Author Topic: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window  (Read 685 times)

tmwillett

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« on: January 28, 2011, 03:20:03 am »
First off, thanks for such a great solution.  I've played with LinuxMCE off and on for a while, but I am now working on my first true build to be used in our home.  I ran into a problem when I tried to launch a game using the new MAME option.  I was able to select and install the Game scenario, and also downloaded and installed a ROM for the game 1942.  It shows up on my Orbiter screen, but when I select Play, it pops a few black screens and then goes back to the Orbiter screen.  I've tried it on both my Core/Hybrid and a separate Media Director.  The log in /var/log/pluto/57_Game_Player.log shows the error "Couldn't find MAME window <0xb6768b90>".  Any ideas where to start on this one??

Here's the log data:


== ATTEMPT FRESH START ==
1       01/27/11 20:11:16       Spawn_Device.sh 57 (spawning-device)    21013 Dev: 57; Already Running list: 15,16,18,19,27,28,21,22,26,23,30,
== FRESH START ==
1       01/27/11 20:11:16       Spawn_Device.sh 57 (spawning-device)    device: 57 ip: 127.0.0.1 cmd_line: Game_Player
0       01/27/11 20:11:16       57 (spawning-device)    Entering 57
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       01/27/11 20:11:16       57 (spawning-device)    Starting... 1
1       01/27/11 20:11:16       57 (spawning-device)    Found ./Game_Player
01      01/27/11 20:13:29.729           Couldn't find MAME Window <0xb678eb90>

Any help is greatly appreciated.  I really want this to work..

Thanks in advance

-Tracy


tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 05:09:43 am »
I'm the developer of the plugin/player. Is anyone else experiencing this problem? I can't reproduce.

-Thom

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2011, 12:37:53 pm »
Just to confirm,

Recently installed Mame Game player to my core to, But no problems found. My games are working.

Karel

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2011, 09:32:17 pm »
Thom,

It may be his ROM. I think I downloaded a version of 1942 from one site. It didn't work. Went a pulled it from a different site and everything was fine. I had this happen with quite a few ROMS

tmwillett

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2011, 12:18:59 am »
I did try others, and had the same issue.  Since you mentioned it as a possible problem, I went to a different ROM website, and I was able to download and run Centipede on the Media Director.  Now I just need a tracball.   ;D  At least I know it works (not that I doubted you guys).

Thanks for the help. 

-Tracy

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: MAME Error: Couldn't find MAME Window
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2011, 01:17:32 am »
Oh, you're talking about mame just quitting after it loads the ROM. I see...

Sorry, Yes, this can happen, when the checksum that MAME does not match what is in the ROM. The best advice is to match the version of MAME with the rom set. I am sorry, my tongue is tied on that and can't be more specific.

-Thom