Author Topic: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.  (Read 875 times)

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« on: September 05, 2011, 04:06:53 pm »
Hello all,

I have an Acer Revo r3610 running as a diskless md with the 330 ion hardware and atheros wifi. I had an issue with the wifi and that is resolved. When I get it to the av wizard I have no sound over hdmi and no video feed for Sarah. I get the UI 2 with flicker and I can navigate just like normal. When I try to play any media I get a blank screen for a sec or 2 then it goes back to flicker with the mute and play/pause buttons. I have the 195 nvidia driver by default installed. I have went to alsamixer and made sure that all is unmuted...no go. I am running snapshot LinuxMCE-8.10-24431-i386.iso.

I have spent hours of research, searching the forums and google any help would be appreciated.

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2011, 04:58:23 pm »
I want to add...

I think it is alsamixer version 1.0.18 on the md that is the problem, I also checked the version on the core and its version 1.0.23
how can I upgrade alsa on the md?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2011, 05:11:37 pm »
on the MD, execute
Code: [Select]
apt-get install alsa-modules-`uname -r`

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2011, 07:37:58 pm »
I was able to get sound and video using an alsa upgrade script 1.0.24.2 from http://ubuntuforums.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=182961&d=1297117212 (You have to have a user account)

1. download the script and save it somewhere
2. cd <your-download-dir>
3. tar xzvf AlsaUpgrade-1.0.24-2.tar.gz
4. chmod +x AlsaUpgrade-1.0.24-2.sh
5. sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.24-2.sh -d
6. sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.24-2.sh -c
7. sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.24-2.sh -i
8. sudo shutdown -r 0

and when I restarted I hed sound and video!!! ;D





dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2011, 07:42:00 pm »
on the MD, execute
Code: [Select]
apt-get install alsa-modules-`uname -r`

I already started the upgrade before you replyed, but I would like to know what is the better way. yours looks easier and will it upgrade alsa? and I want to thank you for the reply :)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2011, 07:54:08 pm »
The apt-get route would give you a 1.0.23

EDIT: A note of caution to who ever reads this later on: Blindly upgrading Alsa on a system with working audio does not guarantee that your system will continue to have sound. Alsa upgrades have the unfortunate side effect to sometimes no longer support devices that earlier alsa versions did support.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2011, 07:55:58 pm by posde »

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2011, 08:01:30 pm »
I thank you for the good info.

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: no video for Sarah, but have the gui, and no sound over hdmi.
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2011, 01:46:25 am »
Just to confirm ..... Posde's advice worked for me with an acer revo on lmce 810 final.