Author Topic: Installation hang on second step. Please help))  (Read 7079 times)

guliaka

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #30 on: November 06, 2011, 01:07:19 am »
Nope. You can try yourself in a VM whenever you feel like. The final iso is all you need.

Tried in VMware VM 3 times with same result. It seemingly goes through past firefox but orbiter never comes up....

Anything we cane help with to rectify this problem?? I also tried 1004. It goes much better but after all still messes up networking. Second NIC comes with MAC ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff and DHCP does not work....   
Everything genius is simple!! If it is not simple then it is not genius.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2962
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #31 on: November 06, 2011, 01:21:13 am »
Just be a bit patient, we are working on the problem.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2962
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2011, 11:02:05 am »
After lots of muddling through our packaging database this morning I finally can report success. 810 final works again.

You do not need to re-download any ISO. Use the existing ISO, and it shall work again.

Thank you for your patience.

Chekov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #33 on: November 07, 2011, 01:16:47 am »
That's cool, but what exactly do you mean "it works again"?
At what point in the install process do we start to utilize what's been corrected?  Having had so many problems (using VMware) I have been making copies of each step along the way.

Thanks (in advance).
« Last Edit: November 07, 2011, 06:00:45 am by Chekov »

guliaka

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #34 on: November 07, 2011, 06:44:34 am »
After lots of muddling through our packaging database this morning I finally can report success. 810 final works again.

You do not need to re-download any ISO. Use the existing ISO, and it shall work again.

Thank you for your patience.

Thank you for all your effort!!! Will update my apt-mirror and give it another try tomorrow)))
Everything genius is simple!! If it is not simple then it is not genius.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2962
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #35 on: November 07, 2011, 11:47:59 am »
That's cool, but what exactly do you mean "it works again"?

Before the fix, the install went through. AV Wizard went through, but before the Sarah setup wizard appeared the system would stop on Firefox and/or a black screen, with lucid in the sources.list.

This has been rectified, and all test installs worked.

Chekov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #36 on: November 07, 2011, 01:29:53 pm »
So, having several system images to re-start from, at what point in the install process does the fix impact:

(from the 810 install page)
sudo su - #This might ask for the password you specified earlier during the install of kubuntu.
apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
apt-get install medibuntu-keyring
wget -c http://deb.linuxmce.org/ubuntu/new-installer-latest.tar.gz
tar xvf new-installer-latest.tar.gz
cd new-installer
./pre-install-from-repo.sh
./mce-install.sh
./post-install.sh
reboot

Thanks

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1379
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #37 on: November 07, 2011, 07:08:00 pm »
It all worked fine for me.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Chekov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #38 on: November 07, 2011, 11:28:17 pm »
Glad to hear the problem is fixed and that users are seeing positive results.

After burning up a *lot* of bandwidth trying and failing to successfully complete the LMCE install, I'm wanting to restart with one of the saved VMware images as late in the process as possible to minimize over-limit charges with my ISP.

I don't want to have to restart at the beginning if I don't have to ...

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2962
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2011, 06:53:08 pm »
Chekov,

the question is, what do you want to achieve? If you are at a stage where the AV Wizard hasn't run yet, you can go from there.

Chekov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #40 on: November 08, 2011, 10:46:57 pm »
I'd like to get to the point where I have a functional LMCE install. 
I've got to the AV wizard and ended up at the dcerouter login twice, and that's where it stops.  startx merely puts me at the KDE desktop with no LMCE.

At what point in the install process have the recent fixes corrected the installation errors?
I'd like to start as late in the process as possible to minimize bandwidth consumption.

Thanks.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2962
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #41 on: November 08, 2011, 11:15:27 pm »
If you want a real LinuxMCE install, go and restart a new install.

guliaka

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #42 on: November 08, 2011, 11:17:31 pm »
Run apt-mirror update to grub all the changes last night and started fresh install into vm. Installation seemingly comes through but at the end I still have grey screen with no orbiter and Sarah never come to talk (((
Will try fresh install on hardware tonight....
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 11:19:40 pm by guliaka »
Everything genius is simple!! If it is not simple then it is not genius.

pointman87

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #43 on: November 08, 2011, 11:47:38 pm »
Hi guliaka. Maybe its a stupid question but are you formatting and reinstalling kubuntu between each install or are you just trying the install on the same kubuntu over and over again?

guliaka

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Installation hang on second step. Please help))
« Reply #44 on: November 09, 2011, 12:32:15 am »
Hi guliaka. Maybe its a stupid question but are you formatting and reinstalling kubuntu between each install or are you just trying the install on the same kubuntu over and over again?

It is fresh install each time with partition format. Since I got local apt-mirror fresh install does not take long time. I use 810 final DVD and it takes from start to finish about 20 - 25 minutes...
Everything genius is simple!! If it is not simple then it is not genius.