Author Topic: New LMCE sytem help  (Read 844 times)

extremeshannon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Base Jumping in Twin Falls
    • View Profile
    • ExtremeShannon
New LMCE sytem help
« on: January 22, 2011, 02:45:59 am »
Hello everyone I am back to setting up LMCE. I have bought a new house and I am in the process of running inner duct in the walls then pulling cat 6 to all rooms. I have a small closet I will be using for a Comm Closet. I will be buying a 24 port Gig switch(undecided on which one at this time). My plans are

  • Core (not hybrid)
  • a Large NAS
  • 5-7 Media Directors.
  • 4-5 Squeeze Boxes
  • 3 W366DT pads (unless there is something better)

Future
Home Automation
telecom

I have spec'd out the core I am thinking about building. Going off Thom's suggestion on a server class Sys board.

Core
  • ASUS P7F-C/4L LGA 1156 Intel 3420 ATX Quad/Dual Core
  • Intel Xeon X3430 Lynnfield 2.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80605X3430
  • Western Digital VelociRaptor WD740HLFS 74GB 10000 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
  • Crucial 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Triple Channel Kit Server Memory Model CT3KIT25672BA1339

MD
Looking for vesa mounted Mini-ITX atom (Any suggestions would be great).


Any help on building a serious system for my house and I do not plan on going cheap. This time I want the best hardware for the job.

Thanks all

dison4linux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: New LMCE sytem help
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2011, 02:59:23 am »
I don't have any concrete advice, but I have heard that the new ATOM systems with the "Next Generation Ion" graphics are supported. 

I am going to purchase this board:
http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=iIZKMXSj0jZKiebE

And put it in this case which I already own which supports VESA 100x100 mounting if you buy the "special" screws from it.
http://www.mini-box.com/M350-enclosure-with-picoPSU-80-and-60W-adapter

I'll update my post after I try that board to make sure it is supported by LinuxMCE.
Really any of the ATOM boards with the ION graphics seem to work well as MDs but I always like to try the latest and hopefully greatest.

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: New LMCE sytem help
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2011, 03:00:23 am »
i'm using the ion n230's which work great, not sure about others.

What are you going to do for lighting, thermostat, alarm, etc...

make sure you wire everything, overwire, whatever wire, cat6 wire, quadruple wire, KNX wire, whatever, make sure you got it in there before closing the walls.

Well going overboard there, but you got my drift, you can pretty much send anything over cat6 now, so make sure you have extra lines.

if the closet is big enough, why not put everything in there and use some hdmi-cat6 converters to drive you tv's and/or ir/rs232
i know that's my ultimate goal.

Richard

extremeshannon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Base Jumping in Twin Falls
    • View Profile
    • ExtremeShannon
Re: New LMCE sytem help
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2011, 05:35:29 am »
@dison4linux  Awesome let me know. I was looking at that same case and was thinking about buying 5 of them.

@rperre thanks for the tips on the wire. I am in Telecomm and I run so much Cat 6 that people think I am crazy. But you can never have to much. I have decided to use inner duct so I can cable in at any point and change it out if I decide to use Cat 7A one day. I am planning on have everything in the closet TV hung on wall and a small Vesa mounted MD with AC power and Netowrk right behind the TV. Have a nice clean look and have everything. I will look into hdmi-cat6 that sounds like what I would want. Not sure on home automation yet. Alarm I am leaning towards ADT Pulse but if I can get LMCE working reliable and the way I want I might go that route. I need to get my core up and see just how reliable I can get it.

Thanks for the input. Has anyone used this motherboard or could some one tell me which server class motherboard would be the best for a solid powerful core.

Thanks

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: New LMCE sytem help
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2011, 05:48:37 am »
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

extremeshannon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Base Jumping in Twin Falls
    • View Profile
    • ExtremeShannon
Re: New LMCE sytem help
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2011, 01:21:22 am »
Tim I have been thinking about your MD's.

Any suggestions about the cores sys board. I think the one I have picked out will be great for the core.