Author Topic: 1004: The time has come.  (Read 27074 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #165 on: July 10, 2012, 11:14:28 am »
Hi,

one more thing. I could not setup 1080p 50hz in AV wizard on my MD. On the first boot 1080p did not work at all. Probably soemthing with the Nvidia driver beeing updated? (does it reboot after that? I did not stay with the screen all the time). I did then setup 720p and that worked.
On the second boot where i activated the AV wizard again from within advanced setings I could choose 1080p and it showed something, but I assume it used 720p size as the AV wizard was not completely shown a part of it was outside the "TV screen". this time I also tried 24 and 60hz, but the did not work in 1080p either.

I then configured xorg.conf with rates from here : http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/User_Manual:JudderFree

And then it worked with 1080p 50hz


MD System: Nvidia 8400 GS and Sony KDL-46W4500 - see also here : http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Sony_KDL-46W4500

Regards
Viking

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #166 on: July 10, 2012, 04:53:09 pm »
Hi viking... as your issues are not related to the DVD install, but instead are generic 1004 issues, I would appreciate opening threads pertaining to them. People might be under the impression, based on the OP, that installing from DVD means their tv won't be found.

Please give me the output of:
xrandr --verbose


Perhaps in a new thread with an appropriate title :) Thanks
I never quit... I just ping out.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #167 on: July 10, 2012, 05:50:42 pm »
Hi L3mce,

OK, the AV wizard topic is now here :
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php/topic,12676.0.html

Viking

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #168 on: July 12, 2012, 06:25:19 pm »
Hey, i've tried:

  • LMCE-1004-20120623013626110.iso (written on DVD and USB stick)
  • LMCE-1004-20120701130826149.iso

Everything boots well (after pushing enter at 'boot:'). I've got the menu where i can choose which version i want to install. But once the status balk starts, it freeze. The balk is at 70% and doens't do anything anymore. I've left it for about 30 minutes, but even the numlock led isn't doing anything anymore.
Only thing i can do is a hard reset.

Some hardware info:
  • Motherboard: MICRO-STAR MS-7519
  • Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E7400  @ 2.80GHz
  • Memory: 4GB
  • Hard drive: SSD 60GB
  • Video: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]
  • Audio: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
  • Network 1: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
  • Network 2: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado]
  • Video Capture: Brooktree Corporation Bt848 Video Capture
  • CD Reader: IDE DVD writer

I've also tried the installation on a SATA2 1TB disk.



Any idea/hint?



ps linuxMCE 8.10 runs fine on this system (except video capture what i don't really use (for the moment))...
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 986
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #169 on: July 12, 2012, 09:24:22 pm »
Hi,

Which option are you choosing on the boot screen - i.e. install type?

Regards

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #170 on: July 13, 2012, 01:02:44 am »
Hey, i've tried:

  • LMCE-1004-20120623013626110.iso (written on DVD and USB stick)
  • LMCE-1004-20120701130826149.iso

Everything boots well (after pushing enter at 'boot:'). I've got the menu where i can choose which version i want to install. But once the status balk starts, it freeze. The balk is at 70% and doens't do anything anymore. I've left it for about 30 minutes, but even the numlock led isn't doing anything anymore.
Only thing i can do is a hard reset.

Some hardware info:
  • Motherboard: MICRO-STAR MS-7519
  • Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E7400  @ 2.80GHz
  • Memory: 4GB
  • Hard drive: SSD 60GB
  • Video: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]
  • Audio: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
  • Network 1: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
  • Network 2: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado]
  • Video Capture: Brooktree Corporation Bt848 Video Capture
  • CD Reader: IDE DVD writer

I've also tried the installation on a SATA2 1TB disk.



Any idea/hint?



ps linuxMCE 8.10 runs fine on this system (except video capture what i don't really use (for the moment))...

Well that is a bummer. This is the first hard lock. Thank you for eliminating the ssd as the culprit, it would have been my first goto.

There is a log, if you can log in to live boot (av wizard will probably fight with you after you hit desktop. Just ctrl alt f7 your way back after avwizard stops blinking). From there you can open dolphin probably and just click to mount the drive, and pastebinit /var/log/pluto/install.log or... hmm... a quick scan reveals that I never re-enabled the log, fearing that it was causing a problem at some point...

You could check the dmesg/syslog but... Need to reenable that log so I can figure out where it is breaking.

Get back to you in a moment.
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #171 on: July 13, 2012, 03:55:27 am »
It may be related to this...
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1478787&page=5
and later at
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1478787&page=183
and here;
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=84994
Similar freezing issues... all over the place the MS-7159 looks particularly effected (shows up a lot in google searches)...

If you're using a ps2 mouse/keyboard,... toss 'em... no overclocking,... set BIOS CPU timings to manual...
« Last Edit: July 13, 2012, 04:30:06 am by JaseP »
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #172 on: July 13, 2012, 07:45:13 am »
Which option are you choosing on the boot screen - i.e. install type?

I've tried 4 options. Each time it's the same error. This happens really quick. So i guess it's a hardware related issue. I'll try to have more info this evening (with the tip of l3mce (ctrl-alt-f7...)

I'm in the office now, so no access to the machine. But if i'm not wrong, these were following options:
  • LinuxMCE live
  • LinuxMCE core + MD
  • LinuxMCE headless
  • Failsafe



On the side:
  • Not sure what the headless is. Maybe this could be integrated in the installation screen?
    A small explanation, what-to-choose on the bottom (or F1, or ...)?
  • Maybe another option could be a kind of verbose installation option?
    That you don't have the graphical screen / status bar (what i love by the way), but a complete view of installations files, checks...?

I'm not sure if this possible, i don't have enough software knowledge for that.  :-X
« Last Edit: July 13, 2012, 08:57:26 am by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 986
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #173 on: July 13, 2012, 05:13:09 pm »
Hi,

Live is running LMCE without installing it.
Core and MD is installing LMCE on a system with terminal/keyboard etc. and you can use this system as a Media Director to watch videos, listen to music etc.
Headless is just the Core system.  You stuff this in a closet and its basically like a server.  You create MD's elsewhere  on the network to watch videos, etc

Personally I usually build a Core and MD system as more of a troubleshooting unit.  If it doesn't work on a MD does it work on the Core/MD?

Until very recently, I finally changed my Core/MD to another not so old hardware platform, I used to need to run the option (F6?) and remove rghb quiet and add all_generic_ide to the kernel line.

For some reason the install would fire up run for so long and bomb.  Something didn't like my hardware platform - which I figured was something to do with my DVD drive.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #174 on: July 13, 2012, 05:47:53 pm »
The thing is... at 70% or whatever, this is not part of LMCE specifically that is busting... this is the generic kubuntu install process that is bombing. I tend to agree with pigdog... this is likely resolved with a grub parameter.  all_generic_ide perhaps... or maybe more to do with your ATI... there are a couple of ATI grub params like radeon.modeset=1 or maybe ACPI=off... sometimes acpi causes issues.

I believe this to be a generic install problem... and you could test this theory, if you were so inclined, by downloading a generic kubuntu 10.04 32bit desktop iso, and trying to install it.
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #175 on: July 13, 2012, 07:17:38 pm »
I think l3me's right,.. I'd suggest testing with a generic Kubuntu 10.04 install, Ubuntu 10.01 install, and then if it continues ...start pulling components, starting with simple things like keyboards/mice, then cards, then RAM sticks.
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 986
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #176 on: July 13, 2012, 08:28:59 pm »
Hi,

p.s.  Don't forget to do a md5sum and burn your image at the slowest speed.

Good luck.

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #177 on: July 13, 2012, 09:07:42 pm »
maybe more to do with your ATI...
You're right with this one.
After resetting the BIOS, removing additional cards (audio, network...), using an USB keyboard/mouse and swapping the memory, i tried changing the ATI card.

And yep, the installation ran without any hassle.
Why is it always the last thing you try that works? ;)


Server is running now version 1004-20120701130826149 on a SSD.
The day after tomorrow i can start configuring it. Looking forward to the new things in LinuxMCE...


Very nice install iso !!!

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 13, 2012, 09:09:40 pm by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #178 on: July 15, 2012, 06:31:12 pm »
Just tried this today from the iso from July 1st.

Main problem is my tuners aren't detected/working for mythtv. Do I need to add drivers. I assumed they would be auto-detected as they both work in 0810.

I have a:
1. Kworld KW-DVB-T 399U USB
2. HVR2200 PCIe DVB-T
Both worked fine in 0810

Otherwise install was generally OK apart from constant interruptions for detected hdds, tvs etc, however the wizard would always remember my last action.
Cheers,
Barney

dmesg
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:/# dmesg | grep dvb
[   14.504256] dvb-usb: found a 'KWorld PlusTV Dual DVB-T Stick (DVB-T 399U)' in cold state, will try to load a firmware
[   14.504263] usb 2-1: firmware: requesting dvb-usb-af9015.fw
[   14.519445] dvb-usb: did not find the firmware file. (dvb-usb-af9015.fw) Please see linux/Documentation/dvb/ for more details on firmware-problems. (-2)
[   14.519544] dvb_usb_af9015: probe of 2-1:1.0 failed with error -2
[   14.519566] usbcore: registered new interface driver dvb_usb_af9015
lsmod
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:/# lsmod | grep dvb
dvb_usb_af9015         23159  0
dvb_usb                14457  1 dvb_usb_af9015
dvb_core               86206  2 dvb_usb,saa7164

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2927
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 1004: The time has come.
« Reply #179 on: July 15, 2012, 08:09:29 pm »
Please open a new thread whenever you have specific hardware issues, that are not really related to the dvd installer per se.