Author Topic: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.  (Read 817 times)

lordrahl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« on: March 18, 2012, 01:06:56 am »
I have had lmce up and running for a few weeks, I just got my first orbiter working, and was trying to set up the usb-urt to control my av receiver. I chose a template and then lmce kept popping up a message reading something like:  The new device was added, but needs to download data that can only be downloaded from the internet.
The only option was ok.
After about an hour of this message popping up every 5 mins I rebooted.

Now kubuntu halts on boot at:
starting samba daemons ....done

Code: [Select]
kinit: no resume image, doing normal boot...
0
Restarting openBSD secure shell server sshd ...done
re-exporting directories for nfs kernel daemon ...done
reloading /ect/samba/smb.conf smbd only ...done
stopping samba daemons ....done
starting samba daemons ....done
reloading /ect/samba/smb.conf smbd only ...done
stopping samba daemons ....done
starting samba daemons ...done
-

If I hit cntrl alt f1 I get a command prompt and can login. But I don't know what to do from here.

Can anyone help me? I know next to nothing about linux troubleshooting..

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 02:54:18 am »
You are likely to get better help in irc.freenode.net
channel: #linuxmce

One of those things that might take days in here, and minutes there.
I never quit... I just ping out.

lordrahl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2012, 08:33:17 pm »
I would, but the only internet I have available is an at&t hot spot so I always get
Code: [Select]
* *** Notice -- You need to identify via SASL to use this server
* Closing Link: mobile-198-***-***-***.mycingular.net (SASL access only)
when I try to join irc channels. I will try to rig something up with tor perhaps.

I am sure my problem is something simple, I just have no experience with linux.. :(

lordrahl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 10:29:11 pm »
I managed to get into the kde desktop by running sudo startx.
Now I can log into the admin console.
When I look under advanced/configuration/devices I no longer see my core or its MD. (I am running a hybrid system)
Is there anyway add the core as a device? When I tried to add it as a top level device I received the error: please make sure LMCE is running.
Am I screwed?  :'(

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2012, 11:44:16 am »
Might be. Hard to say with what you have there.

Try http://webchat.freenode.net/

Then we can just spit commands at you and you can copy and paste. A back and forth over various timezones for something this fundamentally broken would take forever.
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: HELP! lmce will no longer boot.
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2012, 03:21:36 pm »
Can you give details on the hardware you're running on, and what version of LinuxMCE your running???
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).