Author Topic: questions about audio only MD  (Read 2594 times)

daci92

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2011, 11:39:42 am »
See my link to the Wiki page about Squeezeslaves in my post above.

All the best


Andrew
Thanks Andrew i've read all that ,but i couldn't understand if the control of the squeezeslave/soundcard can be done from proxy/touch orbiter (like the one for Android because i use that one) and from the UI of MCE.

If i have a card with multiple inputs/outputs like the onboard cards on the mother boards can i manage them to work simultaneously with different zone of the house like in foobar2000? The real questions is can MCE run multiple audio instances simultaneously with UI?
If MCE can do some of this options with UI it will save me a lot of money and time for configuring MD's just for audio zones.

Thanks,
Daci

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2011, 12:58:53 pm »
Each Squeezeslave receives a unique mac address. Utilizing this mac address each of the squeezeslave can be controlled just like any other MD, i.e. it can be controlled via touchorbiters etc.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2011, 01:35:11 pm »
Thanks Andrew i've read all that ,but i couldn't understand if the control of the squeezeslave/soundcard can be done from proxy/touch orbiter (like the one for Android because i use that one) and from the UI of MCE.

If i have a card with multiple inputs/outputs like the onboard cards on the mother boards can i manage them to work simultaneously with different zone of the house like in foobar2000? The real questions is can MCE run multiple audio instances simultaneously with UI?
If MCE can do some of this options with UI it will save me a lot of money and time for configuring MD's just for audio zones.

Thanks,
Daci

A Touch Orbiter can control anything that a any other kind of Orbiter can - and this would also apply to the Android Orbiter too. Yes LinuxMCE can control any number of audio sources with the standard UI.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

daci92

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #18 on: July 05, 2011, 09:05:35 am »
Each Squeezeslave receives a unique mac address. Utilizing this mac address each of the squeezeslave can be controlled just like any other MD, i.e. it can be controlled via touchorbiters etc.

A Touch Orbiter can control anything that a any other kind of Orbiter can - and this would also apply to the Android Orbiter too. Yes LinuxMCE can control any number of audio sources with the standard UI.

All the best

Andrew
If i understood well squeeze slaves are separated for rooms like MD's and i can control them with changing the room?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2011, 09:25:34 am »
correct.

daci92

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2011, 09:35:23 am »
correct.
Ok great , just one more thing ,sorry for bothering u , is there any list of audio chips that are supported or any should be supported?
How much audio cards can i put on the Hybrid and the MD (i mean on the additional cards) or it is not limited?
And should be any problem if i combine few types of cards like one USB ,one integrated and one PCI card at the same time?


I appreciate this very much.

Thanks ,
Daci

PS: @malelan sorry that i hijacked the article with my questions
« Last Edit: July 05, 2011, 09:36:58 am by daci92 »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #21 on: July 05, 2011, 10:51:05 am »
Ok great , just one more thing ,sorry for bothering u , is there any list of audio chips that are supported or any should be supported?
How much audio cards can i put on the Hybrid and the MD (i mean on the additional cards) or it is not limited?
And should be any problem if i combine few types of cards like one USB ,one integrated and one PCI card at the same time?


I appreciate this very much.

Thanks ,
Daci

PS: @malelan sorry that i hijacked the article with my questions

Which audio cards (pci or usb) are supported is really down to the underlying OS (usb drivers & alsa version) so 0810 or 10.04 for LinuxMCE and in our case currently 10.10 for Dianemo. I don't know of a supported sound card wiki page as such (although a few a listed on the Squeezeslave page).

As to how many you 'put' in a hybrid well that comes down to how they are physically added ie slots or usb and also on the overall ability of the host system to cope with the load the multiple 'cards' willl place on system resources. Obviously you will hit power & throughput limits on USB connected 'cards' but we have so far not hit those limits at all as most motherboards/systems have multiple usb busses etc. You can mix PCI & usb sound cards in any way you like without limitation... other than the ones just mentioned that is.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

daci92

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2011, 11:16:19 am »
Which audio cards (pci or usb) are supported is really down to the underlying OS (usb drivers & alsa version) so 0810 or 10.04 for LinuxMCE and in our case currently 10.10 for Dianemo. I don't know of a supported sound card wiki page as such (although a few a listed on the Squeezeslave page).

As to how many you 'put' in a hybrid well that comes down to how they are physically added ie slots or usb and also on the overall ability of the host system to cope with the load the multiple 'cards' willl place on system resources. Obviously you will hit power & throughput limits on USB connected 'cards' but we have so far not hit those limits at all as most motherboards/systems have multiple usb busses etc. You can mix PCI & usb sound cards in any way you like without limitation... other than the ones just mentioned that is.

All the best

Andrew
I use 0810 for now ,and i'm not planning to move do 1004 yet because 0810 is working just fine.I was looking for usb audio on the wiki and i got this article which has just to options and for the first card (cmedia usb) the author didnt manage to get it work like squeezeslave at all.
The cards could be used on PCI ,PCI-X x1 and USB so what i will find that i will use .On the Core i believe i will use one PCI or PCI-x and one USB (total 3 zones) and on the MD (NT330i) i will use USB (for total of 2 zones) with which i will have 5 zones (current zone status of the house).This will wait for some time coz i contacted the suppliers for Audio Cards and they said they will have cards next week (i dont believe that they will have in so short time but it is ok).
The core system resources i quite well , the MD has lack of resources but i believe that it could manage one USB audio card

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #23 on: November 16, 2011, 11:33:54 am »
I have a mix - 3 squeezeboxes and 2 of these http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Topping_TP30 plugged into my core running squeezeslave, see instructions http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core. Have a read through the wiki entries and if you have further questions I'll try to ans.

-Coley.


Hi!

Are the TP30:s easy to set up as Squuezeslaves? Is it just to plug it into the core / md and follow the squeezeslave instructions in the wiki, or do I need to config the TP30 first?

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: questions about audio only MD
« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2011, 12:40:41 pm »
Hi!

Are the TP30:s easy to set up as Squuezeslaves? Is it just to plug it into the core / md and follow the squeezeslave instructions in the wiki, or do I need to config the TP30 first?
No config of the TP30 required, just follow the wiki to set up squeezeslave once device plugged into the core.

-Coley.