Author Topic: Snapshot not working  (Read 994 times)

urville

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Snapshot not working
« on: February 14, 2011, 07:39:40 pm »
I downloaded the most recent snapshot Feb something,  from the link in the Wiki. i choose Install linuxMCE, and what i get is just Kubuntu 8.10, on the desktop is a LinuxMCE icon which i attemted to use to install, it begins running the script,  about 1/3 in to filling the screen with its duites it gives me a popup error message that a kde sudo command was not valid and continues to work, but gets to downloading some themes and it just sits there. Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but I assumed it would begin the MCE install automatically for one. not an issue to do it myself but that doesnt seem to be working either.  As far as i can tell the Website has said they are moving the file for... ages... and that snapshots are all there are. That trend doesnt seem to be changing soon.

I'm at a loss... i was thinking of just trying the install from a terminal but.. I'm still roughly new to Linux. I suppose this noobtastic to post, but i just cant seemt o figure out what i am doing wrong.

MDH1966

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Snapshot not working
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 08:14:18 pm »
Did you follow the wiki for the 0810 install?

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_0810

I only ask because the installation process you posted seems to be missing some steps. Also, it can take a while for this process to complete. Sometimes it seems like it may be stuck, but it's really not.  The installtion time can vary greatly depending on your internet speed.

Let me know if any of this helps.

<M>

urville

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Snapshot not working
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 11:54:15 pm »
oh man... I was following a completely different set of install instructions... weird!!!

I will post back this evening

jman7

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Snapshot not working (suggested minor fixes)
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2011, 01:47:13 am »
Hi all,

I don't know if these have been fixed already, but it appears that in
a recent snapshot (11-Feb-2011, LinuxMCE-8.10-23739-i386.iso) there are a
couple of minor script errors/typos:

-------------------
/root/new-installer/mce-install-preseed.sh

Last line:
  db fset "msttcorefonts/present-mscorefonts-eula" seen true
Probably should be:
  db_fset "msttcorefonts/present-mscorefonts-eula" seen true

This causes a "KdeSudo not found" message when running the installer.
-------------------

-------------------
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_Setup.sh

 in the function "setup_tftp_boot", there are 4 instances where
 $DeviceID is used, where it should be $Moon_DeviceID:

 for File in /usr/pluto/diskless/"$DeviceID"/boot/vmlinuz-*; do

 Initrd=/usr/pluto/diskless/"$DeviceID"/boot/initrd.img-"$Kver"

 chroot /usr/pluto/diskless/"$DeviceID" depmod "$Kver"

 chroot /usr/pluto/diskless/"$DeviceID" update-initramfs -k "$Kver" -u
 

This causes misc. issues when setting up diskless MDs. 
(at least for me it did).
-------------------


Thanks again for supporting LMCE!  :-)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2931
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Snapshot not working
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2011, 08:36:01 am »
jman7,

thanks a lot for your finds.

I did change mce-install-preseed.sh, but can't find the errors in Diskless_Setup.sh - We do not have any $DeviceID in there, that I can find.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 08:45:52 am by posde »

Foxi352

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Snapshot not working
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 09:00:26 am »
$DeviceID was already fixed by Uplink ...