Author Topic: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches  (Read 983 times)

Domodude

  • Guest
Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« on: March 31, 2012, 04:02:12 pm »
Hey all,
What is the best way to associate Merten remote switches (the DC ones) with the actual dimmers or switches? I can do it within the minimote, or within lmce I think. Has anyone used the last option?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 11:26:03 pm »
I'm using lmce. Set the association in the web admin and then triple press the switch
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2012, 09:42:38 am »
I'm using lmce. Set the association in the web admin and then triple press the switch
Ah ok. Some DC units refuse to be included. Damn old Merten hardware. "ZWave compatible" is a matter of interpretation, I guess  >:(

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2012, 11:12:02 am »
you maybe need to reset them first
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2012, 11:12:19 am »
It blows. I have one DC 1-gang that does not do anything, and two 2-gang switches that pick up the signal from the minimote (blue light starts blinking fast) but the inclusion never finishes (solid red on minimote for 2 secs). As far as I know, there is no way to fully factory reset these blasted devices. If Merten won't take them back, I can toss three bricks for a total value of almost 200 euros  :o
I know the MCV forum people had trouble with Merten too, does someone know what their outcome was? And did they have any leverage to use against less-than-enthousiastic Merten?

EDIT Hari, I have reset those units using the three short, one long tap method, and with the Merten reset util. The utility says the units were reset, but really, they are not :(
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 11:41:58 am by Domodude »

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2012, 11:45:00 am »
I think stuff may have been added after all:
Code: [Select]
...
36 04/01/12 11:38:30.080 Received command #788 - StatusReport <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:30.080 Soft-resetting the Z-Wave chip <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.080 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 1 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.080 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 2 <0x40c71b70>
....
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 62 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 64 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 70 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 71 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 72 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 73 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 74 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 76 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.081 Requesting Neighbour Update for node 80 <0x40c71b70>
36 04/01/12 11:38:32.125 Generic callback handling for command 72, removing job <0x4086fb70>
....

Node 62 is the last AC unit, i.e., an actual dimmer. I am assuming that the following ones, 64 and onward, are the DC switches that never resulted in a decent inclusion....
Any good way to figure out which one is which? The actual dimmers/switches are easy but how about these remote switches?  ???

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2012, 11:46:39 am »
I'm using lmce. Set the association in the web admin and then triple press the switch
What do you mean by that? First time I use LMCE for this, so excuse my confusion. I am reading the wiki, and it involves just a simple command that;s sent to the USB stick!

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2012, 12:28:21 pm »
no, *NOT* that reset, it will reset the chip in the dongle and you'll have an empty network :-)

I meant resetting with a remote..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2012, 01:09:48 pm »
I thought you meant resetting the switch using computer or taps  :)
But, resetting with a remote? How would I reset a unit with, let's say, a minimote? Maybe I missed it in the manual, but I cannot remember a reset function from the remote?
Unless you mean, of course, with the Merten stick which I already tried...

BTW, no a hard reset of the dongle in the core I did not (and will not) try. That does raise an interesting SUC/SIS question though. If I were to reset the dongle in the core, would I be able to repopulate with the minimote? Setting the minimote as a secondary inclusion device wipes its contents! Inversely, if I or one of my kids pushes a wrong button on the minimote, can I then start over? Or is the minimote "healing" function smart enough to pick everything up again? I don't fancy trying myself anymore  ;)

EDIT  Found out that a beige color is nigh impossible to read, so I changed the color to Easter-yellow. Not much of an improvement, so orange is my last attempt at being stylish.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 01:13:01 pm by Domodude »

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2012, 02:35:19 pm »
if they reset the mini mote itself you can just re-add it and it will get the latest network info
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2012, 02:39:23 pm »
That's reassuring. So, without the possibility to check the manual, all that is needed is a "learn" on the minimote and "add node" on linuxmce?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2012, 11:09:38 pm »
yes
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2012, 05:04:42 pm »
The logs mention 'sleeping nodes' and 'listening nodes'. Is this just the difference of battery-operated and AC Units? Or are the 'sleeping' nodes dead? I suspect I have some dead nodes after a little inclusion battle (during which some DC units were reset!) with the minimote.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2012, 11:16:48 pm »
sleeping are not dead, they're just not always listening.
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: Association of ZWave Merten Remote Switches
« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2012, 03:38:34 pm »
OK thanks. I will, I think, re-do the inclusion as a whole, and then add all the remote switches (only once!) at the end. Hopefully, I can then associate easily. I forgot which ID's most of my remote switches have *blush*   I already made one association through LMCE and it works great. Better/faster even than through the Merten software, go figure!!