Author Topic: No files in Pluto folder?  (Read 1212 times)

yrucrem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
No files in Pluto folder?
« on: February 06, 2011, 04:45:46 pm »
Hi!

I've been trying to setup a hybrid LinuxMCE but cannot setup an MD properly. Over the weekend I tried to make a new setup by following the instructions here including the source list. There were some slight glitches but found the solutions online also and was able to finally complete this with no more errors:

Quote
sudo su - #This might ask for the password you specified earlier during the install of kubuntu.
apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
wget -c http :// deb . linuxmce . org/ubuntu/new-installer-latest.tar.gz
tar xvf new-installer-latest.tar.gz
cd new-installer
./pre-install-from-repo.sh
./mce-install.sh
./post-install.sh
reboot

After reboot, however, I expected to see the AVWizard but I only got the command line login instead and a message saying

kinit: trying to resume from /dev/disk/by-uuid/a13c3a08-1a11-47bd-984e-2a11edb72156
kinit: No resume image, doing normal boot...

I tried to run the AVWizard file from the instructions online and got surprised there's no such file. I took a look at the pluto folder and saw that it only contained a /deb-cache folder. It's supposed to contain the /bin folder and other stuff, right? Right now I'm seeing only /deb-cache with a lot of *.deb files.

I have no idea what to do with this. Any idea what went wrong and how I can remedy them?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 06, 2011, 04:51:45 pm by yrucrem »

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2011, 06:08:13 pm »
I think you do not have your terminology correct.

You are installing 1 pc as a core that will be also used as an MD = Hybrid?
Am I correct?
Because setting up just an MD, with a working core/hybrid goes differently.

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2011, 06:24:47 pm »
yrucrem why don't you just download a snapshot and install.

The problem is that you are using the wrong installer file, i can't find the right location at the moment, but will when i get home today.

Richard

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2011, 06:54:49 pm »
Check this page
and dvd installation
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_0810

yrucrem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2011, 04:42:21 am »
bongowongo and rperre thanks for the replies.

That was my first setup. Got the core running but fails in the MD. I remembered there were quite a number of warnings during the setup for that one so I decided to do another setup based on the instructions given posted in that wiki page you gave. I used a newer snapshot than the one I previously used. In the first try I used the LinuxMCE desktop shortcut to install but got a lot of problems. Next setup try I used the pre-install-from-repo, mce-install and post-install codes. Everything seemed ok but after reboot found out the pluto folder only contained deb-cache.

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2011, 09:51:51 pm »
ok, let's get the words right this time

An install of lmce should go as follows

You first install your core/hybrid by installing from a snapshot dvd OR using the install scripts
When this all works (the core/hybrid has it's own build in md if that's what you mean, nothing extra to install)
run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh and let it finish
Now you can boot an extra md through PXE boot

Again, if you want to do the internet install for the core/hybrid, you used the wrong install scripts, follow bongowongo's link for the right one's.

I still recommend a snapshot though.

Richard

yrucrem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: No files in Pluto folder?
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2011, 07:01:32 am »
Ok. Thanks for clarifying, rperre!

I used my downloaded dvd snapshot again and followed the DVD installation now. But when I ran the LinuxMCE desktop button most seemed ok except for the following:

Quote
Get:51 http://old-releases.ubuntu.com intrepid/main libgnomevfs2-0 1:2.24.0-0ubuntu1 [264kB]               
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 pluto-plutoutils 2.0.0.44.10122723559                           
  The HTTP server sent an invalid Content-Range header                                                     
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 pluto-serializeclass 2.0.0.44.10122723559                       
  Bad header line                                                                                           
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 pluto-dcecommon 2.0.0.44.10122723559                             
  Bad header line                                                                                           
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 pluto-pluto-main-db 2.0.0.44.10122723559                         
  Bad header line                                                                                           
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 pluto-add-software 2.0.0.44.10122723559                         
  Bad header line                                                                                           
Err http://deb.linuxmce.org intrepid/beta2 lshwd 2.0-rc4-1pluto14                                           
  Bad header line                                                                                           
Get:52 http://old-releases.ubuntu.com intrepid/main libgnome2-common 2.24.1-0ubuntu4 [340kB]   

Are these important files?
And also my installation is now stuck in:

Quote
make KERNELRELEASE=2.6.27-7-generic..............................................


How do I solve these?

Thanks!