Author Topic: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help  (Read 3817 times)

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« on: March 14, 2011, 10:00:22 am »
I can't find any PXE boot options in my BIOS. And can only choose from booting from CDROM or HDD.

Is there any other way to install a MD than to use a netboot. Or is it possible to netboot this computer? Another nic?


purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 10:15:34 am »
I would be surprised if that board doesn't have PXE. Check there's not an option saying "LAN" or "ROM", just enable anything that looks network related (making a note of what you have done!).

If it really doesn't have PXE boot capabilities, there are other options. You can either buy a NIC that does support it, perhaps using it with a 90 degree riser if you care about MD flatness. Or, you can generate your own network boot image http://www.rom-o-matic.net/. You can use a CD, floppy, or even USB I believe.

Provide a bit more information about your hardware/BIOS as well please.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 10:41:06 am »
In the BIOS, go to
* Advanced
* Chipset Configuration and enable Onboard LAN

After that
* Advanced
* ACPI Configuration
* Onboard LAN power on

JoakimL

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 10:36:43 pm »
I use an Asrock 330 ION as MD; PXE boot works perfectly. Remember to disable the WLAN in the BIOS.


/Joakim

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2011, 10:16:30 am »
Hi all,
could the bios need updating....see wikki   http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_AT3N7A-I

regards
Ian

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2011, 10:22:59 am »
In the BIOS, go to
* Advanced
* Chipset Configuration and enable Onboard LAN

After that
* Advanced
* ACPI Configuration
* Onboard LAN power on


Thank you man, great description, it works

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2011, 10:33:19 am »
The first problem is solved.

This is the next one, added attachment.

The core is just default setup, I reach the core from the internal network, the DHCP server is working, there is no other DHCP server running.

Any idea

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2011, 11:08:57 am »
Did you run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh on your core? It creates the inital boot image for MDs.

best regards,
sambuca

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2011, 11:53:48 am »
I did  it now, and it is pxe booting.

Everything looks good untill it says "we announced ourself to the router", then it runs some scripts and then:

reebooting stopping all md deveices.

Then it reboots and goes into this same loop again.

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2011, 12:00:17 pm »
btw.. Great having this forum, help is really appreiciated

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2011, 12:17:50 pm »
Is it a kernel panic? Did you have to do anything to get the NIC recognized?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2011, 07:34:42 am »
I canĀ“t see any messages about kernel panic. The NIC did work after I just enabled it in BIOS. No additional actions.

It just restarts with the messages quoted earlier.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2011, 10:21:41 am »
Just out of curiosity:

1. Did you interrupt it the first time it announced itself to the router, because it just hung there and didn't seem to be doing anything? Because it was doing things.
2. In web admin under "Media Directors" did it make one (should be two there now, 1st the hybrid, and second the MD)? If not, run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh again.
If so delete it, run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh again, then boot and do not interrupt it.
I never quit... I just ping out.

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2011, 09:36:40 pm »
I did not interupt it and it did not make an ekstra MD.

I run the  /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh command again.. Booted, same thing happens..

Anybody?

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2011, 10:51:57 pm »
The weird thing is.. I just tested with another PC and everything worked fine. So the problem is with the Asrock. Any ideas?