Author Topic: Rebuilding MD image causes it to freeze when booted  (Read 4915 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Rebuilding MD image causes it to freeze when booted
« on: February 23, 2011, 11:55:07 am »
Hello all, just tried booting my new ASUS AT3IONT-I (miniITX ION atom effort) and I have the dreaded kernel panic (never had it before).

I am aware that this is usually indicative of an Unrecognised NIC, but I have a ASUS AT3N7A-I (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_AT3N7A-I) which has always worked fine. A "lspci" on the working mobo shows an r8168 NIC, and a "lsmod" shows an r8169 module. The mobo that is "kernel panicking" is also showing an r8168 with a "lspci", and I assume would use the r8169 module also.

My core has the r8169 blacklisted (to get the onboard NIC working) in case it is in any way relevant.

What does this mean? Why does one work and the other does not?

Should I proceed with the standard steps laid out by jondecker76 here http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10058.15 Do these instructions have the potential to mess up my existing (functioning) MD?

Or is there something to be said about the BIOS update alert here http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_AT3N7A-I#BIOS_Update_Alert (NOTE: this is the exact mobo I have that is working, I just wondered if I am suffering from an equivalent BIOS problem on the new mobo).

Cheers,
Matt.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 01:15:20 am by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
Re: ASUS AT3IONT-I kernel panic - r8168/r8169 shenanigans?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 08:42:52 am »
Hi Matt,

How is your installation with this board coming along, made any progress?
Been thinking about getting this board myself, because its complete fanless.

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: ASUS AT3IONT-I kernel panic - r8168/r8169 shenanigans?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 09:07:25 pm »
Managed to get past the first kernel panic with jondecker76's instructions (thank you), enabling the MD to announce itself to the router.

At this point I set vdpau in web admin, then rebuild the image.

But after I have followed the rest of the instructions, and rebooted the MD, it just freezes on the Kubuntu loading screen; completely locked up.

FYI I have tried it without setting vdpau in web admin, following jondecker76's instructions in their entirety, and it has worked.

Anybody know how to get it working with vdpau? Is there a better way to set it?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
Re: ASUS AT3IONT-I kernel panic - r8168/r8169 shenanigans?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 09:28:05 pm »
hi Matt,

i did read in the forum that the devs did disable vpdau and will put it back in,
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10690.msg73640#msg73640
i do not know if they put it back in, hope this helps you,

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Setting vdpau stops ASUS AT3IONT-I from booting (kernel panic now SOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 10:30:26 pm »
My other ASUS board (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_AT3N7A-I) seems to work fine, installed from fresh, NIC works OOTB, rebuilt the image with vdpau, all is well.

The new AT3IONT-I still freezes on the Kubuntu loading screen, after I have rebuilt the image with "vdpau" OR "auto". It works with "xv" once the unrecognised NIC is sorted out.

Why does vdpau work on one MD, and not the other? The hardware is sooooo similar, only difference was that one had an unrecognised NIC.

Cheers,
Matt.



1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
Re: Setting vdpau stops ASUS AT3IONT-I from booting (kernel panic now SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2011, 12:01:26 am »
Matt,

I am no expert, but i did read in jondecker76's instructions that you need to recreate the ramdisk of your md.
maybe in that process, something did not include vpdau?
again, i am no expert, just trying to help by giving different options to investigate.

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Setting vdpau stops ASUS AT3IONT-I from booting (kernel panic now SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2011, 12:12:18 am »
I have just noticed that if I change it back to "xv" having tried "vdpau" and/or "auto", it doesn't work, so the problem CAN'T be with vdpau specifically.

Maybe, as you suggested Raymond, something is f**king up during the image rebuild. Any ideas anyone?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Just thought, my other MD works with vdpau, and obviously that image was rebuilt.

The problem must be due to a combination of what I did to sort the NIC out, AND the rebuilding of the image.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Matt.

EDIT: Thoroughly confused. Deleted MD, started again, announces itself to router, kernel panic as expected, switched off, rebuilt image with "vdpau", and it freezes up at THIS stage. I haven't even done the r8168 module installation at this point.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 01:18:47 am by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Rebuilding MD image causes it to freeze when booted
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2011, 01:42:17 am »
Update:

Deleted MD, started again, announces itself to router, kernel panic as expected, switched off, rebuilt image with "vdpau", and it freezes up at this stage. THEN I run..

Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh
...and it stops freezing, and I get to the kernel panic again, which is good.

But then I carry out the remaining steps for the unrecognised NIC (second half of jondecker76's explanation here http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10058.15) and then it freezes again!!!! Something to do with the...

Code: [Select]
cd /usr/pluto/diskless/
chroot <MD#>
depmod
cd /boot
mkinitramfs -o initrd.img-`uname -r` `uname -r`
exit

..part perhaps?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Rebuilding MD image causes it to freeze when booted
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2011, 10:04:32 pm »
OK, one fresh installation later, and it is doing the same thing  >:(

The KDE loading bar (the back and forth one) still freezes and MD locks up. If done soon enough, tty6 (or tty7) reveals there is still a kernel panic, but I believe the r8168 to be in the right place and everything. Tried older r8168 driver also. Followed...
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10058.15

I had this working using (what I think is) the same method not too long ago, but even with a fresh installation I cannot get it to play ball. I must be missing something.

This is the ASUS AT3IONT-I by the way if anybody has it.

Cheers,
Purps.

EDIT: Hmm, got it working using http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6806.0

As per instructions, I created MD in web admin, entered MAC address. Then (because I have the r8168 driver where I want it from POV of the core) I skipped to...
Code: [Select]
cp /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/kernel/drivers/net/r8168.ko /usr/pluto/diskless/<moon #>/lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/kernel/drivers/net
vi /usr/pluto/diskless/<moon #>/etc/initramfs-tools/modules
added r8168 and saved
cd /usr/pluto/diskless
chroot <moon #>
depmod -a /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/kernel/drivers/net/r8168.ko
cd /boot
update-initramfs -uv
(scrolled up to verify the new module was added it was at the top of the output)
for S and G's ran depmod -a again
exit out of the chroot

...and it worked. These instructions are all very similar to jonderker76's, so was it creating the MD web admin that made the difference?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 01:03:11 am by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Rebuilding MD image causes it to freeze when booted
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2011, 11:05:07 am »
OK, so creating the MD manually in web admin isn't necessary. Once the MD has announced itself in the normal manner (following the unrecognized NIC wiki), seth's steps listed above work (thank you seth).

There is however still some problem accessing HDD on core (permissions messed up, nothing in /mnt). Will start a new thread.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: ASUS AT3IONT-I kernel panic - r8168/r8169 shenanigans?
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2011, 05:28:39 pm »
Hi Matt,

How is your installation with this board coming along, made any progress?
Been thinking about getting this board myself, because its complete fanless.

br,
Raymond

Just thought I'd report back about this board now that I have lived with it for a few weeks. It's still working well, and am pleased to report it's not getting too hot. Silence is golden.

FYI I am using this with the Jetway JC200 case http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=3#jc200 which I think is great. Using the PSU that came with it as well.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps