Author Topic: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home  (Read 1528 times)

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« on: January 15, 2011, 07:44:24 am »
In the future (1,5-2 years) I will build a house and looking to use LinuxMCE as the core to my home automation system, which will also consist of An ethernet network, a plc-system (Kinco, http://www.kinco.cn/en/index.asp) and all the sensors (temp, prescence, inductive, smoke, humidity, twilight, etc.) and appliances (garage door motor, blind motor, shutters, led dimmers, etc.) and of course a sound system with multi-zone amplifier and built in ceiling/wall speakers..

I am new to all this and may come with some dumb questions, but I'm trying to learn ;)

I wondering about the Media Directors - Do I need them if I have LCD-tv's with ethernet-port and DLNA?

It would be nice to skip them out in some way (having the tv as the only unit).. But if they're necessary anyway I guess there's some nice way to mount them on the back of the tv, right? :)

A few more questions - Does anyone know if this HMI, http://www.kinco.cn/en/prl.asp?aspid=1&c2id=1&c3id=7&c4id=181 , have support to run touch orbiter? (Maybe if it can have WindowsCE installed?) I have a price of around 150 USD for them, so it would be great :D

Will 4,2" be too small to use touch orbiter?

Cheers!
Christian

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1074
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 07:45:55 am »
Well the media director also provides an on-screen ui as well as a couple other things as well which escape me but im sure will be filled in soon..
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2011, 06:26:03 pm »
Raginglinx,

I would advise you to make a "small" install in your current house/apartment and start playing with it. As all what you asked for is possible, it does not mean that everything is currently in "working" state and you might have to put some effort in to make Templates, make sure all plc devices work and possibly port the touch orbiter to that display.

So buy some of the basic necessities now and start "testing" so you final home install will be a breeze for you,

Richard

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2011, 06:56:32 pm »
Or, if you have a powerfull machine, make a Virtual environnement
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_LinuxMCE_on_Virtual_Machine_via_VirtualBox

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2011, 10:25:19 am »
Thank you for all suggestions :)

I have in mind to buy a little hardware to try the system out.

  • Kinco cpu with in/outputs
  • some different sensors
  • wall-switches (I guess best to wire to the dig.inp. of plc would be retractable ones)
  • An hmi
  • An Android A/Epad

Do you think a Macbook running with LinuxMCE running in Boot camp will be sufficient as a Core?

regards,
Christian

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2011, 11:21:39 am »
One question I would ask you is this:
What do you have more, free time or money? Depending on your answer there are obviously different answers.

If you have more free time then invest that time to get some of gear you want to install in your house RIGHT NOW, and build one PC as LinuxMCE Hybrid.

If you don't gave year or so to learn everything you need to know about LinuxMCE then get somebody (pay them) of more experienced LinuxMCE people who is near you to help you build your system, or order pre build Dianemo systems (http://www.dianemo.co.uk/)

Hope this helps.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2011, 05:09:42 pm »
A few more questions - Does anyone know if this HMI, http://www.kinco.cn/en/prl.asp?aspid=1&c2id=1&c3id=7&c4id=181 , have support to run touch orbiter? (Maybe if it can have WindowsCE installed?) I have a price of around 150 USD for them, so it would be great :D
I had a quick look at the link and the device doesn't seem to have any way to communicate with MCE (No Ethernet, no USB), or am I missing something?
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2011, 07:02:12 pm »
I had a quick look at the link and the device doesn't seem to have any way to communicate with MCE (No Ethernet, no USB), or am I missing something?

No, you don't miss anything - it only communicates through rs-232 and rs-485. Isn't that possible with MCE?

They do have HMI's with ethernet connection, but they are not as cheap  ;)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2011, 05:36:56 am »
hmm.

Get a panel with ethernet, or Wifi, and at the _VERY LEAST_ a compatible web browser.

-Thom

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2011, 04:53:46 pm »
One question I would ask you is this:
What do you have more, free time or money? Depending on your answer there are obviously different answers.

If you have more free time then invest that time to get some of gear you want to install in your house RIGHT NOW, and build one PC as LinuxMCE Hybrid.

If you don't gave year or so to learn everything you need to know about LinuxMCE then get somebody (pay them) of more experienced LinuxMCE people who is near you to help you build your system, or order pre build Dianemo systems (http://www.dianemo.co.uk/)

Hope this helps.

Well.. Money is always an issue - free time, however, is always possible to get. I will work 13 months in China soon, and it's a very "free" job - I will have lots of time to learn some of the things I want to know.

And since I am a control freak I really want to learn the system rather than buying a completed solution.. Yesterday I looked through the wiki searching for info on how to add the plc-system and found the "make a DCE device in 5 minutes". However, I wasn't able to view the commands, only got the message "The action you have requested is limited to users in the group user" :S

Does anyone know how I can get access to the pages under DCE?


hmm.

Get a panel with ethernet, or Wifi, and at the _VERY LEAST_ a compatible web browser.

-Thom

Would this then be preferable? http://www.kinco.cn/en/prl.asp?aspid=1&c2id=1&c3id=7&c4id=247
On the other hand, it say's support ethernet. Suspicious.. I've thrown them an email.
Anyway the price for that 7" MT4424TE is 263$ instead..




Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2011, 07:08:22 pm »
Quote
And since I am a control freak I really want to learn the system rather than buying a completed solution.. Yesterday I looked through the wiki searching for info on how to add the plc-system and found the "make a DCE device in 5 minutes". However, I wasn't able to view the commands, only got the message "The action you have requested is limited to users in the group user" :S

Does anyone know how I can get access to the pages under DCE?
When you see that message it normally means you need to log in.  just create an account and log in

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Intel D945GSEJT as MD
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2011, 09:28:13 am »
Thank you!

Do  you think an Intel D945GSEJT would be sufficient as a MD?

I plan to put it in a Mini-ITX Barebone Morex T-1610 so that I can mount it on the back of the TV

Thanks!

Christian

Raginglynx

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Running for performance
Re: Questions about LinuxMCE for my future automated home
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2011, 10:02:53 am »
About the HMI's the only they have where they say it's possible to install own OS and other SW is from the 6000-series. Then WinCE is preinstalled, it has 10/100 baseT port, and they sell the Mt6300 http://www.kinco.cn/en/prl.asp?aspid=1&c2id=43&c3id=74&c4id=164 for a little more than 300 USD.. Is it still a good price?

rgds,
Christian