Author Topic: adding a device interface  (Read 2629 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« on: January 07, 2007, 04:01:17 pm »
Hello,

I tried to add a device which is not a manufacturer listed in database and i have some problems.

Fist i choose add a device on Wizard/Devices/Interfaces
I create manufacturer, i choose an interface for the device category, i add a device template which i select :
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
It's a simple, generic serial device controlled by RS232, Ethernet or USB
I have selected pick a device template but the device isn't listed on the page
Wizard/Devices/Interfaces

For example, if i select a device template EIB, it woks, it will be listed in the page of Interfaces.

What can i do? I have several difficulties to find documentation to make things works in my home.

I would be pleased to give more informations as requested.

Best Reguards
Mickael

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 11:38:05 am »
It was a bug who prevented new created device templates to be displayed on devices page, and it's fixed in SVN. It will be included in next release.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 11:04:28 pm »
ok
thanks

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2007, 04:19:23 pm »
Hello,

I've just installed the new version 2.0.0.43.

Now i can add a device template and i find it in the inferface page, but my device is controlled by RS232 and i can't chose the serial port.

For others devices like "EIB" there is a column called "Device data" which i can chose :
COM Port on PC
COM Port ParityBit/Stop
COM Port BaudRate

For my new device, there is nothing in this column. Where i can choose how to control my device? When creating a device template, i have selected:
It's a simple, generic serial device controlled by RS232, Ethernet or USB

Mickael

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2007, 07:47:29 pm »
Quote from: "mktime"
Hello,

I've just installed the new version 2.0.0.43.

Now i can add a device template and i find it in the inferface page, but my device is controlled by RS232 and i can't chose the serial port.

For others devices like "EIB" there is a column called "Device data" which i can chose :
COM Port on PC
COM Port ParityBit/Stop
COM Port BaudRate

For my new device, there is nothing in this column. Where i can choose how to control my device? When creating a device template, i have selected:
It's a simple, generic serial device controlled by RS232, Ethernet or USB

Mickael


Did you add those 3 device datas to your device template ?

AFAIK, those are 3 standard Device Data that you need to add to your rs232 device template.

Regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2007, 09:34:31 am »
@tinia is right, you have to edit the device template and add those device data, then reload the router.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2007, 12:01:32 am »
Hello,

Sorry for this delay, i haven't had time to try.

So, i find where to do this. Thanks a lot.
But i havent finished. I will inform you in my progress for controlling my own device. Maybe i can use some samples, others devices. Is there any documentation for adding an own device controlled by serial port ?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
adding a device interface
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2007, 09:08:46 am »
Check our newbielink:http://www.plutohome.com/wiki/index.php/Special:Search?search=serial+port&go=Go [nonactive], you may find what are you looking for.