Author Topic: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)  (Read 1098 times)

ggmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« on: December 27, 2010, 11:00:31 pm »
Reading through what I can find, it looks like the preferred IP phone is the Cisco 7970; or am I incorrect, will any IP phone work (like a later version Nortel)?

Thanks,

GG

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2997
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 11:47:02 pm »
Most of the Cisco phones work plug and play, some Snom and some Grandstream phones as well. The Cisco 797x series is the only phone that works as an Orbiter as well.

ggmce

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 10:16:20 pm »
This may be a very basic question, but would a Nortel NTDU96 with touch screen work as an orbiter, or is the Cisco the only one capable? I thought it had more to do with the image/code the system was pulling off the Core, but if it is Cisco specific I know to stay away from the Nortel...

Thanks

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5499
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 11:16:40 pm »
simplest explanation, it is cisco specific, our Proxy Orbiter emits Cisco Web XML for the phone, whilst emitting the graphic image. Modify Proxy Orbiter, to support your phone, and it will work.

-Thom

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2011, 11:10:15 am »
This may be a very basic question, but would a Nortel NTDU96 with touch screen work as an orbiter, or is the Cisco the only one capable? I thought it had more to do with the image/code the system was pulling off the Core, but if it is Cisco specific I know to stay away from the Nortel...

Thanks

You could look at running the Web Orbiter 2.0 on the NTDU96 or porting the Touch Orbiter to the device (I have not verified if this is possible)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1391
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: IP Phone (will any manufacturer work?)
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 03:19:22 pm »
Andrew,

If my memory serves me correctly, you have recommended the Siemens Gigaset in the past also haven't you? Were you referring to the A580 or S685 model? Or neither!

Cheers,
Matt.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 03:21:02 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps