Author Topic: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE  (Read 3585 times)

max666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2011, 03:16:13 pm »
OK, so I definitely need binary inputs or switches.
I was hoping that some actuators have binary inputs incorporated.

Swtiches or binary inputs alone are hefty expense, mostly because of shutter switches - they take 2inputs each and there are quite a few of them.
I am just doing calculations of everything I need on online shops and the sum for KNX is heavily over budget :(

Have to rethink my approach now.

Thank you all for your time and knowledge!!
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 03:19:55 pm by max666 »

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2011, 06:01:44 pm »
when you are a bit smart you should be able to get a much cheaper per channel price than with z-wave. Forget X10/PLCBUS.. it is too slow and not reliable. With z-wave you're quite limited in choices regarding the style and reliable units tend to not be in the cheap segment (e.g. look at the price of high quality Merten Connect products).
some KNX I/O modules allow for single input blind operation, they toggle direction on every press

How many channels do you need?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2011, 07:38:02 pm »
Hi Hari, I understand KNX is EU-only. Are you at all familiar with the NA market? If so, what would you recommend over Z-wave for a new build in NA?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #18 on: November 15, 2011, 07:51:25 pm »
KNX is available worldwide.
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

max666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #19 on: November 16, 2011, 01:09:53 pm »
How many channels do you need?

I have pretty much decided to start with 12 lights and 8 blinds to keep the cost down.
And will prepare all electrical installations for future KNX by routing all the switches and wires to central location.

Can you recommend blind controllers which work with one binary input?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #20 on: November 16, 2011, 02:01:25 pm »
that is no function of the blind controller, the input module needs to support toggle operation by toggling two group addresses on each press
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #21 on: November 16, 2011, 02:02:08 pm »
you should also check ebay quite often.. you can get good deals there with a bit of patience
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

max666

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #22 on: November 16, 2011, 02:17:19 pm »
I am already all over ebay.de for KNX/EIB modules :)

So I have to watch which binary inputs I buy?  Any recommendations?
Is this function to toggle addresses normal or only some binary inputs have it?

bwhitson

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2011, 07:45:40 am »
Unless I'm incorrect - happens from time to time - Europe is on 220v where as in NA we are on 110.  Are the KNX/EIB devices I find on ebay.de compatible with our 110v system?

If not where might I find 110v compatible products as from what you guys are saying it is the best to go with?
Duct Tape is like the force - It has a dark side and holds the universe together.

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #24 on: November 17, 2011, 03:11:45 pm »
See the bottom of http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/EIB/KNX_Devices

Looks like http://www.elementcontrols.com/ has some products.

No one selling this stuff in Canada as far as I can tell :(


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #25 on: November 17, 2011, 05:23:39 pm »
Siemens sells KNX stuff worldwide.

bugui

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2011, 07:20:51 am »
Hello Hari,
I'm using your PLCBUS Driver with 4 dual micromodules.
I have some issues, when I reload the dcerouter but, at the time I got good results, that was the only thing that I can see on it.
I know that KNX it is more reliable, but the difference with the price between PLC ans KNX so high that I thinking that maybe, PLC can be good solution on a hybrid installation (KNX inside the house, PLCBUS for outside lamps).
I would like to ask to you if we can combine this two technologies in order to offer a good price-reliability solution.

Thanks in advance
Bugui

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #27 on: November 18, 2011, 11:54:30 am »
Hello Hari,
I'm using your PLCBUS Driver with 4 dual micromodules.
I have some issues, when I reload the dcerouter but, at the time I got good results, that was the only thing that I can see on it.
I know that KNX it is more reliable, but the difference with the price between PLC ans KNX so high that I thinking that maybe, PLC can be good solution on a hybrid installation (KNX inside the house, PLCBUS for outside lamps).
I would like to ask to you if we can combine this two technologies in order to offer a good price-reliability solution.

Thanks in advance
Bugui
I'm not aware of a specific bridge device between KNX and PLCBUS but of course you can run both interfaces on your lmce system and include both KNX and PLCBUS lamps in your scenarios

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #28 on: November 18, 2011, 12:29:35 pm »
KNX exists for various transport media. Most people install KNX with a dedicated wire. But KNX can be run over powerline and RF as well.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: New house - help to choose home automation protocol to work with MCE
« Reply #29 on: November 18, 2011, 01:59:35 pm »
KNX exists for various transport media. Most people install KNX with a dedicated wire. But KNX can be run over powerline and RF as well.
you might also want to add that the layer 1 fore PLC and RF is not specified in the standard, so only KNX TP products interoperate between vendors. For RF and PLC you need to stick with one vendor..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation