Author Topic: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update  (Read 986 times)

donpaul3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« on: July 31, 2011, 10:36:48 pm »
I updated my core, updated my MD, and now my gyration remote does not work properly. The only working functions are the mouse, the direction buttons, and the green button. I can use the stop button to turn the volume down, and the rewind button the turn volume up, but I can't bring up the menu or use any media controls. I have been working on it all day. Anyone have any ideas?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 08:13:55 am »
Please look in your Orbiter logs and see if there are any GenericHIDInterface errors.

-Thom

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 02:58:48 am »
Another thing to check is /etc/X11/xorg.conf under the section "ServerFlags" to see if the option "AutoAddDevices" is set to "False". I've included my xorg file for reference - see the last line.

John

Code: [Select]
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Fri Mar 12 01:42:27 PST 2010

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    Option         "DPMS"
# ModeLine "1024x768" 65.00 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1024x768_75.00" 78.75 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 -hsync -vsync
HorizSync 20-500
VertRefresh 74-76
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
Option "renderAccel" "true"
Option "UseEDID" "true"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "UseEvents" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1024x768_75"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Device"
Modes "1024x768_75"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

donpaul3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2011, 05:58:34 pm »
Another thing to check is /etc/X11/xorg.conf under the section "ServerFlags" to see if the option "AutoAddDevices" is set to "False". I've included my xorg file for reference - see the last line.

John

I actually had about 30 of those options. I removed all but 1.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2011, 06:03:35 pm »
I will try to fix this, this weekend.

-Thom

donpaul3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2011, 06:26:16 am »
I will try to fix this, this weekend.

-Thom

Thanks Thom! I just did a fresh install with the latest snapshot, and I'm looking forward to a remote again!

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2011, 07:44:22 am »
I  have spent all day fixing this, and am committing the fix now. Please wait for posde to run the build.

A new pluto-system-database package will be scheduled to be rebuilt as well, which will do an sqlCVS update so you can get the revised device template as well.

-Thom

donpaul3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration remote doesn't work properly after update
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2011, 09:30:08 pm »
I actually installed Dianemo S10.10, and there is no Gyration support there yet :(

Thanks for the quick fix anyway, Thom! Appreciated!