Author Topic: 1wire support  (Read 23008 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #195 on: February 09, 2012, 10:38:51 pm »
when you add the interface to the core, it of course needs a quick reload to start the OneWire DCE device. When this is started, it iterates over all temperature devices found by owfs and tells the general info plugin to create the child device if it does not yet exist. These won't be active till the next quick reload. Maybe that adds to confusion?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #196 on: February 10, 2012, 08:15:56 am »
when you add the interface to the core, it of course needs a quick reload to start the OneWire DCE device. When this is started, it iterates over all temperature devices found by owfs and tells the general info plugin to create the child device if it does not yet exist. These won't be active till the next quick reload. Maybe that adds to confusion?

So the steps are?

  • Connect 1wire interface to core
  • Add the 1wire interface in webadmin using template 2161
  • Select the port the 1wire interface is connected to
  • When prompted do a quick reload
  • Once the sensors are detected, another quick reload is needed
  • Now you should have Multilevel Sensors as childs, for every sensor connected to the 1wire bus, in the webadmin
  • Choose the rooms that the sensors are in and add to the floorplan.
  • Another Quick reload should do the job

Karel

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #197 on: February 10, 2012, 02:55:21 pm »
So the steps are?

  • Connect 1wire interface to core
  • Add the 1wire interface in webadmin using template 2161
  • Select the port the 1wire interface is connected to
  • When prompted do a quick reload
  • Once the sensors are detected, another quick reload is needed
  • Now you should have Multilevel Sensors as childs, for every sensor connected to the 1wire bus, in the webadmin
  • Choose the rooms that the sensors are in and add to the floorplan.
  • Another Quick reload should do the job

Karel

Spot on, that exactly how I got mine working!

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #198 on: February 10, 2012, 03:07:11 pm »
When do you see the interface show "registered" in LMCE admin?
Where in the sequence do you plug the sensor/s into the interface adapter?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 03:12:18 pm by twodogs »
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #199 on: February 10, 2012, 05:47:43 pm »
Do you have to regen the orbiters?

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #200 on: February 11, 2012, 06:35:15 am »
Does anybody know how to display the Temp in Deg F instead of C?

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #201 on: February 11, 2012, 08:43:44 am »
If you go into the web admin pages -> show devices tree -> 1wire and then click on "view whole log", I have a couple errors:

Code: [Select]
01 02/11/12 1:33:42.167 TranslateSerialUSB pci0000:00/0000:00:13.0+1 result /dev/ttyUSB2 <0xb78686d0>
01 02/11/12 1:33:42.167 Opening port: /dev/ttyUSB2 <0xb78686d0>>

lsusb gives me this:
Code: [Select]
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC

dmesg gives me this:
Code: [Select]
[  785.564300] ftdi_sio 5-1:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[  785.564371] usb 5-1: Detected FT232RL
[  785.564376] usb 5-1: Number of endpoints 2
[  785.564381] usb 5-1: Endpoint 1 MaxPacketSize 64
[  785.564386] usb 5-1: Endpoint 2 MaxPacketSize 64
[  785.564390] usb 5-1: Setting MaxPacketSize 64
[  785.566328] usb 5-1: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB2

Any idea why my temperature probes aren't discovered?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #202 on: February 11, 2012, 12:19:42 pm »
if you can't even read them out with owfs, you probably have a short circuit on the bus.. this happened to another user. So as a first debug step I'd recommend to see if owfs gives you values. If that works fine, continue to debug on the lmce side
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Gangsingen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #203 on: February 11, 2012, 02:24:21 pm »
Where in the sequence do you plug the sensor/s into the interface adapter?

I had mine plugged in all the time!

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #204 on: February 12, 2012, 06:32:56 am »
if you can't even read them out with owfs, you probably have a short circuit on the bus..

How else do I check for this?  I have (2) of the LinkUSBi's, (5) temperature sensors and a pile of cat5 cables...  tried both LinkUSBi's and 3 of the temperature sensors.  The usb device appears in the log file as posted above, but cannot get my temperature sensors to load.

Thanks

Edit:
I tried adding a MD to see if I had the same experiences as others- that the sensors would start populating.  Unfortunately, it's been 6+ hours and while my device is spawned, no such luck with the sensors:
Code: [Select]
1 02/12/12 20:14:23 124 (spawning-device) Starting... 1
1 02/12/12 20:14:23 124 (spawning-device) Found /usr/pluto/bin/OneWire
01 02/12/12 20:14:24.280 TranslateSerialUSB pci0000:00/0000:00:12.0+2 result /dev/ttyUSB2 <0xb76e96d0>
01 02/12/12 20:14:24.280 Opening port: /dev/ttyUSB2 <0xb76e96d0>
« Last Edit: February 13, 2012, 03:38:41 am by huh »

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #205 on: February 13, 2012, 05:20:22 am »
OK- tried something new-

Added:  deb http://mirrors.rit.edu/ubuntu/ precise main universe to my sources by added it to here:
Code: [Select]
nano /etc/apt/sources.list

Then, started the owserver using this:
Code: [Select]
owserver --device=/dev/ttyUSB2 -p 4304

Then, started the owhttpd web client using this which creates a webpage on port 3000:
Code: [Select]
owhttpd -s localhost:4304 -p 3000

Most of the instructions are from here:
http://www.openremote.org/display/docs/OpenRemote+2.0+How+To+-+1-Wire+Sensors

The webpage shows (1) sensor with a temperature, so I got greedy and added another (2) to make sure it was working... unfortunately it still only says I have (1) thermocouple attached after restarting my core.

Edit:  Leaving breadcrumbs...  much quicker than core reboot...

You can kill a process using the follow:
Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/ForciblyKillProcess.sh OneWire

And restart using
Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 124
Where 124 is MY device id- yours is likely different...
« Last Edit: February 13, 2012, 06:02:01 am by huh »

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #206 on: February 13, 2012, 11:18:16 pm »
you can't run them in parallel, you need to stop the owserver first
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #207 on: February 17, 2012, 07:03:27 am »
OK- I blew away my system and tried again.  I followed exactly per the wiki and was surprised when one after another sensors were added to my 1-wire device... until number 5.  At number 5 the device died (per the log) and I could not get it to restart- either manually or by restarting the computer.

So, I deleted that device and created a new 1-wire device again following the wiki.  Whereas before the temperature sensor was found after a few minutes- now been 30 minutes or so and no luck...  Per the log it looks like everything started correctly and per dmesg I'm set to the correct USB port...

Going to let it run overnight.

Edit:  As a side now- although I have run Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh, I have not yet installed a MD.  I have (2) qorbiters and a web orbiter configured along with the core.  Also have a USBUIRT and a gyration remote installed.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2012, 07:06:23 am by huh »

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #208 on: February 17, 2012, 04:51:25 pm »
Going to let it run overnight.

No luck...  devices did not appear.  I'm going to reinstall from scratch and this time leave out everything except the bare minimum (removing the USBUIRT, gyration remote, zwave and hauppauge cards)...

Any other suggestions for debugging?  The device worked initially and I didn't really move the wires around, so pretty confident there isn't a short.


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #209 on: February 18, 2012, 12:13:27 pm »
i'd be quite interested in the core dump from the event when it died after recognizing the 5th event, can you upload it somewhere?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation