Author Topic: *Fixed* Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"  (Read 1195 times)

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
*Fixed* Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« on: November 30, 2010, 09:19:00 pm »
Hi, first time LinuxMCE user, so please no flaming just yet.

Just got my core built, and booted from the 23388 snapshot DVD.  I got as far as logging into the core and typing the sudo apt-get update, which seemed to go okay, the machine rebooted, then appeared to start setting itself up.  It stopped however with the line "Rebuiling NIS cache" (not a typo, thats how it appeared) and just seems to hang there. I've given it over 20 minutes just to be safe, but then tried moving the mouse. The message went away, and I have a white screen with the black X cursor that follows my mouse movements.

What could have gone wrong?

I've tried re-starting several times now, I get the Kubuntu logo, then straight into the Rebuiling NIS cache screen again.

Any help much appreciated.

TIA
Matt.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 08:59:09 pm by gtsupport »
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 09:38:40 pm »
I will start the flaming
Your font smells.

Could you just continue the install? Because it is not a breaker, it is a nuisance.

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 11:19:57 pm »
Perhaps I was a bit hasty in my initial post :-\

I believe that the network connection was causing the problem.  From the Kubuntu KDE I couldn't access the internet, nor even ping my router.
It seems that my onboard NIC is not working straight out of the box, however the additional PCIe one does.

I've just swapped the cables over, and I now have a working internet connection.  This along with a fresh install seems to be doing the trick.

Oh, and I've just de-odorised my font folder, sorry for any nasty niffs!
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 11:26:24 pm »
Check network setting

0 should be external
1 should be internal

gtsupport

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2010, 08:58:15 pm »
I've actually got it the other way around at the moment, but I read in the Wiki that I need driver download for the onboard NIC.  I'm in the process of downloading it through the KDE desktop.

Have further problems at the moment, but I think a new thread is in order once I've run out of wiki/forum searches.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: *Fixed* Install Hangs @ "Rebuiling NIS cache"
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2010, 05:04:51 am »
If you have it the other way around switch the netwerks, there is a button for it in webadmin.