Author Topic: X10 RS232 computer interface from china  (Read 1376 times)

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« on: January 08, 2012, 06:35:20 pm »
Hi all,

I'm planning to buy a x10 RS232 computer interface from China, it's not CM11 or CM15 etc, it's different brand, don't know whether it can working on Linuxmce? Have anybody try before?

Thanks in advanced.

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 02:44:14 am »
doubtfull that it will work. question is, do you have the skills to make it work?
if not, then why are you considering it?

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 04:01:54 am »
Hi Merkur2k,

I may not have the skills to make it work, I'm from Malaysia, it's hard to find the CM11 or CM15 on internet, do you have any recommended website to buy the CM11 or CM15?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2997
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2012, 06:33:14 am »
smarthome.com might have them. They ship worldwide afaik.

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2012, 10:57:38 am »
posde,

I had checked smarthome.com, but the product not available anymore in smarthome.com.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2012, 11:36:05 am »
Jicky,

Whats the voltages in Malaysia? 110V 0r 220V-240V?

Karel

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2012, 03:02:43 pm »
Karel,

The voltage in Malaysia is 220V-240V.

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2012, 06:52:50 pm »
Hi Jicky!

I would suggest you to take a look at PLCBUS. The computer interface works perfectly in LMCE and it is faster and more reliable than X10.

x10-hk<dot>com is a good seller with ok prices.

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2012, 02:24:08 pm »
Hi Gangsingen,

Do you have try to use x10/Plc transfer interface together with Plc computer interface on Linuxmce before?

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2012, 10:35:48 am »
Hi Gangsingen,

Do you have try to use x10/Plc transfer interface together with Plc computer interface on Linuxmce before?

No, I never used it as I have choosen to go PLCBUS all the way. PLCBUS is also much less sensitive to noise in the powerlines from appliances in the house.

Jicky

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: X10 RS232 computer interface from china
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2012, 03:27:11 pm »
Gangsingen,

Anyway, thanks for your information, I just bought the PLC computer interface from x10-hk and the Plc/x10 transfer interface. Should be receive it by next week.