Author Topic: Gyration Remote keys all wacky  (Read 3380 times)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« on: January 26, 2011, 03:32:09 am »
Thought it was worth starting a fresh post is anybody expericing or have a solution to the issue with the current snapshots screwing up the Gyration remote, just about all the keys don't work anymore.

I have modified xorg.conf with adding the following as suggested by tkmedia and TSCHAKeee2 but still no luck

          Section "ServerFlags"
      Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
      EndSection

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 06:05:44 am »
I had the same, even after reload and regen I had no luck.... a reboot solved the issue- now everything is working as before.  This is on a 810 snapshot from around the middle of January, 2011.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 06:09:06 am »
Thanks
I am reluctant to scrap this snapshot as nearly all working now apart this........lost count of the reboots. In the end I might have to oh well another couple of long nights coming and 3.5gb off the isp quota..............

br
Beeker

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 04:13:11 pm »
Beeker, if your system is working normally a new snapshot install i really not necessary, just do a apt-get update, upgrade for the latest packages.

Also maybe do an sqlcvs update as it's possibile somebody already fixed/or made changes to the template.

You can then also try to remove the gyration from webadmin and have it redetected.

Richard




Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 04:20:30 pm »
Quote
Beeker, if your system is working normally a new snapshot install i really not necessary, just do a apt-get update, upgrade for the latest packages.

Also maybe do an sqlcvs update as it's possibile somebody already fixed/or made changes to the template.

You can then also try to remove the gyration from webadmin and have it redetected.

Hi Richard,
Thanks for the tips......I tried the update and upgrade though I haven't tried the sqlcvs so I will give that ago and see what happens.........I did remove it and it found the correct device again but the commands were still all screwed up.

I with you don't really want to go through all that again as I now have the Foxconn working as a md and got the RAID back so it's really only the remote to fix

Cheers
Beeker

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 04:51:03 am »
Oops- guess I wasn't clear.  I literally just went to "advanced options", "restart the core/hybrid" and after the core rebooted (same process got my MDs working as well) my gyration remotes were working.

FWIW

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2011, 10:39:38 am »
I have the gyration music remote, the one with the little lcd screen at the top, it works fine apart from the windows button.  This doesn't bring up the main menu like it does with the windowsMCE remote.  Does anybody else have a gyration remote where the windows button works, is there a fix for this, or is it just mine?  Its a real problem when my media freezes and I have to go find a keyboard to plug in to get the menu up so that I can switch the media off.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2011, 04:40:31 am »
What I had to do to fix this was edit my xorg.conf file under "Server Flags" to add.

Option "AutoAddDevices" "false"
I never quit... I just ping out.

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 02:43:35 pm »
Yahoo!!!    That fixed my gyration buttons issues too!!!

Dennis

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2011, 08:14:42 pm »
Just checked my xorg.conf file and that line appears at least a dozen times.  I've never added it myself, so something has already added it for me....multiple times.  Still can't use the windows button though.  The others all work fine.  Strange.  Will try deleting the AutoAddDevices false lines and leave it in just once, but don't expect it will help.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2011, 07:33:05 pm »
Beeker, I'll pile on to say that my experience matches yours. Multiple occurances of "AutoAddDevices" "False" and the remote does not function.

John
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2011, 07:34:57 pm »
Please, if you have the music remote, can you please run xev (after exporting DISPLAY=:0), and give me the output of xev when you press the windows key?

-Thom

I have the gyration music remote, the one with the little lcd screen at the top, it works fine apart from the windows button.  This doesn't bring up the main menu like it does with the windowsMCE remote.  Does anybody else have a gyration remote where the windows button works, is there a fix for this, or is it just mine?  Its a real problem when my media freezes and I have to go find a keyboard to plug in to get the menu up so that I can switch the media off.

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2011, 06:48:05 am »
granted i don't have the music remote, i have a 3101 gyration.

The "green" button gives me the following in xev. Not sure if the first one was me doing it wrong or it actually gave it a 30 the first time, this is possible if the screensaver was active i'm guessing.
Pressed the button 3 times, same thing over and over.

Code: [Select]
KeyPress event, serial 30, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187660578, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XmbLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyRelease event, serial 33, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187660649, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyPress event, serial 33, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187661609, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XmbLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyRelease event, serial 33, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187661665, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyPress event, serial 33, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187662657, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XmbLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyRelease event, serial 33, synthetic NO, window 0x2200001,
    root 0x15d, subw 0x0, time 187662769, (422,439), root:(973,719),
    state 0x0, keycode 110 (keysym 0xff50, Home), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

When i play video, the green button will actually pause/play the media

None of the top buttons work (play, stop, pause, rew, wnd, etc...)

Richard

esev

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Eric Severance
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2011, 07:47:47 pm »
I have the gyration music remote, the one with the little lcd screen at the top, it works fine apart from the windows button.  This doesn't bring up the main menu like it does with the windowsMCE remote.  Does anybody else have a gyration remote where the windows button works, is there a fix for this, or is it just mine?  Its a real problem when my media freezes and I have to go find a keyboard to plug in to get the menu up so that I can switch the media off.

The music remote isn't supported in older kernels.  You need a newer HID driver.  See here: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Gyration_GYR4101US
Eric Severance
My setup

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Gyration Remote keys all wacky
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2011, 08:33:40 pm »
esev! dude, where have you been? :)

We need dev help! :)

-Thom