Author Topic: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu  (Read 1272 times)

lmcearni

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« on: March 01, 2011, 10:09:11 am »
Hello everybody.

At the moment i planing to use lmce for my Homemedia.

I have installed the actuell release an running it with UI1.
But i want to test UI2.

I have a litle Intel Atom Dual Core Board with an intel graphics chip.
On Ubuntu 8.10 I am not able to start a hardware accelarated desktop (GLX not loaded).

So my question is, is there any posibility running lmce on a newer Kubuntu release?

thanks a lot for reply

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 11:34:12 am »
Hello everybody.

At the moment i planing to use lmce for my Homemedia.

I have installed the actuell release an running it with UI1.
But i want to test UI2.

I have a litle Intel Atom Dual Core Board with an intel graphics chip.
On Ubuntu 8.10 I am not able to start a hardware accelarated desktop (GLX not loaded).

So my question is, is there any posibility running lmce on a newer Kubuntu release?

thanks a lot for reply

Hi,

If you search the forum & the wiki you'll see there is an experimental 10:04 effort underway that you could look at testing.

Intel Atom motherboards should pose no problems though.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

lmcearni

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 12:48:36 pm »
Thanks.

Have found it by searching 1004 on the wiki

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2011, 09:21:13 pm »
UI2 works very well on my EeeBox B202 (Atom with Intel graphics) under 1004.

J.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3012
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 09:51:50 am »
phenigma,

is that out of the box with the AV wizard? hybrid or MD?

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 09:16:46 pm »
posde,

MD, works ootb, AVWizard VGA@720P/60Hz, UI2, analog audio (havn't tested spdif).  Intel video drivers are fixed, no NIC driver issues, no crashing, UI2/screensaver are smooth and responsive...  It's very nice when it's running 1004.  I've never installed the B202 as a hybrid but I would spend the time to try it if you're interested in how well it works.

J.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3012
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 10:57:37 pm »
My former test machine was a B202 hybrid for 810, so I know it works.

Thanks for the heads-up for using the Asus B202 as a MD under 1004 out-of-the-box.

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2011, 12:55:43 am »
Your welcome.  :)

J.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: LMCE on newer (K)Ubuntu
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2011, 10:53:10 am »
posde,

MD, works ootb, AVWizard VGA@720P/60Hz, UI2, analog audio (havn't tested spdif).  Intel video drivers are fixed, no NIC driver issues, no crashing, UI2/screensaver are smooth and responsive...  It's very nice when it's running 1004.  I've never installed the B202 as a hybrid but I would spend the time to try it if you're interested in how well it works.

J.

Hi Phenigma,

I use a B202 at home now for my Core - its running Dianemo 10.10 & UI1

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk