Author Topic: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]  (Read 4375 times)

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2012, 02:10:15 am »
Im curious to see if it works for you... just in case I have something else causing my problem.   

It just seems strange that the latest Kubuntu amd64 can run the latest firefox and flashplayer allowing hulu to work... I just cant seem to find what the differences are.

Dennis

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #16 on: June 12, 2012, 05:22:47 am »
Replacing /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so
with the libflashplayer.so from that package works. Catching up on The Daily show on Hulu now. :)
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #17 on: June 12, 2012, 04:56:44 pm »
I had an issue where Hulu wouldn't maximize (would start windowed in KDE desktop, but crash on maximize & not run at all from the LinuxMCE menu)... Would this solve that too, or is it a separate issue?
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #18 on: June 12, 2012, 08:10:16 pm »
That was solved for me by manually downloading the newest huludesktop*.deb from hulu.com (hulu labs link at bottom)
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #19 on: June 12, 2012, 08:27:08 pm »
Good,... .the WAF will go way up if I get back Hulu for the Mrs...
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2012, 03:51:20 am »
I must have something else wrong... Ive not been able to get it to work... will try on a test MD.

Dennis

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2012, 04:13:00 am »
I clicked the hulu check on the software section of the MD in web admin. Huludesktop failed, but I replace it anyway... so I downloaded the deb from hulu labs.
wget http://download.hulu.com/huludesktop_i386.deb
Then: dpkg -i huludesktop_i386.deb; apt-get install lmce-hulu-player (as it failed with a depends on huludsektop).
I extracted the libflashplayer.so from the tar you linked. I moved the original as a backup, and moved the extracted one into its place at /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer.

I did not screw with the conf or any of the symlinks that get from /root/.huludesktop > firefox > randomlibIcan'tremember > /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer
« Last Edit: June 13, 2012, 05:05:33 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2012, 03:24:22 am »
i did the same as well.. but ive been installing other .deb packages from time to time trying things... I may have garbled things up somewhere when it comes to flash...  I'll try some other things... but work got busy again.. ugghhh.


Dennis

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #23 on: June 25, 2012, 06:04:39 pm »
Do you have it working?  I haven't tried fixing it on my system... but wanted to know what kind of success you're getting.
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2012, 06:15:16 pm »
Testing my poorly written scripts I blew up my prod system... so I reinstalled yesterday.

Worked again as detailed.
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2012, 08:04:00 pm »
As per reply #21, above?
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #26 on: August 21, 2012, 07:37:41 pm »
Hi guys.

I have created a source package which installs the latest huludesktop package and reverts flash to the last version working with VDPAU/GPU accelleration 10.3.183.20.

Once a build happens, you should be able to just run an apt-get update... and there will be an install candidate for huludesktop (apt-cache policy huludesktop).

You don't have to do anything at all special for this. Just click hulu player in software for the MD, and it will find the package it is looking for. This should work for 810 as well... but I don't know when that might be changed, or what version of flash 810 is using/can use. So... until I get some testing done... consider this 1004 only.

Enjoy.
I never quit... I just ping out.

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #27 on: August 22, 2012, 03:22:15 am »
awesomeness!   anxiously awaiting!

Dennis

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #28 on: August 22, 2012, 10:31:24 pm »
Code: [Select]
# apt-cache policy huludesktop
huludesktop:
  Installed: 0.9.8-1
  Candidate: 0.9.8-1
  Version table:
 *** 0.9.8-1 0
        500 file:/usr/pluto/deb-cache/ ./ Packages
        500 http://deb.linuxmce.org/ubuntu/ lucid/beta2 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

Is there :) Please report back.

I clicked the player in software in web admin and hit save... it installed, I reloaded the router, I tried to play it, it crashed, I reloaded the router again, and it was working.

So just apt-get update, then go to software and click hulu player and save.

A side note... when a new flash player is dropped into the repos it will overwrite our flash. It is as easy as opening software again, unchecking hulu player, save, wait a minute, click hulu player again, and save.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2012, 10:37:57 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: hulu player non-functional on MD [workaround]
« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2012, 01:57:13 am »
thanks,

I have to go back to work this evening... so I'll have to try it out later this week.

Dennis