Author Topic: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter  (Read 5993 times)

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2011, 06:04:16 am »
Can you confirm that the Web Orbiter is working correctly independently?

Andrew,

I had trouble previously getting your iOS orbiter working on my 810 install (using version 1.1), but I think the problem was on my end using the wrong device number.  I had been using the device number of my core, not of the web orbiter device (RTFM  :)).  I can confirm it works great on my iphone 3GS on a 1004 install from yesterday.  Plugged in the device number of the web orbiter and used the 7 digit installation number from the upper left hand corner of the admin pages as the installation number.

The up and down swipe to display/hide the options at the bottom is a nice addition.

Thanks-

Edit:  Note to self... one should read the rest of the manual before commenting....
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 06:09:54 am by huh »

davegravy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
    • View Profile
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2011, 07:15:34 am »
Yes the 5 digit installation id is for Dianemo Systems. Can you confirm that the Web Orbiter is working correctly independently?
All the best

Andrew

Strangely enough, after successfully trying weborbiter through my browser, the iphone app works. I don't believed I changed anything... Weird.

2 Things:

- In comparison, RoamingOrb seems about twice as quick (using wifi only).
- In Dianemo app, pressing a light command, or any button that does not load a new screen, the load indicator goes on forever.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2011, 09:49:36 am »
Andrew,

I had trouble previously getting your iOS orbiter working on my 810 install (using version 1.1), but I think the problem was on my end using the wrong device number.  I had been using the device number of my core, not of the web orbiter device (RTFM  :)).  I can confirm it works great on my iphone 3GS on a 1004 install from yesterday.  Plugged in the device number of the web orbiter and used the 7 digit installation number from the upper left hand corner of the admin pages as the installation number.

The up and down swipe to display/hide the options at the bottom is a nice addition.

Thanks-

Edit:  Note to self... one should read the rest of the manual before commenting....

Hi huh,

Glad to hear you have a working Orbiter. I think we will need to update the setup instructions to make it much clearer what values are needed and where you get them from. Thanks for the feedback.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #18 on: May 18, 2011, 10:01:03 am »
Strangely enough, after successfully trying weborbiter through my browser, the iphone app works. I don't believed I changed anything... Weird.

2 Things:

- In comparison, RoamingOrb seems about twice as quick (using wifi only).
- In Dianemo app, pressing a light command, or any button that does not load a new screen, the load indicator goes on forever.

Good to hear its working for you now. One possibility was that you had a regen running... that would cause the Orbiter to not connect. Just and idea. With reference to the performance your seeing we are aware of a roughly 30% performance degradation in this version. This is mostly caused by the changes in the way the Orbiter communicates with the proxy_orbiter at the Core that were required for secure remote access. We are looking at the possibility of only using the original protocol for LAN operation and the new one only when you are using your Orbiter for remote access. You'll get notified when we have an update available for this on your device and in iTunes.

Re the load indicator issue - that is strange. I can't reproduce that here. If you go into Connections -> Settings and toggle the load indicator 'off' and then 'on' does that make the load indicator work normally?

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hanafi

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
greats
« Reply #19 on: May 18, 2011, 12:07:41 pm »
Thank you Andrew

now i can conne to connect on external i have an other error like this
authentification error
please verify your user credentials !

connection error
the operation could'nt be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1012)
and i I want to know the resolution for a IPAD
because when I touch the IPAD it takes time to react

thanks

hanafi

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: greats
« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2011, 12:35:48 pm »
Thank you Andrew

now i can conne to connect on external i have an other error like this
authentification error
please verify your user credentials !

connection error
the operation could'nt be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1012)
and i I want to know the resolution for a IPAD
because when I touch the IPAD it takes time to react

thanks

hanafi

Hi again,

Secure remote access is currently only available to Dianemo customers as your connection is routed via one of our remote access servers.

Your iPad Generic Proxy Orbiter should be set to a resolution of 1024x768

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2011, 02:11:40 pm »
Hi Andrew,
I successfully had v1.0 working great on my Dianemo Core. After updating to v1.1 and following wiki instructions I am getting 'connection error - communication error'. i am using an early gen ipod touch running iOS 4.2.1 Any ideas on what this may be?

Thanks
Garath

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2011, 03:08:18 pm »
Hi Andrew,
I successfully had v1.0 working great on my Dianemo Core. After updating to v1.1 and following wiki instructions I am getting 'connection error - communication error'. i am using an early gen ipod touch running iOS 4.2.1 Any ideas on what this may be?

Thanks
Garath

The most likely problem is that you have a configuration setting wrong. Double check you are using the correct device no. for your device - remember that in 1.0 we used the port no. to id a device... now we use the parent id (see my post above for a screenshot of a typical device). Also check that you have filled in all fields.

Andrew
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 03:10:05 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hanafi

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: greats
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2011, 03:44:07 pm »
ok Andrew

I have a home automation company here in France and I want to know how I can have the system for my clients dianemo
 

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: greats
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2011, 04:32:19 pm »
ok Andrew

I have a home automation company here in France and I want to know how I can have the system for my clients dianemo
 

Hi Hanafi,

I have sent you a PM to you here on the forum so that we can discuss your needs in more detail via email.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2011, 01:44:24 pm »
Hi Andrew,
Unfortunately I have not been able to get the new version to work. I followed your earlier post and have ensured IP settings are correct etc. Is the new version only compatible with Dianemo 10.10 as I don't think that my Nerve Centre has updated to the newest version yet.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2011, 03:43:39 pm »
Hi Andrew,
Unfortunately I have not been able to get the new version to work. I followed your earlier post and have ensured IP settings are correct etc. Is the new version only compatible with Dianemo 10.10 as I don't think that my Nerve Centre has updated to the newest version yet.

You need a recent build of LinuxMCE 8.10 or 10.04 minimally - or Dianemo 10.10

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2011, 04:10:09 pm »
Thanks Andrew,
This may be my problem. I do not think I am running 10.10, rather still 7.10 Shouldn't this update be automatic? Is there an easy way to verify this?

thanks

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New Version of the Dianemo iOS Orbiter
« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2011, 04:17:46 pm »
Thanks Andrew,
This may be my problem. I do not think I am running 10.10, rather still 7.10 Shouldn't this update be automatic? Is there an easy way to verify this?

thanks

Dianemo 7.10 is not upgradable directly 'over the air' to 10.10 due to major technical changes between the two releases. We are looking at a way to upgrade existing 7.10 customers which will probably involve a hardware update - which means we will probably ship you a new system drive. Please contact Steve at the office regarding this to get the latest information.

This upgrade problem is peculiar to the transition between our 7.10 & 10.10 releases. We expect version updates to 11.04 and beyond to be available online to any 10.10 customers.

All the best


Andrew
« Last Edit: May 20, 2011, 11:32:34 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: greats
« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2012, 09:51:17 am »
authentification error
please verify your user credentials !

connection error
the operation could'nt be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1012)

I'm gettting the same error here.
What i've got done:
Followed the installation of the weborbiter. For the moment, the listen port is here 3463. Not sure if this is important.
The device number is #113, the child is #115.

In the Dieanemo app (version 1.5  ???), i've inserted following settings:
  • Description: ServerName
  • Installation number: 113 (couldn't figure this one out, i've also tried the listen port (3463))
  • Device number: 113
  • User name: UserName in LinuxMCE
  • Password: Password for user above
  • Nerve Centre IP: 192.168.0.1 (IP of linuxmce)
« Last Edit: January 29, 2012, 10:15:40 am by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02