Author Topic: good core.  (Read 2614 times)

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
good core.
« on: March 27, 2011, 12:32:47 am »
I'm debating building either a new core, or building a new work pc.

Cucurrently, here is what my core is.
Abit ab 9 pro (dual gb nics,  9 SATA ports, 7.1 audio with optical out)
Quad. Core2.4gHz processor
4gb of RAM
Dvd writer
8600its 512mbps dual DVI card
1x 160gb. Hdd (for os)
1x 640gb Hdd for media.
I also have an extra 1tb. Drive and an extra 500gb external drive


I want to recommission this as my dev / production pc now that I've got more dev side work coming in..

My question, I have an extra p4 2.4ghz processor laying around.  Can I build a solid core?  Or should I look for an inexpensive barebone setup to build?


Aviator

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 07:02:32 pm »
I have a P4 2.8 2G Ram and a 512MB Geforce 6200 as my core and it is performing great. You should be able to build a solid core on the P4 2.4.  Orbiter regens might be a little slow.

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2011, 06:33:18 pm »
ok cool. Glad to hear someone else running that kind of setup. i can build a dedicated rig cheap for that chip.

Soo, on that note, I just recommissioned my dev rig!!

overclocked the Q6600  sucker to 2.9GHz running smooooth. upgrading ot 8GB ram and dual booth win7 ultimate and Bodhi linux (ubuntu/enlightenment)! :-D

-Ryan

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: good core.
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 08:09:01 pm »
ok cool. Glad to hear someone else running that kind of setup. i can build a dedicated rig cheap for that chip.

Soo, on that note, I just recommissioned my dev rig!!

overclocked the Q6600  sucker to 2.9GHz running smooooth. upgrading ot 8GB ram and dual booth win7 ultimate and Bodhi linux (ubuntu/enlightenment)! :-D

-Ryan

Just for comparison my home Core is a Asus Atom 330 Dual 1.6Ghz with an intel 945 chipset (I dont have a physical screen attached as its at the end of the garden in a shed...I vnc into it for maintenance/setup). I run a MythTV backend with an HDHomerun and have an DLink 2Tb NAS. I have 2x Acer Revo's and a WD Live all being driven using UPnP.

My point is that a wide range of hardware specs are possible with LinuxMCE (My system is currently running Dianemo 10.10 of course...but the lineage is the same of course) and have differing advantages/disadvantages. There is no right or wrong in absolute terms(unless your hardware is incompatible in some way ;-) )...just whats right for your needs.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2011, 12:03:22 am »
I´m thinking of installing the core onto a SSD to increase performance and lifetime. Wich component does impact orbiter regen most; RAM, CPU or storage?! Any rule of thumb in this issue?!

All media storage is on a NAS so a 60-80GB SSD wold be ok, right?!

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: good core.
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2011, 01:22:33 am »
I´m thinking of installing the core onto a SSD to increase performance and lifetime. Wich component does impact orbiter regen most; RAM, CPU or storage?! Any rule of thumb in this issue?!

All media storage is on a NAS so a 60-80GB SSD wold be ok, right?!

Well the concensus here is that more CPU Cores and some re factoring of OrbiterGen to use them would be the best way forwards...without that we'd go with a faster processor as being the best way to improve Regen performance.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: good core.
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2011, 05:20:51 pm »
I have used an ssd with an atom 330 as a core. Even with the ssd regens are very painful taking around 15 minutes per MD.



HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2011, 06:35:33 pm »
when regenning doesn't it write a lot to the SSD, while writing is something to avoid for an ssd?
And can you trim your ssd in linux?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: good core.
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2011, 08:31:47 pm »
I have used an ssd with an atom 330 as a core. Even with the ssd regens are very painful taking around 15 minutes per MD.

HTH

Tim

Well obviously your Orbiters will take longer the higher the resolution you choose...but on our Atom 330 based systems we experience about 7-8 mins per Orbiter at 720p. Its certainly good practice to minimise the number of regens on lower powered systems until OrbiterGen can be replaced...;-)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: good core.
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2011, 08:34:36 pm »
Quote
Well obviously your Orbiters will take longer the higher the resolution you choose...but on our Atom 330 based systems we experience about 7-8 mins per Orbiter at 720p. Its certainly good practice to minimise the number of regens on lower powered systems until OrbiterGen can be replaced...;-)

Yes I am running most of my MD's at 1080p


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: good core.
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2011, 09:17:53 pm »
Yes I am running most of my MD's at 1080p

Tim

Just regenned 3 Orbiters at 1080p and on Dianemo 10.10 they take just under 11mins each with an individual regen.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2011, 04:43:42 pm »
what's the least expensive core someone has built?

I'm curious to see what the others have been doing....


locutus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2011, 04:47:22 pm »
i believe that some are going to try to make a pandaboard into a core, as soon as they receive one which might be a while

Aviator

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2011, 06:25:30 pm »
I've had a core running on a P4 1.8 with 1GB Ram. Video card I used on it was a Geforce 6200 128 MB. It worked okay, but it is better as a MS.  I am now running a P4 2.8 with 2GB RAM as my core and it is performing great.  There is no need to go out and buy the latest and greatest if you have something around that will do the job.

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: good core.
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2011, 04:58:22 pm »
I finally found a mobo off ebay for my p4 3.0ghz ht chip for about 30bucks. BUT, after buying a dual Gb-NIC for about 100 bucks and some more RAM (unless I can find some laying around) and a case, im looking at close to 300 bucks.

I did find this. What do you guys think would be a better option?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.636018