Author Topic: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help  (Read 3484 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1382
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2011, 10:04:57 am »
I think you should remove the Asrock MD in webadmin (leaving only the core/hybrid, and the other PC you just tested), reboot everything, and try again.

You have to be reeeaaally patient, especially with these small low power boards - they just take longer. If you think it might be stuck, just leave it, go to bed, leave it overnight and check it in the morning. If it's still stuck, give it a reboot only then, and see what happens.

Or, the motherboard is knackered. Try installing a normal Kubuntu desktop on it and see what happens, see if the NIC works, etc (you'll need to find a hard drive for this obviously).

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1382
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2011, 10:07:27 am »
Did you disable WLAN in BIOS like Joakim suggested? Not sure what difference this makes, but he usually knows what he's talking about ;)
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2984
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2011, 10:10:08 am »
A quick note on MD removal. What I do is, change the MAC address entry in the MD i want to rebuild (replace a single character of MAC), and do a quick reload, followed by a reboot. After that, I can reboot the MD in question, and a new structure will be created, with the old one staying in place, in case I want to go back. Works nicely for me.

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2011, 12:39:05 pm »
There is not any MD besides the Core/Hybrid and the one that I successfully PXE booted in the Web Admin. Is there any other place that I can remove it?

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2011, 12:44:13 pm »
I use an Asrock 330 ION as MD; PXE boot works perfectly. Remember to disable the WLAN in the BIOS.


/Joakim

Hello.. I was not able to find any way to dissable the WLAN in Bios. Google did'nt help me either :)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1382
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2011, 01:01:31 pm »
There is not any MD besides the Core/Hybrid and the one that I successfully PXE booted in the Web Admin. Is there any other place that I can remove it?

I thought that when an MD announces itself to the router, it made the MD in web admin?

If there's nothing there, then I would just try again and be very patient.

I would also try the normal kubuntu installation thing just to make sure the hardware is OK.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

JoakimL

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2011, 08:20:59 pm »
Disabling the WiFi is mandatory, it will not work otherways.
Go into BIOS setup (DEL / F2)
Goto Advanced
Choose Chipset Configuration
Second row is Onboard WiFi - set to Disabled


/Joakim