Author Topic: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused  (Read 7167 times)

gurumaia

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #30 on: February 09, 2011, 07:33:21 pm »
A little bit different, but if all you want is background music what you have picked should be fine. Not running LMCe at work but run these ceiling speakers
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=AX3550&keywords=ceiling+speaker&form=KEYWORD
with this amp
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=AA0472&keywords=power+amplifier&form=KEYWORD

They won't ship overseas but probably similar to what you are looking at and it all works fine so I think a lower powered amp and cheap speakers do work fine.

Josh

Good, so I guess even these cheap amps will be okay for now.
Now I only have to settle on speakers. Since they are a little bulky I might try to buy them here, to avoid the high shipping rates. Can anyone recommend some okay brands? I would like to spend a little more money on the speakers, so that I don't have to exchange them when I switch to better amps.

Thanks a lot for the help! I hope my LinuxMCE system proves to be as good as I'm imagining!

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2011, 02:54:51 pm »
Got one of the branded 7.1 usb soundcards from ebay when I read this thread ....

Problem is, it is listed in lsusb as :
C-Media Electronics, Inc. Audio Adapter

... but not listed using:
squeezeslave -L

Any suggestions?
Barney

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2011, 04:47:15 pm »
Got one of the branded 7.1 usb soundcards from ebay when I read this thread ....

Problem is, it is listed in lsusb as :
C-Media Electronics, Inc. Audio Adapter

... but not listed using:
squeezeslave -L

Any suggestions?
Barney

Can you post the output of lsusb and also of dmsg too.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2011, 05:08:23 pm »
did you execute cmds after sudo?

-Coley.

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2011, 07:07:41 pm »
@Coley, Yes, all done with 'sudo -s'.

@totallymaxed, thanks Andrew:
lsusb
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:~# lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 0c16:0002 Gyration, Inc.
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d8c:000c C-Media Electronics, Inc. Audio Adapter
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x Composite Device
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0403:f850 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
dmesg output looks big. Should I filter with grep?
If I use:
dmesg | grep -i usb
There is no output.
Regards
Barney

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2011, 07:12:47 pm »
its there alright.
what is the output from "aplay -l"

-Coley.

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #36 on: February 12, 2011, 07:19:08 pm »
Not there!
aplay -l
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:~# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #37 on: February 12, 2011, 09:54:27 pm »
had a lot of problem getting squeezeslave to see these cmedia usb audio cards and talked to the squeezeslave developer about it.
In the end i never really got it working with a Cmedia and bought some other brands that did show up.

What version of squeezeslave are you using? you could try to update to the latest and see if it gets detected now. There were some issues with the stream or something, can't really remember, the developer might have fixed it.

Richard

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2011, 10:58:12 pm »
Hi Richard,

Yeah, I saw your thread too. Thanks for the info. Didn't realise we shared the same hardware.

Might have to find the hardware Andrew recommends.

Installed using apt-get install squeezeslave.
Regards
Barney

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2011, 11:06:16 pm »
Found it:
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:~# dpkg -l | grep squeezeslave
ii  squeezeslave                               0.9-133-svn172   

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2011, 11:56:35 pm »
yes, that's an old version from march last year, try to build it yourself and see if these devices are detected better.
Looks like they are at 1.0 r210

http://code.google.com/p/squeezeslave/downloads/list

I will look at this when i get back home sunday, i don't have access to my system atm.

Richard

P.S. squeezeslave -v should give you the version

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #41 on: February 13, 2011, 11:35:37 pm »
Tried latest build but the device is still not listed.

I have ordered the model recommended by totallymaxed.
Thanks for the help.
Barney

gurumaia

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #42 on: February 14, 2011, 11:50:03 am »
Tried latest build but the device is still not listed.

I have ordered the model recommended by totallymaxed.
Thanks for the help.
Barney

Hey barney, sorry to see you're having trouble with it. Did you buy the one I linked a few replies back? And which one did you buy now?

On a related topic, maybe we should start building an HCL (or is there already one? I couldn't find it on the wiki). It should help us avoid these issues in the future.

Thanks!

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #43 on: February 14, 2011, 10:05:06 pm »
Got this one from ebay.co.uk:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180614238216

This DOES NOT work (see the previous comments).

*** UPDATE***
Now working. Downgraded alsa and it works perfectly.

There are a lot of similar branded items and it is hard to distinguish between them so an HCL might prove difficult.

I think it is a good idea to create an HCL if the product is easily identifiable.
Barney
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 01:08:12 am by b4rney »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Multi-room Audio - a tad confused
« Reply #44 on: February 14, 2011, 10:46:40 pm »
Got this one from ebay.co.uk:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180614238216

This DOES NOT work (see the previous comments). There are a lot of similar branded items and it is hard to distinguish between them so an HCL might prove difficult.

I think it is a good idea to create an HCL if the product is easily identifiable.
Barney

Hi Barney,

Below is the output from lsusb & aplay on a Dianemo 10.10 system for a C-Media USB Audio Card from Startech (basically the same chip as the unit you purchased on eBay...your unit is an 'up-market' model in fact!) I have attached a picture of this card manufactured by Startech below - this unit is detected correctly and functions well with Squeezeslave;

Quote
lsandrew@andrew-desktop:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 024: ID 0d8c:000c C-Media Electronics, Inc. Audio Adapter
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0458:0007 KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems)
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 1241:1503 Belkin Keyboard
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0fce:d11a Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
andrew@andrew-desktop:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: default [C-Media USB Headphone Set  ], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

« Last Edit: February 14, 2011, 11:09:09 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk