Author Topic: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)  (Read 3288 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Chaps,

My system is just about becoming operational, and I noticed that when watching TV, there is no longer the qwerty keyboard of days gone by, which is great! However...

How do you set your recordings? I used to highlight the program in the guide, and press "r", which obviously can't be done any more.

Of course this could be done via mythweb from a computer, or using a keyboard on the MD, but I just wondered if I was missing a trick with the touchscreen orbiter.

Incidentally, what's going to happen with the big blank space, looks like something exciting should be there :) Will the guide be appearing here?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 05:05:56 am »
This feature should not have leaked into 0810, but it did.

You really should go 1004, as the middle space is a touchable area so you can see MythTV's display. This is a temporary measure until either we fully integrate more of MythTV's screens as orbiter displays or we write a new PVR and create orbiter displays for it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAefg2z0cEg .. you can see an early version of this.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 09:38:54 am »
I assume this is why I cannot get back to fullscreen after I have pressed "guide" as well? If you don't me asking, are there any plans to restore the 810 orbiter to its former glory?

The thought of going to 1004 really makes me anxious. I was keen to start enjoying the system, and have spent a fair amount of time slowly but surely been getting my 810 system back on its feet seeing as it is now a final realease.

My major concern is that I will be going through the same frustrations as the early 0710 and 0810 releases, and I simply won't be in a position to use the system as it was intended.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2011, 02:11:48 pm »
Unfortunately, since 0810 and 1004 use the same database at the moment, there is no way for me to "restore" 0810 without affecting 1004.

So this is what I will do this weekend:

* Make a ticket and ask merkur2k to build a new version of MythTV Player which has the needed changes
* Add a few small changes to make the guide usable.

as for 1004, I understand your reticence. The only thing I can tell you, is that there is a very good chance that you'll have a much easier time dealing with 1004, than you will with 0810.

-Thom
« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 02:14:06 pm by tschak909 »

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2011, 07:33:52 pm »
I really appreciate your understanding.

In my opinion, it is important that the functionality/stability of 0810 is retained, if only from the point of view of the impression it gives new users coming along and wanting to try out the final, which hasn't been out that long at the end of the day.

I am (pleasantly!) surprised regarding your comments on 1004, and with that in mind, I may give it a whirl.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2011, 08:48:17 pm »
Yes, I know it hasn't been out that long, unfortunately, it took us SO long to release it, that it is no longer a viable candiate for installation in any case. Hardware has moved on.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2011, 10:39:57 pm »
I see your point.

I was going to ask some further 1004 questions regarding what's working, what's not etc, but I see there is a pre-existing thread in a similar vein.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2011, 10:33:02 pm »
Well well well, what was I worried about :)

The myth remote screen on my tablet appears to be exactly the same as 810 - you said the middle space was a touchable area? Am I missing something?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2011, 10:34:05 pm »
was scrot installed?

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2011, 10:54:59 pm »
scrot was not installed on the core, no. Install it?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2011, 11:08:54 pm »
very strange, it is part of the package definition and in the package database, it should have been installed. Yes.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2011, 11:19:23 pm »
Before I install it manually, is there anything I can probe/check/do at all from the point of view of finding out why it didn't install automatically? Or shall we just put it down as "one of those things"?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2011, 01:37:09 pm »
Scrot is installed on the core/all the MDs, and it has made the myth screen appear on the orbiters, however...

It does not appear to be "touchable", and is just a non-interactive display. Is this how you are supposed to set recordings?

Also, is the guide still supposed to pop up on the MD, or should it just be in orbiter? Currently I see the guide on both the orbiter AND the MD.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2011, 03:20:21 pm »
Scrot is now attached as a depedency as needed on the mythTV player so future installations will not need a manual installation (you do not have the game player installed most likely, where scrot IS a depedency, so it wasn't installed for you already)

MythTV's guide is touchable to a point, they made a few bugs however, and so when a popup appears (when asking a question etc.), the touches go to the items below it.

I know this works, because I use it every day. The buttons below also work.

And yes, until I port more of mythTV's UI to orbiter, the guide shows up on both orbiter and the TV.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How to set myth recordings using a touchscreen orbiter (Android tablet)
« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2011, 12:02:03 pm »
I appreciate what you are saying; the area ceases to become "touchable" when a pop-up is displayed, but I cannot get any response even when it's just the guide. So still can't see how to set recordings, but I'll continue to play with it.

Maybe something to do with the fact that I am not using a "proper" orbiter? Will get an N800 back up and running and see if I have any more success.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps