Author Topic: tv detection  (Read 1273 times)

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
tv detection
« on: March 03, 2011, 06:17:47 pm »
Hi all,
 I've just installed snapshot 23759 on an Asus AT3n7A-1 , with sound and video thru HDMI to a Sharp Aquos, with a 2302 (prolific) usb/232 converter for control.

On previous installations the 2302 has worked transparently and the tv has been PNP.

Now, the system is picking up the 2303 dongle and asking if I want to use it (yes) but no longer auto detects the tv

if I manually add the tv in web admin the system either freezes when reloading the router or persistently
shows the tv as disabled in web admin.

Has anyone experienced anything similar,? and /or can anyone  point me in the right direction,

tia
Ian

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: tv detection
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 06:51:06 pm »
Review templates 1754 and 1920 and remove the offending id (067b2303)

for details
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=11157.15

HTH

Tim

My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 12:08:49 pm »
Hi Tim
many thanks for responding.

I only found the vendorId referenced in EDIT  #1754..zwave /triclestar--removed.....removedthe pl2303 as a device and physically ,reloaded then rebooted (reload only didn't work).

Once back into lmce, I re-inserted the pl2303 which the system detected  (repeatedly,untill)  I assigned the converter as controlled by the core, in web admin

Web admin reports two usb ports in the drop down menu for com port, neither of which bear any resemblance to bus/device id reported in lsusb...........How do I determine which is the correct port?  I did try both,expecting the system to pick up the tv, which it didn't.

The same two ports are later reported in the avwizard,which is triggered by me selecting the Aquos template,  again which port should be used?

also...if I update/upgrade  or update sqlcvs is the problem going to recur ?

sorry for all the questions...bar minor editing of the Aquos template this has always been an automagic
part of the setup

many thanks
Ian
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 03:42:43 pm by maybeoneday »

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 05:25:50 pm »
Update

fresh install
remove tricklestar entry from template 1754
reload router

pl2303 no longer auto detected,but same 2 usbport options available in Aquos template (1856)
tried both options(tho dmesg reports 2303 as being on ttyUSB1)reloading router on each attempt
tried both options rebooting coreon each attempt
RESULT on every occaision  - the aquos template shows the device as registered but disabled

Does anyone have any ideas ?

tia
Ian

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: tv detection
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 07:15:53 pm »
Delete any usb-serial devices in the device tree and do a reload.


HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2011, 07:32:11 pm »
Hi tim,
I've just tried your suggestion....the pl2303 is no longer showing in device tree (it hasn't since I removed the tricklestar) and the Aquos is still showing as disabled & not registered , tho the system did run thro numerous detection scripts

regards
Ian
                               

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2011, 08:51:53 pm »
EDIT  very limited SUCCESS     ;D ;D ;D

1/butchered template 1920 even tho it wasn't showing the vendorDevice ID template,  1754 allready had tricklestar pnp info deleted
2/determined by dmesg which ttyUSB being usedfor the pl2303
3/changed the tv template   (admin->advanced ->config -> device templates) so com port on pc parameter has /dev/ttyUSB1 entered as default value
4/admin->wizard->devices->av  pick template 1856 in my case .... av wizrd kicks in...complete..and yes I have control  ;D ;D ;D........after 2 solid days :'(

hope this helps someone else

many thanks Tim

regards
Ian
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 08:56:40 pm by maybeoneday »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2926
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: tv detection
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2011, 10:29:08 am »
Good for you, that thinks are working for you.

Bad for LinuxMCE that it not auto-detect the LG device. Which should have happened.

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 11:08:54 am »
template 1920 is PLCBus if I am not mistaken.
Something wrong with the pnp script? Hari?

maybeoneday

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: tv detection
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 08:53:58 pm »
Hi all

Is this issue to do with ticket #1009  ?

After playing with system for a while, I shut down, rebooted this morning and tv again disabled......after a fresh install and setting up again as above , system works, but I have noticed the following,

1-reloading router disables tv, necessitating deletion / reloading router /reinstalling
2- web admin times out leaving the X,KEYBOARD,and power button....pressing X takes me back to computing menu, with webadmin on Remote button, pressing which takes me straight back to where I was in web admin ....and then repeats this little game after another 2-3 minutes ...
3-tv detection scripts run but don't pick up the tv if it hasn't yet been reinstalled

obviously this has turned the addition of tv control into a nightmare, especially with the regen times the ion achieves, in fact with the prospect of this palaver everytime the router is reloaded it makes any further setup impractical  (rant over)


Back to the trac ticket question....should this not be escalated as  it will affect any user with usb/serial controlled tv's  see http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=11441.msg79077#msg79077


regards
Ian

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: tv detection
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2011, 06:59:43 pm »
template 1920 is PLCBus if I am not mistaken.
Something wrong with the pnp script? Hari?
the template should not use the usb id...
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation