Author Topic: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter  (Read 2915 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
[Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
« on: August 24, 2011, 07:40:59 pm »
Hey,

I'm trying to get my android phone to be connected with linuxMCE.
I follow the procedure as seen on http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0

I'm blocked on point 7.
Quote
Click the button 'Pick Device Template'. The Add Child Device Window will close, and the Generic Web Device will be added to the Core, as the updated Device Tree will show.
When i do a full regen of the specific orbiter, i got the space for the status. But no status. It seems to stop without doing anything.
A full regen of the default orbiter (fe OnScreen orbiter) is working correctly.


A bit strange to me, point 1-8 went very fast.
Quote
A new Generic Proxy Orbiter will also be created automatically. Watch the Orbiter generation process on the Orbiters page: Wizard-->Devices-->Orbiters.
When i look there, nothing special to see, a standard roaming orbiters is created.

When i check the server, nothing is listening on port 3461.
So i'm a bit stuck now...


Thanks for any hints, tips or tricks...
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 08:02:01 am by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

bwhitson

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 10:53:52 pm »
OK.....HMM...

I'm not sure about the android but with my iPhone all I have to do is point the software at the proper port.
If you go into the WebAdmin click on "show device tree" you should see your child device sitting there.
Click on it and make sure it is set to the default port 3461.
If you do not have a child device called generic web orbiter then you missed a set.

How did you determine that your server was not listening on port 3461?

Duct Tape is like the force - It has a dark side and holds the universe together.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2925
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 07:55:45 am »
You need a unique port for each of the proxy based orbiters.

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 09:54:11 am »

The child device is in there. And in that, i see the listen port 3461 (already tried with 3462).

I'm checking the port on a terminal in the server with the command:
Code: [Select]
netstat -an | grep 3461
Normally you should retrieve a line that says: LISTENING 3461
Mine came back empty. And since the server isn't listening...
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1374
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2011, 10:37:16 am »
In "My Devices", you should have a Generic Web Device, and as a child of this, the Generic Proxy Orbiter. Try clicking full regen again in Wizard -> Devices -> Orbiters and just waiting 10 minutes.

Have you already tried displaying the orbiter with your device? If you're using a browser, don't worry about inputting the port on the device, but you do still need to make sure the port is unique in web admin. If you are using darrenmason's touch orbiter, then you will need to input the listen port in the touch orbiter settings on the Android device.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2011, 10:54:06 am »
Hey,

I'm trying to get my android phone to be connected with linuxMCE.
I follow the procedure as seen on http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0

I'm blocked on point 7.When i do a full regen of the specific orbiter, i got the space for the status. But no status. It seems to stop without doing anything.
A full regen of the default orbiter (fe OnScreen orbiter) is working correctly.
...............

You must do a reload router first at this point and then regen the Orbiter.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2011, 11:12:42 am »
I'll give it a try this evening.

Just to be verify, can i pick in with the reload and go on.
Or is it best to delete proxy orbiter, reload/regen and recreate it all?
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2011, 11:28:36 am »
I'll give it a try this evening.

Just to be verify, can i pick in with the reload and go on.
Or is it best to delete proxy orbiter, reload/regen and recreate it all?

Just a reload router should be fine

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2011, 09:06:19 pm »
I was able to do a full regen with the extra 'reload' at step 7.

But still no port 3461 that is listening.

To be safe, i've tried it also with a complete remove of the orbiter, and did the whole procedure again. Now with the extra reload in between. But it gives me te same result.

When i check with netstat, no port is listening on 3461.
And of course, my android phone has the result 'connection failed'. What seems normal.

Any thoughts what i could check further?

Thanks!
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2011, 09:46:56 pm »
I was able to do a full regen with the extra 'reload' at step 7.

But still no port 3461 that is listening.

To be safe, i've tried it also with a complete remove of the orbiter, and did the whole procedure again. Now with the extra reload in between. But it gives me te same result.

When i check with netstat, no port is listening on 3461.
And of course, my android phone has the result 'connection failed'. What seems normal.

Any thoughts what i could check further?

Thanks!

Are you sure that your Android Orbiter has all the configs right? Especially the port no.?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2011, 08:50:41 am »
When i run 'netstat -an | grep 3461', this is done on the server itself.

So if the server isn't listening on this port, i assume that no other device will be capable of connection to this port. Or am i missing something?
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2011, 10:56:55 am »
hmmm,

When i install the weborbiter, it should be reachable by a normal webbrowser as well, correct?

When i go to http://<ip-address>/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php, i receive a nice login screen. And i can select the 'child orbiter'.
Once i've done that, i've got a page with only some buttons (home-back-refresh-exit-logout) on. But i can't do anything else. When i do for example a refresh, it keeps on 'loading'...


I've also noticed, that when i do a quick reload, the core orbiter seems to crash.
Sometimes it's just a black screen, sometimes it stays on 'reconnecting to DCE router as requested'.
The remote adminpage is working correctly, but on the core screen, i can't do anything more.
When i do a hard reboot of the core, it comes back fine....
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1374
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2011, 12:51:53 pm »
Do you have a folder called "bits" in /usr/pluto/orbiter? You should have, so make it if it is missing. It's unlikely this is the problem, but it is the only time I have seen what you are describing.

Which snapshot are you running, or are you on RC1? Upgraded?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2011, 02:48:22 pm »
For the moment it's : linuxMCE 8.10_24.0.12. An upgrade of an earlier version, because i had problems to install directly the latest version (boot dvd issues).

And you're right, i was missing the folder 'bits'.
So i've just created it, but after a full regen, it stays empty. Normal?
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1374
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2011, 02:31:13 am »
For the moment it's : linuxMCE 8.10_24.0.12. An upgrade of an earlier version, because i had problems to install directly the latest version (boot dvd issues).

And you're right, i was missing the folder 'bits'.
So i've just created it, but after a full regen, it stays empty. Normal?

Not sure if this is necessary or not, but let's play it safe - delete your orbiters, reboot, then recreate them, paying special attention to the regens and reloads.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps