Author Topic: Screen Saver?  (Read 768 times)

Raul102801

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Screen Saver?
« on: December 16, 2010, 04:21:49 pm »
I installed the latest snapshot last week and now when watching a movie I've noticed that every x amount of minutes the screen goes black. All I have to do is move the mouse and it goes back to the video. I didn't have this problem on earlier versions and I am not sure what to do to fix it. It almost appears as if a screensaver kicks in after so many minutes but the screen just goes black until I move the mouse.

Has anyone experienced this? Any ideas on what I need to do to fix it?

Thanks in advance.

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Saver?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 04:41:38 am »
Hi Raul102801,

I think this happens if you have loaded KDE desktop, then gone back into the orbiter. If you restart without loading it, or try disabling the KDE screen saver - this should fix it (I think).

Cheers,
WR.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Saver?
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 08:11:50 pm »
Go into kde desktop, settings and disable the screensaver settings there. That way if you every have a need to go into the KDE Desktop, you won't be bothered by this issue again.

Raul102801

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Saver?
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2010, 05:39:01 pm »
You guys were 100% correct. That is what was going on. I had opened KDE trying to install a new network card and that was causing the screen saver to come up. I disabled it and then I rebooted the system and the problem is gone.


Thanks you very much for your assistance.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Saver?
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2010, 06:07:44 pm »
Glad I could help.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Saver?
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2010, 11:05:42 am »
I think this must be the 3rd time I have seen somebody report this problem now (one of them was me mind). I thought it got fixed?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps