Author Topic: Y-Cam Camera  (Read 5306 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #30 on: February 03, 2011, 02:29:35 pm »
Right, I have learnt that the proper procedure (after following the instructions posted by possy) is to create a trac ticket with the sqlCVS Batch IDs. Find out what these are by going to http://schema.linuxmce.org/sqlCVS/?site=batch/view and looking in dce and ir.

Matt, I have now added a trac ticket or twelve (my apologies again chaps!) for this template, so let's see what happens.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #31 on: February 03, 2011, 08:47:46 pm »
Cool, I'll wait until I can get template 2163.  There's no mega rush at the moment, as I'm moving house this weekend and it'll take a few days to get everything connected back together and running.  I have a whole load of Z-wave devices that will probably keep me busy for the next week or so too....lol.  Might need to find a bigger server to host this forum.  ;D
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #32 on: February 18, 2011, 10:06:08 pm »
I'm revisiting this again as I'm now keen to get the camera working.  I've just checked and template 2163 is now there, however its for something else entirely (a HDMI-CEC interface)

The only device template for Y-CAM is 2156 which is for a Cine 2 capture card??!!

Is it possible that a couple of new templates have gotten mixed up along the way somewhere?

I did have some success with an old webcam though, it wouldn't work on any windows version newer than XP, but added it in MOTION as per the wiki and it worked straight away. Result!

Now back to the IP camera....
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #33 on: February 20, 2011, 08:33:44 pm »
Probably my fault, I added it in two stages as I didn't do it properly the first time, and it's probably gotten all messed up somehow. Could somebody clever please confirm?

FYI on my set up there is only one device for the manufacturer "Y-Cam" and it is for the camera obviously, with template number 2163.

If all else fails I'll start over.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #34 on: February 23, 2011, 10:22:38 am »
Success! ;D

After my success with the webcam I tried adding the Y-CAM IP camera as a child device of 'Motion' too (using the generic IP camera template), and after setting the path in the template as suggested by cht_winston it started working.  Now I'm not sure what has changed, as I tried this last week and never got a picture, but as of last night it was working a treat.  It needed a core restart to get it to work properly, perhaps thats what was missing last time I tried it, but I'm happy to say that its functional.  I also tried to add it as a child of the core without motion, but this still didn't work.  Don't know why.

Matt.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #35 on: February 23, 2011, 11:11:52 am »
Hi Matt,

Glad it's working for you. Obviously the template that I did wasn't designed to add the camera as a motion device, only as a standalone viewer. Which is your preference in this case, motion or viewer?

When you say you tried to add it as a child of the core, which template were you using for that?

You'll often find that sometimes things need a reset or two, doesn't hurt to reset the cameras themselves also.

I would be interested to know what the camera is like to live with and how reliable it is, whether it's worth the money, etc - I am currently in the market for an outdoor IP camera and saw a Y-Cam somewhere.

Cheers,
Matt.

1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #36 on: February 23, 2011, 03:57:25 pm »
Hi Matt,

When I tried to add the camera as a direct child of the core I had to choose the generic IP camera template, as there still isn't one for the Y-CAM in the list.  I'm not sure whatever happened to the template you created, but its not on my list.  I'd have preferred to just use the camera without motion, as it already has motion detection software built in, but I was just glad to get it working so its staying as it is for now.  I am going to have to adjust the refresh rate I think, as I am used to viewing it as a camera, not as a series of stills(I know its the same thing, but when you view it from a browser it refreshes itself seemlessly)

I've had mine for 18 months now, and its been faultless.  The only slight gripe is that it uses an activeX script to refresh with a browser, and my old mobile phone couldn't function with this so I couldn't view it on my phone over the home wifi.  Still it works great on the IPad, and now with MCE too.  I like the fact that you can log into it too, mine's always been in the boy's bedroom, so I could see him when I'm working overseas.  This should still work unless the router on the core fails.

Recommended.

Matt.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #37 on: February 23, 2011, 04:26:28 pm »
For a standalone viewer I would try using the Panasonic one (that's what I used for the template), add it manually and change the path, password etc to match your Y-Cam settings. Once you get that working we can make a template in confidence.

You know that motion in LMCE not only records motion, but also detects motion, essentially turning the camera into a motion sensor for the alarm system right? Or it can switch on lights, whatever you want!

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #38 on: April 14, 2011, 04:16:44 pm »
For anybody using a Y-Cam device, I have just resubmitted a new template. Username and password still need to be entered manually in web admin though, sorry :(

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #39 on: April 14, 2011, 05:55:01 pm »
purps,

I assume you entered trac ticket 1064. Is your email address really abc@gmail.com? We use the email address to contact people sometimes, to verify trac tickets. It would help if the correct email address is used.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #40 on: April 18, 2011, 10:52:20 am »
Yes, that is the trac ticket, and no, that is not the correct email address. I used that email address as an experiment as I can never submit tickets without getting the spam thing, and it worked first time. I swear that in the past I have used my genuine email address and it's not worked.

I will try my real email address again in the future.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #41 on: May 04, 2011, 10:43:38 pm »
The path to the jpeg image stream is /stream.jpg:account:password

Obviously replacing account and password for your own. We have used a few of the Y-cam models and that path has been valid for all of them.

Hmm, my template doesn't work, so back to the drawing board.

Code: [Select]
http://192.168.80.XXX/stream.jpg:admin:password does not work in a browser for me.

Code: [Select]
http://admin:password@192.168.80.XXX/stream.jpg does work (in a browser), but I cannot put this into web admin (invalid IP).

Any suggestions? Just looking to get this set up as a viewer, not interested in motion.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #42 on: May 04, 2011, 10:46:17 pm »
If the Y-Cam template was based on the Panasonic template, then there is code in there to do BASIC authentication with the username and password, which is essentially what you are doing with that URL.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #43 on: May 04, 2011, 11:00:15 pm »
Sorry, should have mentioned, yes it was based on the Panasonic template.

I also should have mentioned that initially I tried the username and password in the AuthUser and AuthPassword fields respectively, but it did not work (hence frigging about with the username/password in the path/IP, just to see what's going on).

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Y-Cam Camera
« Reply #44 on: May 05, 2011, 11:16:38 am »
Well I finally got the camera working under ZoneMinder, had to increase shared memory. Was hoping that it would then start working under LMCE...... but no  :(

Don't understand why it worked under motion, but not under the Core as a viewer.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 03:01:58 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps