Author Topic: 1wire support  (Read 23288 times)

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #150 on: January 24, 2012, 07:11:57 pm »
I have the same device, good luck.

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #151 on: January 24, 2012, 07:20:08 pm »
Damn! If only I'd held out a little longer, you'd be floundering and I'd be watching.

Forgot to mention that I've set this up on a 1004 test rig (not my installed 0810 system).

Twodogs
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 03:08:55 am by twodogs »
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #152 on: January 24, 2012, 08:08:21 pm »
My system is all in pieces at the moment, I have no idea where the device is

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #153 on: January 25, 2012, 01:50:32 am »
I found it plugged it in (0810) without the sensor and added device template #2161, waited for a bit then got this:

Code: [Select]
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1 01/24/12 17:43:02 43 (spawning-device) Starting... 9
1 01/24/12 17:43:03 43 (spawning-device) Found /usr/pluto/bin/OneWire
01 01/24/12 17:43:03.140 Opening port: /dev/ttyUSB0 <0xb70096c0>
01 01/24/12 17:43:03.143 OW_init error: 22, Invalid argument <0xb70096c0>
01 01/24/12 17:43:03.143 Connect() Failed <0xb70096c0>

in an earlier message Hari said the error: 22 was a error because is no sensor.  Plugged in the sensor and get nothing.

I added a multilevel sensor as a child but I am stuck on what the port address of the sensor is

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #154 on: January 25, 2012, 02:56:00 am »
I plugged my adapter into my working 0810 installation and got the same result. Looks like things are trying to work - apparently the device is recognized and assigned to a USB port. The 1-wire software appears to attempt a handshake but can't quite get there. So maybe there is hope for us. I had just about resigned myself to finding a new rs232 adapter.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 02:58:24 am by twodogs »
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #155 on: January 25, 2012, 06:44:52 am »
Hi Guys,

You only need to had the 1-wire interface in the webmin. Choose the port its connected.
You have prewired sensors?
No need to add the childs manually. Mine showed up in the webmin after a couple of reboots.

Karel

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #156 on: January 25, 2012, 01:43:56 pm »
Here are a few pictures. The adapter plugs into the USB port, then a phone cable with sensors plugs into the adapter. I only have one temp sensor on a short pigtail right now, but the house is wired for temp sensing in almost every room. My plan is to use this info to make decisions for the HVAC system.

One of the problems is that the template won't allow me to select the ttyUSB port the adapter is connected to. It only allows me to select ttyS0-3 (rs232 ports).






« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 01:48:37 pm by twodogs »
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #157 on: January 25, 2012, 02:38:33 pm »
The screenshots from the 0810 or your 1004 testrig?
I couldn't get mine to work on 0810. But managed to get it installed on 1004.

You'll have better luck allowing Hari to ssh into your box to see if he maybe can fix it.

Karel

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #158 on: January 25, 2012, 03:08:27 pm »
The shot is my 0810 installation, but it appears to be the exact same template in 1004.
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2931
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #159 on: January 25, 2012, 03:57:03 pm »
twodogs,

the template should show you all available serial ports, including USB serial ports.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #160 on: January 25, 2012, 07:03:42 pm »
yes, it should show ttyUSB, too. Maybe run UpdateAvailableSerialPorts.sh and see if it shows up in the list..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #161 on: January 25, 2012, 11:30:40 pm »
In Webadmin mine also showed the same, serial ports only.  However it still seemed to find the device as the log said:

Code: [Select]
01 01/24/12 17:43:03.140 Opening port: /dev/ttyUSB0 <0xb70096c0>
Can confirm the correct procedure in 0810, do we need to add the child (as stated on the Wiki) or do we wait until it is discovered?

this raises another point the device will try to look for the sensor 50 times and then it will stop trying, how do you restart it again?

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #162 on: January 25, 2012, 11:36:08 pm »
No luck here either. I rebooted the system. I expected a "some devices failed to load" error but did not get one. I saw the 1-wire device load during the start sequence. So I had some hope, but the template still only has serial ports showing (like in the picture above). I tried
Code: [Select]
cd usr/pluto/bin
sh UpdateAvailableSerialPorts.sh 
It appeared to run without error but the template still showed only rs232 ports. My 1-wire log shows the exact same error 22 that Techstyle reported in post 153. Plugging or unplugging the temp sensor to the adapter has no effect - still get error 22.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 11:41:00 pm by twodogs »
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

twodogs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #163 on: January 25, 2012, 11:46:38 pm »
By the way, thanks Hari for your help. I know you might have other fish to fry. On the one hand, the 9490R seems like it might be a good piece of hardware for LMCE to support - if you agree I'll do whatever I can to help get the thing to work. On the other hand if this seems a waste of time, I'll just buy a different adapter.

twodogs
http://greenrenovation.wordpress.com/home-automation/
system:
ASUS P5N7A-VM
integrated GeForce 9300
E5200 processor
Fusion 5 lite HDTV card
2G RAM
SYBA SY-PCI15001 6-port serial card
Denon AVR 3805
LG 42" Plasma
Gyration GYR3101
Cisco SPA3102 analog telephone adapter
Cisco 7971G IP phone/orbiter

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: 1wire support
« Reply #164 on: January 26, 2012, 01:32:52 am »
twodogs, I didn't see your pics earlier but I think we have the same thing in mind:


I have also wired my house and plan on using some of my CAT5e drops to share 1-wire and POTS over.  I have wired to each room, outside in a screened porch, outside proper and in the pool  :)

I had not tried to use it in windows yet but I thought I should incase my wiring is suspect:


apparently it is getting cooler in here.  this windows tool does give me the serial number of the sensor as '210008002F424310' is this what LMCE is expecting as port?