Author Topic: Feedback wanted  (Read 5569 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2011, 01:58:18 pm »
btw, knx over powerline (or RF) is not interoperable between vendors. KNX over TP is the only way to go if you ask me..

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2011, 12:23:03 am »
KNX over Powerline is NOT slow, but it is about 30-50% more expensive than KNX over TP. Also, I do not know of any KNX over Powerline computer gateway that is supported. You can always add a KNX over Powerline to KNX over TP gateway, plus a KNX/IP gateway, but that adds around 600-700EUR to the equation.

If your electrician says you are too far into the building phase, fire him, and get a better electrician.

Kezza

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2011, 01:07:07 am »

If your electrician says you are too far into the building phase, fire him, and get a better electrician.

Agreed, if it's not to late to put extra conduit in the walls it should not be to late to alter wiring to KNX I would have thought (in fact appears to be easier and quicker).... more to the point your electrician probably doesn't know anything about KNX so put in too hard basket?

How far through the build are you? Personally I'd be wanting to have the best system possible if planning to make it my home for a while even if did stall the build a little.

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2011, 09:44:14 am »
KNX over Powerline is NOT slow, but it is about 30-50% more expensive than KNX over TP. Also, I do not know of any KNX over Powerline computer gateway that is supported. You can always add a KNX over Powerline to KNX over TP gateway, plus a KNX/IP gateway, but that adds around 600-700EUR to the equation.

If your electrician says you are too far into the building phase, fire him, and get a better electrician.

I wish I could fire him. But he is "bundled" with the house I'm building. I will do alot of work myself on low-power devieces. And are considering putting out a bus also, and putting pipes for wiring from different places to my technical room. That way, he can do what he have to do, and later I can do what I want to do!

But, I'm working on a solution.

If I'm going to put in the bus mysekf, the walls are not yet closed. You are taking about KNX over TP, TP=Twisted Pair?, is that just networking cable? Is it just to put this cable running allover my house, and make some boxes where i in the future wants some switches or sensors?

And then from my roof dimmers, just a pipe down to the techical room, so that I can dim/switch?


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2011, 11:54:41 am »
If I'm going to put in the bus mysekf, the walls are not yet closed. You are taking about KNX over TP, TP=Twisted Pair?, is that just networking cable? Is it just to put this cable running allover my house, and make some boxes where i in the future wants some switches or sensors?

And then from my roof dimmers, just a pipe down to the techical room, so that I can dim/switch?

It is not regular 4-paired TP CAT cable, but 2 pairs. There is special EIB/KNX cable available. I've paid ~350EUR for 1000m iirc.

Yes, you can very easily lay down the cables yourself, and have the electrician wire all the 230V stuff to your central location. In the central location you put the REG devices onto DIN rails, connect all the REG devices with the sensors in the rooms, and Voila!

I've written a small KNX/EIB Basics article in the wiki for TSCHak, which might be interesting for you as well.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2011, 03:38:19 pm »
it is worth noting that the sensors also go back to the same place as the actors, but the relationship of mapping a sensor to an actor, etc. is all done in the ETS3 software, making KNX probably the most flexible automation solution available.

-Thom

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2011, 04:24:26 pm »
it is worth noting that the sensors also go back to the same place as the actors, but the relationship of mapping a sensor to an actor, etc. is all done in the ETS3 software, making KNX probably the most flexible automation solution available.

-Thom

Hi kvelland,

As Thom says you will need (or at least I'd advise) getting the ETS3 software...or finding a friendly KNX installer who will assist you who has the ETS3 software...you will struggle to configure and setup your KNX devices otherwise. The actual KNX 230V hardware should be installed by a qualified electrician...really it should. The 230V hardware is not DIY! Read Hari's article for sure as that will be a big help to you... also see these articles too;

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/EIB/KNX_with_eibd

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/EIB/KNX_Hardware_Installation

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/EIB/KNX

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/KNX


All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2011, 08:11:18 pm »
ok. So let me get this straight.

Let´s say I have 3 dimmers, and 3*3 spotlights 12v with a trafo to keep it simple :)

In the celing I will put regular power wires from the trafo to the KNX dimmer in the technial room. And from the dimmers on the wall I will put KNX wire from each dimmer on the wall down to the technical room?

I thought I just could put the BUS running between each dimmer on the wall and down to the technical room and to some equipment there.

Sorry my bad understading about this

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #23 on: March 17, 2011, 08:30:36 pm »
ok. So let me get this straight.

Let´s say I have 3 dimmers, and 3*3 spotlights 12v with a trafo to keep it simple :)

In the celing I will put regular power wires from the trafo to the KNX dimmer in the technial room. And from the dimmers on the wall I will put KNX wire from each dimmer on the wall down to the technical room?

I thought I just could put the BUS running between each dimmer on the wall and down to the technical room and to some equipment there.

Sorry my bad understading about this

Each KNX wall switch would be on the bus cable and that would be run down to your 'hub' or technical room where the KNX REG devices are located on the DIN rails. A KNX-IP gateway allows your LinuxMCE system to communicate with your KNX devices.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #24 on: March 18, 2011, 08:13:15 am »
kvelland,

with KNX it is a bit like a thin client architecture in the computer world.

The wall "switches" only act as input devices. Low voltage, sitting on the KNX cable, which can run through your house anyway you want to (except as a ring).

The dimmer (or any other KNX actor), sits centrally in the wiring closet and does the hard work, after receiving a message from the wall "switches" via the KNX cable.

kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #25 on: March 18, 2011, 09:46:31 am »
Thank you both of you.

Tht means that I'm going to have a busy weekend, they are closing the walls on monday :)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #26 on: March 18, 2011, 03:25:12 pm »
Using decentralised (non-REG) actors is possible, too, but they are more expensive
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #27 on: March 18, 2011, 03:51:51 pm »
Is there anything KNX WON'T do? ;) shiatsu? happy ending? :D

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #28 on: March 18, 2011, 11:05:41 pm »
It does not work with out external electricity. That's where EnOcean shines ;)

Randall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Feedback wanted
« Reply #29 on: March 19, 2011, 01:12:45 am »
Does anyone know if knx/eib is sold/standardized in N.America for 120v? Wikipedia lists it as approved under a Canadian standard CSA-ISO/IEC 14543-3 but nobody seems to know anything about it here and I've found no resellers.