Author Topic: XBMC as frontend - probably been asked  (Read 8368 times)

marcb

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
XBMC as frontend - probably been asked
« on: November 19, 2011, 12:51:31 am »
Hello,

I am going to start by saying i am a daydreamer i am not a programmer these are just my thoughts.... and i am a short time linuxmce user but long long time xbmc user. and also the last thread mentioning xbmc ended up not talking about xbmc but licencing so didn't want to drag that post up now then...

I am thinking the time is right to start looking at using XBMC as an optional front end for linuxmce, with how its developing it seems logical. With openelec and atv2 you can have an appliance like front end for £99-£170. With the work thats already been done on the pvr side, mythtv plugin is a reality. so all we really need is a little integration.  xbmc will broadcast events which event ghost can pick up could linuxmce pick up those events? There is an api which has been briefly discussed in another post so controlling xbmc from the linuxmce/dianemo android or ios app is possible... It would be nice to have a xbmc plugin that gave you some control over lights climate, camera feeds ect. There is already a asterisk plugin for xbmc maybe adopting that with the knowledge its going to be working with linuxmce so set up is alot easier....or.... in my head we have our own branch that uses the pvr build and extends on it...just daydreaming

xbmc as a front end is eye candy with the right skin, add to that the vasy number of plugins available groove shark, ice films , iplayer not forgetting it will play (virtually) anything. If linuxmce could add to that the linuxmce great backend then i think it can only be good for this community.