Author Topic: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused  (Read 1617 times)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« on: February 04, 2011, 07:01:38 am »
Hi
If anybody has some spare time to assist me with making and understanding device templates I would be much appreciated Tschakeee2 has been really helpful on the IRC but I feel it's taking up too much valuable time, so if anybody has a couple spare hours up there sleeve and would like to help me I would be very grateful, I have some knowledge when it comes to command line and I just need to understand the concept of devices and how the structure is put together. I am great at visio so I could put together an overall diagram of the internals of Linuxmce if someone can assist with corrections along the way

Best Regards
Beeker
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 09:44:38 pm by Beeker »

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 09:46:11 pm »
Should clarify trying to creates a device template to control my Panasonic Plasma which has RS232

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2971
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 10:41:15 am »
Take a look at the Pioneer Kuro 5080 template. Maybe it clicks, when you see it.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2011, 10:59:27 am »
thanks posde will have a look at it

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2011, 11:06:56 am »
Posde
checked under Pioneer with the filter and could not find that template

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2971
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2011, 11:22:56 am »
It is stored under the name Kuro Plasma

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2011, 11:57:36 am »
Thanks Posde found it will give it a go and let you know how it goes looks easy enough, will start crossing fingers and toes

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2011, 05:08:08 am »
I have a working RS-232 device template for my Panasonic Plasma TV.  I'll be happy to post what I've got and try to help you out.

J.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2011, 05:10:08 am »
Thanks that would be fantastic much appreciated, I have been up for three days now trying to get it to work

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2011, 05:28:04 am »
The first steps in a nutshell: 
Add a new a/v device under A/V equipment, choose Panasonic for manufacturer, and TVs/Plasma/etc.. for category then 'Add device template'.  Give it a name and choose RS-232.  You can leave most of the remaining settings as defaults (I'll get you specifics for timings when I get to my core tomorrow), select all the inputs you have on the tv when prompted, set the # of times to repeat commands to 0 (not actually certain if this affects GSD or just IR devices).  You'll have to enter the name for a new IR group and select "add ir group".  When the device template displays select the "Ruby Internal Commands" and choose Update, this will add the required internal ruby commands that will interact with the GSD device and dcerouter.  Next comes filling in the commands.

I'm on a test machine right now so I'll have to grab the GSD code from my core tomorrow and post it.  It'd be nice to have someone else test it out, then I could submit it to sqlCVS.

J.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2011, 05:30:28 am »
Thanks happy to help out I will await the info and test and let you know how it goes 

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2011, 05:32:21 am »
Would you be able to post a couple of screenshots of the template screens when you are back on your core so as I can make sure I am doing the same as you

Thanks again

BR
Beeker

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2011, 05:46:39 am »
Screenshots are doable.  :)  The hardest part I had getting my Panasonic Plasma to respond was the serial cable, it was a little non-standard.  It required a straight through cable with a female connector on both ends.  Most F-F serial cables are null-modem, which didn't work.  I ended up using a straight through M-F cable with a gender bender adaptor and tested control using minicom before lmce.

J.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2011, 05:50:05 am »
I have a list of older Panasonic Plasma RS232 codes and they work from my laptop so I know they work and yes I normally make up my own RS232 custom cables, it just getting the same codes working out lmce that is giving me issues

Cheers
Beeker

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: Creating RS232 Panasonic Plasma Device Template - confused
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2011, 08:57:10 pm »
Okay, here's two screenshots, one of the device on the a/v equipment page and one of the details on the edit IR codes page.  I've also attached a .txt file which contains all the Ruby code for each of the commands.  These are all the basic commands, my TV doesn't implement things like PIP, so I havn't included those commands.  For reference my TV model is: TC-P50VT25.  Additional codes are easy to implement.

J.