Author Topic: [SOLVED] 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work  (Read 890 times)

trondert

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« on: August 27, 2011, 11:46:27 am »
Im trying to set up a Core, and got the external/internet to work on the box, but it wont rout it further.
Got the onboard to deal with internal net, and added a PCI-Wlan card.
But non of the internal nets seem to work, and cant realy find any settings for the wlan part.

So my question is, can i set mu core up to be a wlan router? or do i need a separate Wlan router?

thx

« Last Edit: August 28, 2011, 09:03:44 pm by trondert »

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 11:53:52 am »
I have no experience in setting it up through the core

But the most easy solution is to hook up an Wireless Access Point to the core.
So be sure that the AP gives the DHCP through, so weborbiters will work.

trondert

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 12:32:17 pm »
ok, thx.

There are access point that doesent give DHCP thru? How in the deep dark forest do i know who?

trondert

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 12:38:04 pm »
looking at this one now:

http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/?categoryid=242&model=TL-WA701ND#spec

nice price, and power over ethernet. But cant see anything about DHCP.....

klanmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2011, 01:41:32 pm »
You can turn a normal router into such an access point. Before you connect it to your LMCE network, log onto its web interface and disable its DHCP server, which will also disable its routing ability. Then give it an IP on your LMCE network, jack it in on one of the lan ports, it should pass the IP giving from LMCE.

You configure you wireless settings as normal.

Also look at this

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Access_Point

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2011, 05:13:53 pm »
Also, if you do have a router it can be configured as a switch see the example below:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1371
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2011, 10:55:28 pm »
You can turn a normal router into such an access point. Before you connect it to your LMCE network, log onto its web interface and disable its DHCP server, which will also disable its routing ability. Then give it an IP on your LMCE network, jack it in on one of the lan ports, it should pass the IP giving from LMCE.

You configure you wireless settings as normal.

Also look at this

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Access_Point

This is how my wireless access point is set up. If using this method, you must assign a new LAN TCP/IP if you want to be able to access the router admin page again. This wants to be in the 192.168.80.X format, and should not be an address that is already in use. I used 192.168.80.254.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2011, 01:53:22 am »
and turn off its firewall (all of which is covered in the link I sent)

trondert

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 2 LAN + 1 WLAN. Wlan dont work
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2011, 09:03:15 pm »
Thx for all good answers, landed on access point outside the box:

Quote
http://www.dlink.co.uk/cs/Satellite?c=Product_C&childpagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLProductCarouselMultiple&cid=1197319181546&p=1197318962342&packedargs=locale%3D1195806691854&pagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLWrapper

Better range, and my old Wlan card had no N-draft support. And i can set up multiple SSID(PSP, DSI and portable computers don't support the same settings), with MAC address filtering.
Now i just need to get my on-board lan card to work for my internal net :P

Thx again! :)