Remember rule #1. Evidently I have not succeeded here, but others are doing ok after the multiple reloads to get the networking/video drivers to catch and run right... and as I said... ignore orbiter failures. It tries to fire before its actually done genning when encountering problems.
I never quit... I just ping out.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2012, 01:18:08 pm »
Just my 2cents,

The previous snapshot I used, I could see the MD boot with the penguin logo and one of the messages was
'Downloading Nvidia Drivers"
"Installing Nvidia Drivers"

Or something like that. Even on my Core it downloaded and installed correctly the first time.....

Karel

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2012, 01:24:00 pm »
Yeah... I changed a lot, and nobody watches the boot menus... so... if you could, that would be helpful...

Just to confuse things I have something in there that says "installing nvidia driver for (whatever your card is)" in there, and it isn't always... I need it to indicate that it is USING that driver rather than installing, because sometimes it isn't.

If you delete xorg.conf and xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard after avwizard failure, things go much more smoothly... except that stoopid nvidia failure to reboot. Looking into it.
I never quit... I just ping out.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2012, 01:53:24 am »
Hi,

O.K. that's sounds like it "installing nvidia driver for (whatever your card is)".

I'll reload from scratch, reboot, try it out.

Quote
If you delete xorg.conf and xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard after avwizard failure, things go much more smoothly... except that stoopid nvidia failure to reboot. Looking into it.

I'll try other things, record results, then delete the .conf stuff if necessary.

I need to figure out my ethernet issue along the way.

Thanks guys. 

More than happy to test. More than happy to help.

Cheers

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1006
    • View Profile
Re: kstartupconfig4 xmessage
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2012, 02:11:22 am »
Hi,

Sorry, but the reason I thought my system was pooched was because it would boot into F1 dcerouter prompt after trying to start F7.

So it may have been .conf related,

Cheers.