Author Topic: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart  (Read 5513 times)

tortho

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« on: December 05, 2010, 11:29:01 pm »
Hi,

Aeon Labs Zstick.
It just stops working from time to time.
When I try to do a quick reload router the device fails to start (Device 112 on my core)
From the log of the device I find nothing usefull.

Anyone with hints of where to start locking for what is going wrong?
Below the last lines in the log.
Can also see in old log files that there is a lot of lines with "No callback received: awaiting_callback: xx timer: xxxxxxx"

Device ZWave, # 112   
Device Template ZWave, device category Lighting Interface, manufacturer Pluto.   
4 lines, displaying from 0 to 4   
1   
05   12/05/10 7:42:10.294      Going to rotate logs... <0xb608bb90>
05   12/05/10 8:17:59.157      Going to rotate logs... <0xb608bb90>
05   12/05/10 21:47:53.953      Got a reload command from 0  <0xb608bb90>
05   12/05/10 21:47:54.203      void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0x9230350 (m_Socket: 7) <0xb708e6c0>

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 12:20:30 am »
Enable more logging (levels 36, 40, 41)

Br hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 01:50:02 am »
Does it come back when you reboot the computer?  I have an ASRock mobo that usb ports would go to sleep.  So it would appear that my lighting interfaces had quit working.  Just one experience I had.

tortho

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2010, 08:08:30 pm »
Thanks both!
Have set full logging, so just have to be patient and wait for it to fail now :-)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2010, 10:30:34 pm »
Does it come back when you reboot the computer?  I have an ASRock mobo that usb ports would go to sleep.  So it would appear that my lighting interfaces had quit working.  Just one experience I had.

What model of ASRock was that? *please don't be the one I just bought*
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2010, 10:54:22 pm »
K10N78

I did not pursue this too much.  I decided to turn it in to a mythtv box since I was not using the usb ports.  There may be a solution out there for this but as I said I never pursued it.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2010, 11:40:54 pm »
Oh FFS, guess which one I've just bought for 50 quid.

It was literally the only full ATX AM2 mobo I could find. Oh that's really fecked me off.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2010, 11:52:06 pm »
Might not be related but I found this page which suggests a possible fix/hack for a usb sleep issue:
http://www.cyfinity.com/2008/09/waking-up-usb-ports-on-ubuntu-hardy/

Barney

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2010, 01:35:07 am »
Oh FFS, guess which one I've just bought for 50 quid.

It was literally the only full ATX AM2 mobo I could find. Oh that's really fecked me off.

I know what you mean.  It was the only one I could find that had 3 pci slots in it that was reasonably priced.  I realized I had a problem when some lights did not come on when they were scheduled to. 

The system never went into suspend mode.  It was always awake.  Just the usb ports would start working and the only thing that would recover them was a reboot although I don't believe I tried the lsusb command at the time.

Purps, go ahead and try it.  You have the board now and maybe your experience will be different.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2010, 12:15:53 pm »
Thanks for info guys, but to be honest I am getting tired of frigging around. Need my system up and working again before Christmas as I'm going away.

I've just bought a new AM3 mobo, RAM and CPU (£120), will just send the ASRock back, screw it.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2010, 12:45:06 am »
what board did you buy?

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2010, 12:59:39 am »
I've been trying to fight it, but it's no use, I have gone AM3 http://www.ebuyer.com/product/241003

@tortho - feel free to jump back in at any point with your Z-wave issue! :) Sorry for the hijack.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2010, 01:50:35 pm »
Thanks for info guys, but to be honest I am getting tired of frigging around. Need my system up and working again before Christmas as I'm going away.

I've just bought a new AM3 mobo, RAM and CPU (£120), will just send the ASRock back, screw it.

Hi Purps,

Thats very strange indeed...

We sell/install a lot of ASrock based Cascade Core's and I cant say we've ever seen any USB issues like you describe...we've had the odd unit fail (as you do with any product line) but none of those issues were down to USB at all.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2010, 02:01:33 pm »
Thanks for info guys, but to be honest I am getting tired of frigging around. Need my system up and working again before Christmas as I'm going away.

I've just bought a new AM3 mobo, RAM and CPU (£120), will just send the ASRock back, screw it.

Hi Purps,

Thats very strange indeed...

We sell/install a lot of ASrock based Cascade Core's and I cant say we've ever seen any USB issues like you describe...we've had the odd unit fail (as you do with any product line) but none of those issues were down to USB at all.

All the best


Andrew

Hi Andrew,

I haven't actually received this board yet (it's the K10N78D, have you used this one specifically?), so haven't tried it myself.

The problem mythtified describes is (I assume) for when a MCV dongle is being used with it (which is what I have) - I imagine you don't supply those to your customers due to the SIS thing? Could it be the combination of this particular board and this particular dongle that causes the sleepy USB issue?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Zwave device stops working and fails to restart
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2010, 04:44:39 pm »
Thanks for info guys, but to be honest I am getting tired of frigging around. Need my system up and working again before Christmas as I'm going away.

I've just bought a new AM3 mobo, RAM and CPU (£120), will just send the ASRock back, screw it.

Hi Purps,

Thats very strange indeed...

We sell/install a lot of ASrock based Cascade Core's and I cant say we've ever seen any USB issues like you describe...we've had the odd unit fail (as you do with any product line) but none of those issues were down to USB at all.

All the best


Andrew

Hi Andrew,

I haven't actually received this board yet (it's the K10N78D, have you used this one specifically?), so haven't tried it myself.

The problem mythtified describes is (I assume) for when a MCV dongle is being used with it (which is what I have) - I imagine you don't supply those to your customers due to the SIS thing? Could it be the combination of this particular board and this particular dongle that causes the sleepy USB issue?

Cheers,
Matt.

Hi Matt,

We don't have any experience with that motherboard I'm afraid...so can't help I'm afraid.

Your right we dont use the MCV dongles in our customer systems at all. We use either Seluxit's or Tricklestar's - and we have no usb issues with either of those on the ASrock's. However I can imagine that if you attempted to use the MCV dongle as the inclusion controller and detached/re-attached it several times that you might encounter some PnP usb issues (these would not be hardware related however...but Pluto PnP code related).

We tend to disable the PnP signature for our dongles to avoid the PnP system re-detecting the dongle if it accidentally gets removed or needs to be re-attached again for some reason as re-attaching will cause the dongle to be re-detected and this often leads to the device failing to startup. If the PnP signature is removed, then as long as you plug it back into the same port again your good.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk