Author Topic: CM15A... does it work in LinuxMCE?  (Read 2907 times)

dkdias

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
CM15A... does it work in LinuxMCE?
« on: December 23, 2011, 04:58:15 am »
 ??? I am a very newbie to LinuxMCE.  I have Linux Mint installed as a dual boot system on one of my computers. I am totally new to LinuxMCE.  I borrowed an X10 system from a friend who was unable to get this system to work for him in an older house with older wiring.  I want to try this out, but i do not have the AHP PC Interface software.  Does the Active Home Pro 2  way pc interface work with LinuxMCE?

If it does work, please answer my next questions....... I have a windows xp sp3 and Linux Mint installed in a dual boot enviroment. I don't want to mess with the myth tv. I  read that I will need two ethernet cards, but I think that was for myth TV.  Is this so, or do I need two ethernet cards to use LinuxMCE to control the x10 devices?

Will LinuxMCE continue to control the lights after I turn off the computer that controls the lighting devices. I read about one other software program that only controls the various devices when the computer is on........

thanks for the help!!

tschak909

• LinuxMCE God
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: CM15A... does it work in LinuxMCE?
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2011, 05:38:27 am »
Welcome. I will get right to the point...

You need two ethernet cards in your LinuxMCE core, because LinuxMCE runs a DHCP server on the second ethernet card. This essentially turns your LinuxMCE machine into the router and gateway for the entire home. This was done as the best way to be able to handle plug and play of network devices.