Author Topic: Lost in ATI HDMI land  (Read 3814 times)

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Lost in ATI HDMI land
« on: December 27, 2011, 09:17:31 pm »
Hello I am having some difficulties resetting up my core.  I originally installed it with a Nvida video card, but after using it for a year and reading more on the forums and web I realized I could use the ATI onboard card to get HDMI video and audio out.  I was able to correctly configure my system so kubuntu could get 1920x1080 (1080p) resolution and HDMI audio out.  Once I was comfortable that I had the video and audio I wanted I decided to use the AVWizard.  in the wizard I am not able to setup 1080p (only 1280x1024) nor was I able to get HDMI audio out.  to show off my new 70" sharp LED I need to run at full resolution (1080p).  Right now I do not have any audio and I am getting an error in kubuntu that says the audio open error no such file or directory ( issued command aplay -D plughw:1,0 Noise.wav [from the /usr/share/sounds/alsa dir]).  when I run aplay -l I get no sound cards found and when I run aplay -L I get nothing back (these both previously returned the card before AVWizard).  I currently get both the video card and audio card when I run lspci.

Here is my basic hardware setup:
1) MB:  Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
2) Processor:  AMD X2 3.0 GHz
3) Video: ATI 4XXX
4) Audio: ATI


Oh one more wierd thing I just noticed is that when in X aplay -l says nosound cards but when not in X I get my sound card to return (and audio to play just no sound out of speakers)

I have installed the latest Catalyst driver (v 11.12) from AMD's website (configured it for Ubuntu/intrepid) and installed ALSA 1.0.19 drivers

I would appreciate it if someone could provide me with some help and or guidance to help me resolve my issue.

Thank you,

Bret

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2011, 09:29:58 pm »
ok I am activly still working on this and I was just able to restore sound in kubuntu KDE as well as get full resolution for my screen.  My question to the group is how can I now setup LinuxMCE since I now have to go through the AVWizzard, so I dont loose my audio and video settings?

forgive me if this is already on the Forums or in the Wiki, I just couldnt find it.

Thank you,

Bret

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 09:48:15 pm »
edit the file /usr/pluto/bin/Xconfigure.sh

insert  "exit 1;"

after the line "#!/bin/bash"

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 10:00:52 pm »
ok Thank you for your reply that worked to fix my resolution issue now it is still booting into the AVWizzard (and I can pick 1080p correctly) however, when I select HDMI for Audio I dont get any sound.

Thank you,

Bret

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 10:11:17 pm »
Ok Im narrowing this down, I have isolated my sound issue to I think the fact that root can use audio but my user cant  when I login as my user to KDE (startx) I dont have any audio but when I loginto KDE as root (using sudo su) i have audio.  This is starting to look like a permissions issue to me.  does anyone know what user is used to run LMCE and the AVWizard?  Is it the user I setup whenI installed Kubuntu?

Again if anyone has any ideas please let me know.

Thank you,

Bret

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 11:00:50 pm »
I am sorry to back up here... but... WHY did you move from working and supported hardware to non-working unsupported hardware?

Please tell me what version you are trying to do this on (810 or 1004).
Then paste the output of lspci.
Then while testing audio output, get to a terminal and type/paste:
Code: [Select]
sudo amixdigital=$(amixer | grep Simple | grep IEC | cut -d' ' -f4,5,6 | sort | uniq); for output in $amixdigital; do amixer sset $output unmute; done
I never quit... I just ping out.

garagevibes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2011, 11:03:21 pm »
Hi,

I had issues with HDMI audio over ati on board graphics as well, in the end I just went into the bios & disabled all onboard sound which sounds stupid I know but it will still out put digital audio over HDMI but means the system won't have issues selecting the correct sound card.

If that is not working look at alsamixer make sure the HDMI is not muted & possibly update alsa to the newest version if needed as this is no longer done during install.

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2011, 11:37:26 pm »
L3mce,

To snswer your question why I went from Supported to non-supported HW was simple.  The supported HW wasnt doing what I wanted.  Nvidia Video with Creative Labs Audio, was only getting Analog audio ad what I reallly wanted was audio over HDMI.  So I decided to try the ATI onboard card that I had disabled to see if I could get it to work.  I am not an expert here but I have been struggling with finding a decent Audio card that supports a digital out in LinuxMCE (if you know of one please let me know).

Ok that said here is the info you asked for:

dcerouter_1:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge Alternate
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 5)
00:11.0 RAID bus controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [Non-RAID5 mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9710
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device 970f
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
03:07.0 Ethernet controller: Linksys Gigabit Network Adapter (rev 10)
03:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)


dcerouter_1:~# amixdigital=$(amixer | grep Simple | grep IEC | cut -d' ' -f4,5,6 | sort | uniq); for output in $amixdigital; do amixer set $output unmute; done
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]


Any help you can be in helping me is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Bret

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2011, 12:49:16 am »
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
Weird. I will try and help. Please post the output of any code I give you so if we get it working I can make it work for everyone.
1 Figure out which one it is by looking at this:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep -i codecPlease paste that, and tell me your MOBO.

Then look here and figure out the "model" under the card type (eg 3stack-digout)
If you are on 810 (you didn't say), edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
If you are on 1004, edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

add the following line to the end, where MODEL is your model determined above
Code: [Select]
options snd-hda-intel model=MODELThen
Code: [Select]
alsa force-reload
Then please run
Code: [Select]
gzip -d /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/ALSA-Configuration.txt.gzand give me a pastebin (pastebin.com) of /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/ALSA-Configuration.txt

Now... as to the ATI... it sucks. Video playback sucks, no overlay... no acceleration... maybe eventually on 1004 I will get that going but... for now... it is best to stick with nVidia. Most any 8xxx+ nVidia with HDMI out should give you the ability to play audio (outside of one of the GT2xx series, cant think off the top of my head... maybe the 210?) without an additional sound card.

I think. Someone else should confirm that.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2011, 01:33:36 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2011, 01:14:59 am »
ok thanks for the help... here is the Pastebin

http://pastebin.com/u/bretbohlin
FYI I am on 810 (but the path you gave for 1004 is my path for 810)

here is what I did with the Model info, please let me know if I did it right:

Codec: Realtek ALC889A

options snd-hda-intel model=ALC889

i did ALC889 because the site you sent me to said this was the model for ALC889A (again please correct me if I have this wrong).

Thank you for all your help!

Bret

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2011, 01:24:05 am »
Almost... you should look at this:
124   ALC882/883/885/888/889
125   ======================
126     3stack-dig   3-jack with SPDIF I/O
127     6stack-dig   6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O
128     arima      Arima W820Di1
129     targa      Targa T8, MSI-1049 T8
130     asus-a7j   ASUS A7J
131     asus-a7m   ASUS A7M
132     macpro   MacPro support
133     mb5      Macbook 5,1
134     macmini3   Macmini 3,1
135     mba21      Macbook Air 2,1
136     mbp3      Macbook Pro rev3
137     imac24   iMac 24'' with jack detection
138     imac91   iMac 9,1
139     w2jc      ASUS W2JC
140     3stack-2ch-dig   3-jack with SPDIF I/O (ALC883)
141     alc883-6stack-dig   6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O (ALC883)
142     3stack-6ch    3-jack 6-channel
143     3stack-6ch-dig 3-jack 6-channel with SPDIF I/O
144     6stack-dig-demo  6-jack digital for Intel demo board
145     acer      Acer laptops (Travelmate 3012WTMi, Aspire 5600, etc)
146     acer-aspire   Acer Aspire 9810
147     acer-aspire-4930g Acer Aspire 4930G
148     acer-aspire-6530g Acer Aspire 6530G
149     acer-aspire-7730g Acer Aspire 7730G
150     acer-aspire-8930g Acer Aspire 8930G
151     medion   Medion Laptops
152     targa-dig   Targa/MSI
153     targa-2ch-dig   Targa/MSI with 2-channel
154     targa-8ch-dig Targa/MSI with 8-channel (MSI GX620)
155     laptop-eapd   3-jack with SPDIF I/O and EAPD (Clevo M540JE, M550JE)
156     lenovo-101e   Lenovo 101E
157     lenovo-nb0763   Lenovo NB0763
158     lenovo-ms7195-dig Lenovo MS7195
159     lenovo-sky   Lenovo Sky
160     haier-w66   Haier W66
161     3stack-hp   HP machines with 3stack (Lucknow, Samba boards)
162     6stack-dell   Dell machines with 6stack (Inspiron 530)
163     mitac      Mitac 8252D
164     clevo-m540r   Clevo M540R (6ch + digital)
165     clevo-m720   Clevo M720 laptop series
166     fujitsu-pi2515 Fujitsu AMILO Pi2515
167     fujitsu-xa3530 Fujitsu AMILO XA3530
168     3stack-6ch-intel Intel DG33* boards
169     intel-alc889a   Intel IbexPeak with ALC889A
170     intel-x58   Intel DX58 with ALC889
171     asus-p5q   ASUS P5Q-EM boards
172     mb31      MacBook 3,1
173     sony-vaio-tt  Sony VAIO TT
174     auto      auto-config reading BIOS (default)

and find the one that best matches your motherboard
(ie 3stack-dig or asus-a7m)
I never quit... I just ping out.

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2011, 01:38:16 am »
ok thanks... sorry for all the stupid questions but here is what I choose....
     intel-alc889a   Intel IbexPeak with ALC889A

by changing the permissions on /dev/snd I a now able to get sound through aplay for both root and my user.  however I am still not able to get sound through xine or mplayer.....

In both cases (xine and mplayer) I am still not able to get sound for either user.  However I am able to get sound for both users using aplay like this:

aplay -D plughw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Noise.wav


I feel like we are getting somewhere Thankyou L3mce for your help so far......

Bret

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2011, 01:47:31 am »
No stupid questions... just answer mine. ;D What mobo are you using?

To be clear you put this line at the end of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf...
Code: [Select]
options snd-hda-intel model=intel-alc889aand then run
Code: [Select]
alsa force-reloadand then run
Code: [Select]
sudo amixdigital=$(amixer | grep Simple | grep IEC | cut -d' ' -f4,5,6 | sort | uniq); for output in $amixdigital; do amixer sset $output unmute; doneagain.
Then
Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/RebootWithAVWizard.sh
See if you have HDMI output.
I never quit... I just ping out.

bret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2011, 02:02:28 am »
my HW is
Here is my basic hardware setup:
1) MB:  Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
2) Processor:  AMD X2 3.0 GHz
3) Video: ATI 4XXX
4) Audio: ATI

i did exactly as you instructed but the AVWizzard still isnt giving any sound.  I noticed that when I rebooted that ny permissions on /dev/snd changed back (I set them to 777 so both users could access the sound card).  do you know what application the AVWizzard is using for audio?  maybe we could try to see if we can get that working and take the reboot and Wizzard out of the equation...... just a thought.

Thank you,

Bret

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: Lost in ATI HDMI land
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2011, 02:05:59 am »
Let me poke around for a bit... but understand, I am not trying to get you working so much as I am trying to find a solution for all users, so we WILL be using AVWizard.

In the meantime, run this (these are backticks if you are typing instead of copying, backtick is the thing under the tilde ~ under the esc key)
Code: [Select]
apt-get install alsa-modules-`uname -r`
« Last Edit: December 28, 2011, 02:13:55 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.