Author Topic: Another "failed to setup x" issue...  (Read 2356 times)

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« on: February 24, 2012, 07:31:46 pm »
Hello everyone, I am Normand, from Repentigny (near Montreal) in Quebec, Canada.
(sorry for the poor english, i am a french canadian!)

I am trying to give a seccond life out of an old PC and use it as a Linux MCE for my father's house.

Computer:

ECS K7S5A pro M.B.
AMD Athlon 1700+ CPU
512 Mb ram DDR (2x 228)
IDE 160Gb Hard drive
Ati Radeon 9200 AGP Video Card (for testing, I'll be upgrading to Radeon HD3450 on similar with HDMI output.)
LG generic DVD/CD/R/RW writer/reader

To come:
Hauppage tuner HVR-1600
Ati Radeon HD3450 with HDMI
PCI USB 2.0 card
1TB external drive(s) for Data

Since I lived all my life with M.S. Os from DOS to Win7... I know NOTHING about linux except the name and
stuff I've read and tutos I've watch on youtube on the main concepts of it... I am still really good with
computers and I know a lot about programming (working in the industrial automation domain) but now, I
need help!

Before you throw rocks at me, i've searched for 6 hours on how to solve the issue without bugging anyone
but I've not foud the solution.

So, here it goes:

I've installed Linux Ubuntu 8.10 from the LinuxMCE 8.10 Final package. Everything went fine, after installing
a device manager I checked that all my hardware had drivers for it and nothing seemed to be missing there.

I ran the LinuxMCE installer and I was asked to reboot and I did

-The M.B. self check see
-I see "Booting from: dev\bla bla bla" ... "Starting up please wait".
-BLACK SCREEN
-Descending beeps after 20-25 seconds
-nothing for 20 secs
-Screen returns and I see Loading scripts
-kinit: "No resume image, doing normal boot..." and it stays the same for 10-15 secs
-Then, BLUE SCREEN with AVW saying "failed to setup x"

I am running from VGA (I know this can be an issue when running other outputs)

After some reading, I am trying to extract the Xorg.config file.. I'll be back with it in my next
post!

Have a nice day,

 - Normand

pointman87

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 07:40:10 pm »
Hi, try to manually install the ati drivers.

http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Intrepid_Installation_Guide

BR Daniel

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 08:04:57 pm »
I'm on it, thanks...

How can I download Catalyst 12.1 from the command prompt?
(I don't know how to go back to the GUI)

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 08:30:15 pm »
I tried to load the KDE and Gnome desktop from the command prompt with no result
other than flickering screen

I'll reinstall everything from the beginning I guess and download the drivers in the GUI
before installing LMCE...

Be back in 2 hours :P

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2012, 11:37:21 pm »
Normand,

If you go the installing Kubuntu (either 810 or 1004, whichever you prefer) and then upgrade to LinuxMCE (810 or 1004) using the installer script method, you can:

Install the synaptic package manager from a terminal (a/k/a command prompt in Windoze speak) with the following command;

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install synaptic

... from there, it should be easy to use the synaptic package manager (a GUI app) at least get the open source ATI drivers, until you can download and install the propriety ones.

Once you have your Kubuntu install stable,... you can then run the LinuxMCE installer script to switch over from Kubuntu to LinuxMCE. You do not want to install the Gnome Desktop metapackage, or too many other packages you don't need, as Gnome Desktop (Meta package) will overwrite the KDM login manager and cause potential conflict headaches.


See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2012, 11:49:14 pm »
By the way,...

You probably want to install LinuxMCE 10.04,... I just noticed you listed the Hauppauge HVM-1600. Before Ubuntu 9.10 or so, that card was not well supported in the Ubuntu Linux family of distributions. In 10.04 it should automatically be recognized by the OS.

Radeon driver support is also better in later versions of Ubuntu (for the most part). You don't want your first foray into Linux to be having to compile and install the drivers for the Hauppauge card, or hunting around for how to set up the video card...

I've been there and done that, and I had about 7 years of Linux experience at that time... No fun, I'll tell you...
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2012, 11:58:25 pm »
I tried.. I really did try to manually install the "restricted driver" but
system crashed and now can't go back to GUI again :(

Someone has a better idea? maybe I should install MCE from a
newer ubuntu release? or maybe I should cry in the corner of the
room?

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2012, 12:11:47 am »
See my post about trying 10.04...
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2012, 12:58:53 am »
Sorry for that... for some reason, your post was not showing when I wrote mine!
Probably an "f5" issue! :P

So if I get it right, to install V10.04, I have to Download the Kubuntu 10.04 iso
and then run obscure commands in terminal to load LinuxMCE 1004 from the net...
is that it ? (I went to the wiki and tried to understand)
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 02:38:37 am by Normand_Nadon »

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2012, 03:49:05 am »
Not exactly...

Install Kubuntu 10.04 from a burned ISO,...
  • After you have it up, make sure to go into the mixer (the speaker icon will get you there).
  • Make sure to check the menus in the mixer to enable you to view all channels.
  • Unmute EVERY sound channel.
  • Turn up the volume on all the sound out, but leave the sources (mics, etc) with the volume or boost down.

  • Open a terminal:
K>>Applications>>Utilities>>Terminal
(You might want to make the terminal background translucent so you can see through it later)

In the terminal type:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install synaptic

Enter your password and enter a Y to allow it to install...

Then:
  • Fix your graphic card's driver by using synaptic (Google for the model and Kubuntu 10.04 to be sure) to install the proper drivers, or get them from the ATI website and follow their instructions.
  • Play back a sound or video from the internet to make sure your sound is working 100%.

  • And then from:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_1004

Or just highlight the below (each separately) and paste it into the terminal (the transparency helps).

Code: [Select]
sudo -i

Code: [Select]
wget -q http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/new-installer/mce-install.sh && chmod +x mce-install.sh

Code: [Select]
./mce-install.sh

Code: [Select]
reboot

See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2012, 03:52:41 pm »
When I enter this command

Code: [Select]
wget -q http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/new-installer/mce-install.sh && chmod +x mce-install.sh
Nothing happens... I am confused ???

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2012, 04:03:48 pm »
Never mind... not used to cammand prompt anymore :P

MCE is installing at the moment...

From the net, I read that my video card is not supported
by Catalyst (too old!) so I'll stick with the open source
drivers for now and I'll upgrade when I'll change the Video
card.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2012, 05:36:16 pm »
In that case get an nVidia card... LinuxMCE has better nVidia support.

My systems all have embedded Intel, which has (passable) support with LinuxMCE 10.04.

By the way,... you wouldn't have seen anything after the long command. That just opens up the files on the LinuxMCE install file server.
It's the script that does the work of actually installing...
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2012, 06:13:21 pm »
Quote
By the way,... you wouldn't have seen anything after the long command. That just opens up the files on the LinuxMCE install file server.
It's the script that does the work of actually installing...

I realised that just after my first post about that! Thanks anyways!


So after a long long waiting for installation, I got the same Server X message  :o

I'm going to try to revert to generic drivers to again cause I think that MCE automaticaly
installs ATI proprietary drivers...

 need to eat first :P

Normand_Nadon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Another "failed to setup x" issue...
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2012, 09:27:26 pm »
Tried with an old nVidia Mx440 card...
After reinstalling V.8.10, got the same xsever problem.. finaly changing
a few letters in xorg.conf resolved this issue for now...

I changed "nvidia" to "nv" in the config file and voilĂ !!!

Now I'll retry v 10.04 with this setup... Linux is a long thing to learn!