Author Topic: GlobalCache WF2IR  (Read 1915 times)

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
GlobalCache WF2IR
« on: December 19, 2010, 07:49:43 pm »
Are all GlobalCache products compatible with LinuxMCE?

I'm especially interested in buying GlobalCache WF2IR:
http://www.smarthome.com/81186/Global-Cache-WF2IR-iTach-Wi-Fi-to-IR/p.aspx

I guess they all use same protocol so they should all work, but has anybody tried?

Cheers,
Valent.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

klanmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 06:50:20 pm »
I checked out the API's for both the iTach and the gcc, to see the differences, and the command structure I believe is similar; possible creating a device template similar to the gcc, using the same driver, but using the different MAC address ranges is all that is required, have been swamped by work thus no time to revisit.


valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 06:19:51 pm »
Thank you for your reply, that is really good news. I will get some money soon so we will see it this device makes it to final buying list.

Cheers,
Valent.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 08:58:29 pm »
I got suggestion to buy GC iTach IP2IR over GC 100. I'm ordering them now so will let you all know how they work. If anybody has some experience with iTach line of products please share your experience.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

klanmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 08:56:51 pm »
How did it go?

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2011, 05:20:47 pm »
Need to sort out delivery and how to avoid import duties... if you are in Eu it's easier to order and you will not get import duties. I know a guy in India how has them already and he says they work great so if you need something like this go for it!
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: GlobalCache WF2IR
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2011, 04:47:33 pm »
Are all GlobalCache products compatible with LinuxMCE?

I'm especially interested in buying GlobalCache WF2IR:
http://www.smarthome.com/81186/Global-Cache-WF2IR-iTach-Wi-Fi-to-IR/p.aspx

I guess they all use same protocol so they should all work, but has anybody tried?

Cheers,
Valent.

They should work with the GC100 device template. The iTach's are essentially the GC100 upgrade modules repackaged as independent devices.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk