Author Topic: VDR install  (Read 2552 times)

joshpond

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
VDR install
« on: March 24, 2011, 07:37:33 am »
Hi all,

Trying to use VDR with my HDHomeRun.

Following the wiki; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/VDR

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install vdradmin-am
sudo apt-get update

That's all fine;

Then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install dvb-utils

And I get unable to mkdirs:
Code: [Select]
Setting up dvb-utils (1.1.1-3) ...
udev active, devices will be created in /dev/.static/dev/
mkdir: cannot create directory `dvb': Read-only file system
mkdir: cannot create directory `dvb': Read-only file system
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/video0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/video0 c 212 0 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/audio0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/audio0 c 212 1 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/frontend0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/frontend0 c 212 3 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/demux0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/demux0 c 212 4 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/dvr0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/dvr0 c 212 5 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/ca0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/ca0 c 212 6 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/net0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/net0 c 212 7 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter0/osd0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter0/osd0 c 212 8 root video 0660: failed
mkdir: cannot create directory `dvb': Read-only file system
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/video0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/video0 c 212 64 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/audio0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/audio0 c 212 65 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/frontend0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/frontend0 c 212 67 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/demux0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/demux0 c 212 68 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/dvr0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/dvr0 c 212 69 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/ca0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/ca0 c 212 70 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/net0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/net0 c 212 71 root video 0660: failed
mknod: `dvb/adapter1/osd0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter1/osd0 c 212 72 root video 0660: failed
mkdir: cannot create directory `dvb': Read-only file system
mknod: `dvb/adapter2/video0-': No such file or directory
makedev dvb/adapter2/video0 c 212 128 root video 0660: failed
etc, etc.

Something is stopping me from mkdir in that folder,
tried sudo su and even chmod but it wouldn't allow chmod either.

Thanks Josh
My Setup: On it's way

joshpond

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: VDR install
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 04:54:00 am »
Okay found a few things trawling the net.

Apparently there is an issue with 810 and mounting the /dev/.static/dev as ro

Don't quite understand the details but adding the following line into fstab remounts it as rw and allows dvb-utils to install.

Code: [Select]
/dev /dev/.static/dev bind remount,rw 0 0




Next issue then becomes the next step:
Code: [Select]
sudo scan -o vdr -p -u /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/dvb-t/au-Townsville > channels.conf
Gives:
Code: [Select]
scanning /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/dvb-t/au-Townsville
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
main:2247: FATAL: failed to open '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0': 2 No such file or directory

Seems to be a similar permissions issue.

Josh
My Setup: On it's way

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR install
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 12:35:08 pm »
joshpond,

are you sure your dvb card is supported? Please paste the output of
Code: [Select]
find /dev/dvb

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: VDR install
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 02:47:50 pm »
The output you're receiving is normal, as /dev is managed by udev, a dynamic device filesystem. You're not supposed to put device nodes in there yourself, they are supposed to be created by kernel devices as they are needed.

And what the hell are you doing installing these pieces manually? ;)

-Thom

joshpond

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: VDR install
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2011, 06:49:18 pm »
@posde
Code: [Select]
find /dev/dvbShows nothing but I'm using a hdhomerun (DVB-T). It seems to be a newer version as doesn't look like the pictures on the wiki but LMCe picked it up and added a device template.

@Thom
How I got here....... well....
Following wiki for VDR setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/VDR
Scanning for channels, Install dvb-utils.

dvb-utils package is the one trying to put stuff in the /dev/.static/dev folder.
That's how I ended up trying to allow it to put stuff in there.

I'm getting errors also with the LMCE webadmin page with advanced>Config>VDR setup as it is giving me errors and telling me to setup with command line so I might try a reinstall with the hdhomerun in and see if it will pick things up and install VDR then.

Josh
My Setup: On it's way

joshpond

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: VDR install
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2011, 08:05:43 am »
OK a reinstall did nothing, still the same issues,

Advanced > Configuration > VDR setup still shows Error,setup up VDR by commandline.

The more I look into this I don't know if the DVB-T version of the HDhomerun and VDR work together?

May have to move to mythtv?

Josh
My Setup: On it's way

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR install
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2011, 11:42:30 am »
joshpond,

the HD Homerun works via Ethernet, doesn't it?

There is experiemental support for the HD Homerun for VDR, but not for the VDR version we are using. I did not read that you are using HD Homerun in your first post, otherwise I would have warned you right away.

I suggest using MythTV.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR install
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2011, 03:25:07 pm »
OK a reinstall did nothing, still the same issues,

Advanced > Configuration > VDR setup still shows Error,setup up VDR by commandline.

The more I look into this I don't know if the DVB-T version of the HDhomerun and VDR work together?

May have to move to mythtv?

Josh

Josh,

Yep as Posde says Myth is really your only option right now for HDhomerun support. Its very popular with our installers & I use one at home as do several other guys on our team here - they work excellently in Myth.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk