Author Topic: accessing web admin  (Read 925 times)

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
accessing web admin
« on: March 19, 2012, 02:02:18 am »
I am trying to access web admin to try my first use of LMCE.

(I am using a virtual box to run MCE from windows7)

I found the wiki page on this and I typed:

""http   ://    <core_ip>   /pluto-admin""
^^ with my IP address in**

The page tried to load and then says:

The server 98.24.14.216 refused to allow this computer to make a connection"

How do i fix this?

I also was confused on where I can get the menu refered to in the wiki mentioned below:


" Advanced -> Computing -> Web Admin from the menu"

What menu?




l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 04:45:15 am »
http://192.168.80.1/lmce-admin/
http://dcerouter/lmce-admin/


Advanced is all the way to the right. -----------------------------------^
I never quit... I just ping out.

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 02:37:28 am »
neither one of those links worked. 

The first just churned
The second says it contacted the page but it times out.



"An unknown host error indicates that the server with the requested name, dcerouter, could not be located on the Internet"

FYI...
My desktop does not look like the one posted above. 

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 02:43:47 am »
im not allowed to post links so i can not add a screen shot

sorry.

It looks like a regular desktop with "start bar at the bottom but not like the one shown.  It looks alot like windows.  
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 02:53:05 am by sofob0909 »

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2012, 03:11:45 am »
im not allowed to post links so i can not add a screen shot

sorry.

It looks like a regular desktop with "start bar at the bottom but not like the one shown.  It looks alot like windows. 


^
That is just Kubuntu. It does not look like you have installed LinuxMCE or the install is terribly terribly broken.

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_1004
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 03:14:31 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2012, 03:19:18 am »
yes this is what mine looks like.  I have very little functions availible.  Pretty much just internet access.

Please help a complete rookie.  it says KDE4.1 when it opens... does this help?


If this is the case how do I update correctly?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 03:25:43 am by sofob0909 »

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2012, 03:29:03 am »
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_1004
                                    |
Step by step instructions.--

Click the blue K at the bottom left like the windows start button. Start typing "terminal". You will see a terminal program arise as the only thing on your list. Click it. It will open like a dos box. Follow the wiki instructions.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 03:31:51 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2012, 10:48:10 pm »
I got 810 up and running... I think.

I just need the user name a password.   The user and password are not working for the kubuntu.

Is there a defalt one?  (FYI I am typing this on a "code screen". AKA no GUI.)

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2012, 06:41:10 am »
You set the only username and passwords during setup.

In 810, you first install Kubuntu (as you would have done in 1004). Once at the desktop, you click the icon on the desktop to install linuxmce. Once that install process is finished, the terminal will tell you to reboot. Then you set your username in LMCE, and be assigned the temporary 1234 password for certain user specific functions, like watching private media. From then on it will log itself in.

If you are being prompted for a password, it is likely the kubuntu password.
I never quit... I just ping out.

sofob0909

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2012, 10:39:16 pm »
I did reboot at teg end of the MCE install.

When it rebooted there were a few "failures" that it said.  The screen was scrolling o fast to see what they were. 

Then it would keep going and eventually it would prompt for a user and pass.

when i type. The cursor moves for the user name, but when i type the password the underscore cursor does not move.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: accessing web admin
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2012, 04:49:21 am »
What are the chances you have two nics installed?

What are the chances you have internet going in on one, and on the other you have NO dhcp devices?

What are the chances you have an nVidia graphics card?

What are the chances you have read any of the prerequisites to install this system?
I never quit... I just ping out.