Author Topic: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors  (Read 3196 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2011, 02:37:34 am »
No seth, not in the device instance, in the device template itself. In the original device template, this is blank, in the new one, it's like Murdock's.

-Thom

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2011, 02:57:43 am »
I did the same thing!

Go to: Advanced --> Configuration --> Device Templates

Pull down "Device Template" and start typing Go and you'll pull up the 'Go Cordless GC1005M' and click on "Pick device template"

Block Device (String) 158 is under the 'Device Data' heading and you're looking for the 'Default Value' column to the right of the 'comments' column. What do you have there?

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2011, 07:00:36 pm »
Hi Seth - any luck on this?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2011, 11:56:23 pm »
Uplink just fixed the Gyration & Fiire remotes and we have released an update to Dianemo users this evening.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2011, 04:50:31 pm »
Thanks Andrew, Seth or tkmedia could you confirm whether this fix worked for you?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2011, 10:02:41 am »
Thanks Andrew, Seth or tkmedia could you confirm whether this fix worked for you?

Just to let you know we have found a problem with the 'fast forward' button on the Fiire remote with this update. At the moment this is the only issue we are aware of. However there is no fix for this specific issue right now - and none on the horizon either I am afraid.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2011, 09:43:31 pm »
Hi all,

I have the following under
#152 Block Device(string)

Code: [Select]
/dev/input/by-id/usb-Gyration_Gyration_RF_Technology_Receiver-event-kbd|/dev/input/by-id/usb-Gyration_Gyration_RF_Technology_Receiver-event-mouse
So it is just like Murdock's. Yet mine still does not work.

Not sure what else to check. Please let me know.

Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2011, 10:44:36 pm »
can you comment out (or add the LV_DEBUG log level to your pluto.conf), reload router, and tail -f | grep for GenericHIDInterface?

-Thom

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2011, 01:48:44 am »
Ive managed to get most of my Gyration working by editing the #59 Configuration(string) data field with the following:

1,10,U,Y
2,11,U,Y
3,12,U,Y
4,13,U,Y
5,14,U,Y
6,15,U,Y
7,16,U,Y
8,17,U,Y
9,18,U,Y
0,19,U,Y
Down,104,R,Y
Up,98,R,Y
Left,100,R,Y
Right,102,R,Y
ok,36,D,Y
SkipNext,171,R
SkipPrior,173,R
chup,120402,R
chdown,120403,R
fastforward,216,D
Rewind,176,D
Pause,127,D
Play,215D
Mute,121,D
Stop,174,D
voldn,122,R
VolUp,123,R
Record,175,D
Guide,120362,U
info,138,U
help,134,H
Power,150,U
Halt,223,H
Music,120391,U
Videos,120393,U
tv,234,U
Pictures,187,U
Back,166,D
menu,120389,U
start,110,U
media,120366,U
lights,120273,H

I wouldnt be able to tell you which exact fields Ive changed, but comparing to what you have may be revealing.


Dennis

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2011, 03:43:07 pm »
Hi. Sorry, with the flooding and what not here in PA, I have not had a chance to check into this. I did though this morning get the opportunity.
Here below are my entries from #59 on the template. Most are identcal to yours, but there are some that are different. I have marked them in red:

1,10,U,Y
2,11,U,Y
3,12,U,Y
4,13,U,Y
5,14,U,Y
6,15,U,Y
7,16,U,Y
8,17,U,Y
9,18,U,Y
0,19,U,Y
Down,104,R,Y
Up,98,R,Y
Left,100,R,Y
Right,102,R,Y
ok,36,D,Y
SkipNext,120163,R
SkipPrior,120165,R
chup,120402,R
chdown,120403,R
fastforward,180,D
Rewind,152,D
Pause,110,D
Play,179,D
Mute,160,D
Stop,164,D
voldn,174,R
VolUp,176,R
Record,177,D
Guide,120362,U
info,134,U
help,134,H
Power,223,U
Halt,223,H
Music,120391,U
Videos,120393,U
tv,237,U
Pictures,187,U
Back,234,D
menu,120389,U
media,120366,U
lights,120273,H

Not sure if changing them is correct. Perhaps someone else can look at their #59 to get a third or even a fourth pair of eyes on the issue.

Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2011, 07:30:38 pm »
 ;D
I can confirm that the codes Dennis posted above, do in fact work. I replaced the ones in my #59 with the ones he has posted in this thread, and now it works without issue.

Perhaps we can have this newly modified template submitted that way the next person who installs RC1 will not have these issues.

Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2011, 01:40:58 am »
Glad they worked for you Seth!

Dennis

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2011, 03:55:12 pm »
Thx - Worked for me too. Old codes were:
Code: [Select]
1,10,U,Y
2,11,U,Y
3,12,U,Y
4,13,U,Y
5,14,U,Y
6,15,U,Y
7,16,U,Y
8,17,U,Y
9,18,U,Y
0,19,U,Y
Down,104,R,Y
Up,98,R,Y
Left,100,R,Y
Right,102,R,Y
ok,36,D,Y
SkipNext,120163,R
SkipPrior,120165,R
chup,120402,R
chdown,120403,R
fastforward,180,D
Rewind,152,D
Pause,110,D
Play,179,D
Mute,160,D
Stop,164,D
voldn,174,R
VolUp,176,R
Record,177,D
Guide,120362,U
info,134,U
help,134,H
Power,223,U
Halt,223,H
Music,120391,U
Videos,120393,U
tv,237,U
Pictures,187,U
Back,234,D
menu,120389,U
media,120366,U
lights,120273,H


ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #28 on: September 13, 2011, 12:28:38 am »
I'm not smart enough to figure out WHY the old codes stopped working... but using xev, i wrote down the codes generated for the buttons.. then tested them in the template..   

It was ROUGH without the remote working.

Dennis

rdmustang

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote Works on Core but not Media Directors
« Reply #29 on: September 13, 2011, 01:29:16 am »
Thanks, works for me too!