Author Topic: WMV file will not play  (Read 1731 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
WMV file will not play
« on: January 14, 2007, 05:53:05 am »
I recently have been testing plutohome to see if it is a viable all in one solution.  I did a fresh install.  I got most everything to work except my remote.  For the heck of it i copied a file named warhammer-markofchaose3trailer.wmv to the videos directory.  This file can be found on the internet.  When i tried playing the file it just goes to a blank screen and then after a few seconds it jumps back to the main plutohome screen.  I launched the file off of the videos button.  I tried another file like it and i got audio but no picture.  Does plutohome support wmv files?  Does it downscale files that are in different resolutions?
Thank you for your time.

-Harq

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
WMV file will not play
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2007, 11:29:08 am »
Hi,

I also spot that Pluto  cannot play mine .wav files or worse Xineplayer hangs on them eating all cpu out...

Regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
WMV file will not play
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2007, 12:48:46 am »
Quote from: "tinia"
Hi,

I also spot that Pluto  cannot play mine .wav files or worse Xineplayer hangs on them eating all cpu out...

Regards,

Rob.


Rob, could you please provide us with the sample of .wav file that causes problems?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
WMV file will not play
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2007, 02:45:23 pm »
i'm playing a file called linguistics_do_you_speak_english.wmv on my system
works fine
also CS2_AutoplayMusic.wav file works fine for me

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
WMV file will not play
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2007, 04:22:30 pm »
the fix is to install the most recent (currently) version of w32 codecs:
wget newbielink:http://www.debian-multimedia.org/pool/main/w/w32codecs/w32codecs_20061022-0.0_i386.deb [nonactive]
dpkg -i w32codecs_20061022-0.0_i386.deb
and then reload router