Author Topic: Moning into new house  (Read 933 times)

heinola

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Moning into new house
« on: September 23, 2011, 05:24:35 pm »
 ::)

  I'll be moving into our new house and so all my media equipment as well...  may a while before I
have time and money to setup properly..

  I may also rework my lmce system as well since my core/hybrid died and have to rebuild...

  I may end up with a true core system with 2x MD's

  I will change it in user setups when It evolves

davegravy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
    • View Profile
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2011, 07:46:52 pm »
Congrats on the new place.

I'm moving into my first home tomorrow and am looking forward to finally having the ability to run Ethernet wherever the hell I want (with permission from wife instead of landlord)! Should be fun.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2848
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2011, 08:10:05 pm »
I am of the opinion that is leaps easier to get the permission from the landlord...

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2011, 08:32:41 pm »
I ran all my AV and Cat5e cable to the basement and all my AV gear is down there, see pic

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2011, 08:33:59 pm »
BTW, I used sheilded Cat5e and all cable is from www.monoprice.com.  very inexpensive

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2848
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2011, 11:38:52 am »
I would not do new installations with Cat5e spec'd cable, but would pay the premium for up-to-date certified cable, i.e. CAT6,CAT6a or CAT7. The premium is neglectable, and you do not need to worry if you want to upgrade to 10GBit ethernet in 3-4 years from now.

Sigg3.net

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2011, 11:41:13 pm »
I put CAT6a permanently along the corner of my ceiling/walls beneath classic mouldings in a 1920 flat. It was a lot of work but wireless is out of the question in old brick buildings:

Network cables vs. moulding
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sigg3net/4786886982/in/set-72157622689373755
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sigg3net/4762777727/in/set-72157622689373755

I learned quite a few things. CAT6a is so far only adopted by large enterprises AFAIK. All my equipment is consumer equipment and therefore CAT6(E). When or if CAT6A equipment becomes available cheap is a good question. In the meanwhile I have bandwidth I cannot use since all my (granted, old) machines are CAT6E or plain CAT6.

However, if I had run tubes (like electricians use) instead I would be able to buy cheaper CAT6E cable at present and simple pull new CAT6A cable when it became cheap enough or when need arises:
http://www.carl-ras.dk/gfx/imager/catalog/55622010.jpg

It would not have worked in my non-insulated, brick building flat however, since there is no hidden room between outer wall and inner wall. So I'm quite satisfied. The CAT6A cable also has a tougher sheath so it wasn't harmed by rough handling during construction, and sports better anti-cross-talk measures. If you can run tubes and pull wire through them, do so. You can then buy cable according to budget. I paid 3-4x the amount I would have paid for regular CAT6 because I knew it would last some 15 years. But they cannot be replaced.

Network cables in stripped flat:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sigg3net/4741380285/

After some plastering:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sigg3net/4786888822/in/photostream/

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2011, 06:48:41 am »
Good work, looks great.

I left pull throughs at all locations so everything could be upgraded later

Sigg3.net

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Moning into new house
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2011, 07:59:17 pm »
Thanks! That's what I'll do in our next home :)